SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
PR Weekend Los Angeles

Pattern Reviews> Great Copy> 805 (Blanket Jacket)

Viewed 1395 times 
Reviewed by:NancyDaQ
photo

 
 
About NancyDaQstar
NM USA
Member since: 1/12/02
Reviews written: 69
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 12 people
patterns reviewed: 30
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/15/04 11:16 PM
Last Updated:6/12/06 11:48 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 4 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
5 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
wvsher said... (6/12/06 5:47 PM) Reply
Nice looking, and looks comfy to boot.
NancyDaQ said... (5/17/04 7:15 AM) Reply
Teri, I suppose a hidden button placket is an alternative, but I liked the look of the buttons on this jacket. The gray fleece is nice, but plain, and the buttons add a lot of style. I was pleased with the way the buttonholes came out. Some of the fleece books use a modified bound buttonhole, so I might try that next time.
NancyDaQ said... (5/17/04 7:10 AM) Reply
Fleece fabric is less expensive than buying and cutting up afghans. I doubt the fabric recommendation (per the envelope) has anything to do with cost. Blanket jackets made from cotton afghans were quite popular a few seasons back, and I continue to see them in boutiques from time to time.
AnneM said... (5/16/04 2:45 PM) Reply
I like the lapels. I don't get the fabric recommendation, though. It seems like fleece fabric would be less expensive than an afgan.
Teri said... (5/16/04 2:42 PM) Reply
How about the "Easy Hidden-Button Placket that was described in April/May 2004 issue of threads? That might be a really nice alternative to fleece buttonholes.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Class Details

Online Class
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Class Details

McCall's 6996

photo
by: JustineSew...

Review
J Stern Designs The Hobo Bag Pattern

J Stern Designs The Hobo Bag Pattern

Pattern Details
Paradiso Designs Perfect Pillows Pattern

Paradiso Designs Perfect Pillows Pattern

Pattern Details