Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
McCall's: M5145 (Blouse) - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 190 times
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
Reviewed by:OP Gal
photo
About OP Galstarstarstar
KS USA
Member since: 10/14/03
Reviews written: 80
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 30 people
patterns reviewed: 56
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/2/10 10:55 PM
Last Updated:8/2/10 10:59 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
ryansmumAria said...
I avoid collared shirts these days and find them difficult to get right. Great review and the the fabric is sweet.
8/2/10 11:52 PM
mssewcrazy said...
Nice looking shirt- how wonderful to have it to tnt status.
8/3/10 7:28 AM
Kayabunga said...
OP Gal, have you tried Pam Erny's "Pro-Sheer Elegance Interfacing"? If you want to take a look you can find it at http://sewexciting.blogspot.com/ It is AMAZING interfacing. Also, try not using any fabric softener when prewashing your fabric and also be sure your dryer is not overly hot. Good luck, your shirt is lovely.
8/3/10 9:10 AM
Annette Wright said...
It looked very pretty on you when you wore it the other day. Luckily little booboos like that can't be seen, but they sure can be annoying.
8/3/10 9:15 AM
persevering said...
Congratulations on getting this shirt to the TNT status for yourself. Your shirt is especially lovely on you with the cuff and collar in white, contrasting so nicely with the print.
8/3/10 9:53 AM
craftygamma said...
I must stand up & be counted as one that has a lot of trouble with fusible interfacings. I am looking for a plus size blouse pattern and have now ruled this one out. Thanks for the review.
8/3/10 10:06 AM
Annette1 said...
GREAT review, and you're looking FAAAABULOUS in your new TNT shirt. I have this pattern, too, and have always liked it (although I haven't made it yet) -- ha! And I LOVE a collar stand (almost won't make a collared shirt without one). I too have trouble with fusibles, and I buy the BEST I can find, do EXACTLY what they tell me, etc., and still have trouble with it bubbling up after washing/drying. I don't intend to baby the stuff either. I try to keep it to the INSIDE of a washable garment, and if I need to interface the outside, anymore I oftentimes just use a sew-in (which is getting harder to find, by the way). I find it irksome, at any rate, that you pay good money for this stuff, do what they tell you, and still have problems. Okay, I'm getting off my soap box and just saying, GREAT JOB!
8/3/10 2:02 PM
carolynw said...
Very nice blouse - fits you well - that's amystery about the interfacing - if you are using a press that shouldn't happen - maybe interfacing ain't what it used to be!!
8/3/10 2:24 PM
OP Gal said...
Annette1 and Craftygamma, I'm sorry you're having the same problem as me with fusibles. On the other hand, it's reassuring to know that I'm not alone. I was beginning to think I was nuts! Kayabunga: Yes, I've tried Pam Emry's interfacing and have no better luck. When I bought hers, I thought surely I'd solved my problem because everyone loves her interfacings, but alas, not me. I guess I need to stick with sew in ones, but I don't like using them. Better than bubbles, I guess.
8/6/10 8:20 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Online Sewing Classes
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

StyleArc Grace Trans-seasonal Coat Grace
photo
Review by Pollycotto... on 7/22/13
Read Review

Sewing Workshop Tribeca Shirt Pattern
Sewing Workshop Tribeca Shirt Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby Hug-Me Bibs Pattern
SewBaby Hug-Me Bibs Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Salme Gathered Top Digital Pattern
Salme Gathered Top Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Lil-Long Johns Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Lil-Long Johns Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns 8923
photo
Review by Kendrasews... on 9/30/13
Read Review

Simplicity 2194 Pattern ( Size 3-4-5-6 )
Simplicity 2194 Pattern ( Size 3-4-5-6 )

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8883 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
Vogue 8883 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $25.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us