SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> M5145 (Blouse)

Viewed 190 times 
Reviewed by:OP Gal
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About OP Galstarstarstar
KS United States
Member since: 10/14/03
Reviews written: 80
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 30 people
patterns reviewed: 56
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/2/10 10:55 PM
Last Updated:8/2/10 10:59 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
ryansmumAria said...
I avoid collared shirts these days and find them difficult to get right. Great review and the the fabric is sweet.
8/2/10 11:52 PM
mssewcrazy said...
Nice looking shirt- how wonderful to have it to tnt status.
8/3/10 7:28 AM
Kayabunga said...
OP Gal, have you tried Pam Erny's "Pro-Sheer Elegance Interfacing"? If you want to take a look you can find it at http://sewexciting.blogspot.com/ It is AMAZING interfacing. Also, try not using any fabric softener when prewashing your fabric and also be sure your dryer is not overly hot. Good luck, your shirt is lovely.
8/3/10 9:10 AM
Annette Wright said...
It looked very pretty on you when you wore it the other day. Luckily little booboos like that can't be seen, but they sure can be annoying.
8/3/10 9:15 AM
persevering said...
Congratulations on getting this shirt to the TNT status for yourself. Your shirt is especially lovely on you with the cuff and collar in white, contrasting so nicely with the print.
8/3/10 9:53 AM
craftygamma said...
I must stand up & be counted as one that has a lot of trouble with fusible interfacings. I am looking for a plus size blouse pattern and have now ruled this one out. Thanks for the review.
8/3/10 10:06 AM
Annette1 said...
GREAT review, and you're looking FAAAABULOUS in your new TNT shirt. I have this pattern, too, and have always liked it (although I haven't made it yet) -- ha! And I LOVE a collar stand (almost won't make a collared shirt without one). I too have trouble with fusibles, and I buy the BEST I can find, do EXACTLY what they tell me, etc., and still have trouble with it bubbling up after washing/drying. I don't intend to baby the stuff either. I try to keep it to the INSIDE of a washable garment, and if I need to interface the outside, anymore I oftentimes just use a sew-in (which is getting harder to find, by the way). I find it irksome, at any rate, that you pay good money for this stuff, do what they tell you, and still have problems. Okay, I'm getting off my soap box and just saying, GREAT JOB!
8/3/10 2:02 PM
carolynw said...
Very nice blouse - fits you well - that's amystery about the interfacing - if you are using a press that shouldn't happen - maybe interfacing ain't what it used to be!!
8/3/10 2:24 PM
OP Gal said...
Annette1 and Craftygamma, I'm sorry you're having the same problem as me with fusibles. On the other hand, it's reassuring to know that I'm not alone. I was beginning to think I was nuts! Kayabunga: Yes, I've tried Pam Emry's interfacing and have no better luck. When I bought hers, I thought surely I'd solved my problem because everyone loves her interfacings, but alas, not me. I guess I need to stick with sew in ones, but I don't like using them. Better than bubbles, I guess.
8/6/10 8:20 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

Butterick 5644

photo
by: marec

Review
Veronica Pocketbook

Veronica Pocketbook

Buy Now
Favorite Things Cute Skirts Pattern

Favorite Things Cute Skirts Pattern

Buy Now