SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
PR Weekend Los Angeles

Pattern Reviews> Great Copy> 805 (Blanket Jacket)

Viewed 1395 times 
Reviewed by:NancyDaQ
photo

 
 
About NancyDaQstar
NM USA
Member since: 1/12/02
Reviews: 69 (patterns: 30)
Skill level:Advanced
Favored by: 12 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/15/04 11:16 PM
Last Updated:6/12/06 11:48 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 4 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
5 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
wvsher said... (6/12/06 5:47 PM) Reply
Nice looking, and looks comfy to boot.
NancyDaQ said... (5/17/04 7:15 AM) Reply
Teri, I suppose a hidden button placket is an alternative, but I liked the look of the buttons on this jacket. The gray fleece is nice, but plain, and the buttons add a lot of style. I was pleased with the way the buttonholes came out. Some of the fleece books use a modified bound buttonhole, so I might try that next time.
NancyDaQ said... (5/17/04 7:10 AM) Reply
Fleece fabric is less expensive than buying and cutting up afghans. I doubt the fabric recommendation (per the envelope) has anything to do with cost. Blanket jackets made from cotton afghans were quite popular a few seasons back, and I continue to see them in boutiques from time to time.
AnneM said... (5/16/04 2:45 PM) Reply
I like the lapels. I don't get the fabric recommendation, though. It seems like fleece fabric would be less expensive than an afgan.
Teri said... (5/16/04 2:42 PM) Reply
How about the "Easy Hidden-Button Placket that was described in April/May 2004 issue of threads? That might be a really nice alternative to fleece buttonholes.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Class Details

Online Class
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Class Details

Vogue Patterns 7871

photo
by: cleverkitt...

Review
Shapes Four Good Measure Pattern (Size 1-3)

Shapes Four Good Measure Pattern (Size 1-3)

Pattern Details
Sewing Workshop 8th Avenue Skirt Pattern

Sewing Workshop 8th Avenue Skirt Pattern

Pattern Details