SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 1155 (Misses' Dress)

1 more reviews
Viewed 1065 times 
Reviewed by:Carolyn.S
photo

 
 
About Carolyn.Sstarstarstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 5/6/10
Reviews written: 57
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 77 people
patterns reviewed: 56
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/30/10 5:26 AM
Last Updated:11/13/10 9:56 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 20 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
53 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
morzel said...
Super gorgeous and stunning dress. WOW factor. Thanks for the hint about the slip!
9/29/12 8:24 AM
pinkli said...
This is fantastic!
7/5/12 8:25 AM
QueenZ said...
If this was the way it was presented on the envelope, I would have bought it back when. Yours looks way better, you've done a terrific job!
3/25/12 4:32 AM
Phillis2 said...
I see that the reviews are back 2010 but I just received an email for $5 sale on Vogue patters and was looking at 1155. I decided to go into Pattern Review to see if anyone did a review of this garmet and there you are. WOW! I agree that I had to go back and forth on your picture and the pattern. I couldn't tell if you were the pattern on not! You did a fantastic job. Your garmet looks as good as the pattern view. I sometimes sew Vogue and find that the steps can be more involved than necessary. It's good that I know short cuts. Your review was very helpful. Again you look great in this outfit.
2/3/12 1:51 PM
KatiCo said...
Absolutely smashing! (And accomplished despite the feline and canine assistance--double wow!)
11/16/10 5:24 PM
yummymummy38 said...
looks gorgeous, love the details, make it in a wool and it would be office appropriate, it's the shine that limits its versatility IMO
11/14/10 11:45 PM
Catbird said...
Wonderful! I hope you have many occasions to wear it. The fabric choice is perfect.
11/14/10 3:31 PM
cloudyhn said...
So lovely...
11/14/10 1:54 PM
marec said...
So wonderful! You have a talent for marrying fabric and design perfectly. Love this dress on you.
11/14/10 11:00 AM
French.Seam said...
Great dress, great photo, great dog :)
11/14/10 9:43 AM
DorothyK said...
Stunning!
11/14/10 9:36 AM
petro said...
This looks super on you. Thanks for the review.
11/14/10 9:27 AM
lamstu said...
I love this dress (I'll admit I thought it was a coat when I first saw it). I love it on you, on the envelope, in theory, in practice, in actuality.... However. I am rather curvier and ahem heavier than you and noticeably short-waisted. But I will probably have to try it anyway, because I love this dress and I love it even more after having seen your perfectly sewn and gorgeous version!
11/14/10 6:11 AM
Nancywin said...
sorry I missed this review the first time around. This is just beautiful. Nice work.
11/13/10 11:57 PM
Scheryka said...
No words...just ...flabberghasted.
11/13/10 11:12 PM
Elona said...
Stunning--and SO much prettier than the pattern illustration!
11/13/10 10:35 PM
Lori V said...
Fabulous.
11/13/10 10:33 PM
dukaqwn said...
How beautiful! Great job....
11/13/10 10:28 PM
salsera7 said...
You did such a great job and the dress looks wonderful on you. I have this pattern in my stash and I'm more prone now to actually make it give you review and tips.
8/19/10 1:17 PM
Handmade by Carla said...
wow!! I looked at this pattern in my stash yesterday and wondered if I would ever have the nerve to sew it. You did an amazing job! And it does look exactly like the envelope.
8/2/10 10:30 PM
narcissaqtpie said...
All I can say is wow-wow-wow!!!!
8/2/10 11:33 AM
AuntieShel said...
Wow, this is stunning!!!
8/1/10 9:51 AM
kcstarr49 said...
You are incredible.
7/31/10 6:56 PM
Rhonda in Montreal said...
Absolutely gorgeous!! Find/make up rendez-vous to wear this wonderful dress ;)
7/31/10 8:33 AM
Allie in Hong Kong said...
Gorgeous, you make me want to dig ths pattern out of my stash right now!
7/31/10 7:14 AM
mesewlot said...
Absolutely gorgeous! And, it looks amazing on you!
7/31/10 2:12 AM
ColorMeHome said...
You look like a million bucks!!! Well done!
7/31/10 1:52 AM
rebija said...
Fantastic!
7/30/10 11:13 PM
AnneMarie60 said...
You did a fabulous job on your gorgeous dress, and it looks great on you! By the way, looks like your loving pets like your new dress!
7/30/10 9:54 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
Very beautiful. Your fabric selection and styling are exquisite, as well. Stunning photos. Lovely, Lily
7/30/10 5:35 PM
Amanda S. said...
Gorgeous! What a show stopper of a dress! You pull it off beautifully.
7/30/10 4:17 PM
annie11 said...
Beautiful! Your work is amazing!
7/30/10 4:15 PM
mylittleelephant said...
I bought this pattern while ago rather whimsically but your dress makes me feel that I got the right one, just hoping that mine will look as good as yours......you look great in it!
7/30/10 3:01 PM
MissTaraTara said...
ROCK ON!!!!
7/30/10 1:06 PM
Lisa p said...
Wow this is a stunning dress .
7/30/10 12:15 PM
HLT said...
Nicely executed! I like the modern look! It looks exactly like the pattern photo!
7/30/10 12:00 PM
Sue Anfang said...
Amazing and gorgeous!
7/30/10 11:03 AM
Elke said...
Looks fabulous on you!
7/30/10 10:21 AM
Taarna said...
This is beautiful! Great job!
7/30/10 10:07 AM
knitmachinequeen said...
Like clin I thought know I was looking at the pattern envelope! Fantastic job.
7/30/10 9:40 AM
JanieBee said...
Très chic! Be proud!
7/30/10 9:23 AM
Twinset said...
Wonderful in every way! Love the lines and the originality of this beautiful dress, and it is so well executed!
7/30/10 9:18 AM
manola6176 said...
To die for!!!!!!
7/30/10 8:57 AM
carolynw said...
Not sure if I was looking at the model on the pattern envelope or you - what a terrific job you have done - IMO even better than Vogue's model!! I agree with you not interfacing all the fabric pieces - for a firm fabric with body I often omit that step and interface only the tradtion pieces
7/30/10 8:26 AM
Nancy K said...
Gorgeous, elegant and flattering. Perfect for any formal occasion.
7/30/10 8:01 AM
Re Becca said...
Stunning! You did a fabulous job on the fit and the construction!
7/30/10 7:50 AM
margk said...
This. Is. Lovely! Good call on the extra length.
7/30/10 7:32 AM
Mazzygirl said...
oh that is just gorgeous & that colour suits your beautiful red hair so well! Looks like it was well worth the effort, what a stunning result!
7/30/10 7:05 AM
mistygirl902 said...
Stunning! Your dress looks like the high end designer dress that it is. Vogue should post your photo on their website. It would inspire other sewists to tackle this great looking pattern.
7/30/10 6:46 AM
BillieJean said...
You should be excited about wearing this. It is gorgeous. Thanks so much for the review.
7/30/10 6:32 AM
Rlkataja said...
Amazing Job!! looks great!
7/30/10 6:24 AM
CarolynGM said...
This is such a stunning dress! You did a great job on it.
7/30/10 6:08 AM
kimmielovesparis said...
WOW! Your dress looks just like the photo on the pattern envelope. Fabulous and edgy.
7/30/10 6:08 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

Understanding Wool Fabrics
Understanding Wool Fabrics

Register

McCall's 6163

photo
by: caper81

Review
Vogue Patterns 1315

photo
by: ArtAttack

Review
The Essential Tote

The Essential Tote

Buy Now
SewBaby Snap Happy Booties Pattern

SewBaby Snap Happy Booties Pattern

Buy Now