Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Design & Planning Concepts: Hooded Orknot Coat (Hooded Orknot Coat) - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 1296 times
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Needs More Info by 1 people    Very Helpful by 2 people   
Reviewed by:Mandolin82
photo
Friend of PR
About Mandolin82star
WA USA
Member since: 5/8/03
Reviews written: 23
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 11
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/21/05 7:15 AM
Last Updated:5/19/04 1:36 AM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
valerie sews said...
What a beautiful garment. Perhaps shoulder pads would help it hang better.
5/19/04 5:58 AM
Janine S said...
what a pity this didn't work for you ... you've put in so much work. The fabrics work really well together and I love the design details.
5/19/04 7:52 AM
SewVeryTall said...
Very cute coat...I'd sure hate to see you cut it up. Maybe you could add gussets from the waist down, on the sides, to add a little shape? Washing/tumble drying may soften it a bit too, and let it drape a little more.
5/19/04 8:44 AM
D1Diva said...
You did a beautiful job putting this coat together including your fabric selection. The sleeve type is not flattering for this coat- period. Set in sleeves would lift and shape the shoulders better and make the coat more flattering for anyone to wear. The design is poor, but the workmanship is excellent! Great review, thanks!
5/19/04 9:05 AM
marya said...
I agree with D1Diva. I love the work that you did. You have a wonderful eye for design and detail. Thanks for the review and the pics. As for what to do with the coat... THe bag idea is fine. What about offering it on ebay, that is, if you could part with your fine work and fabrics - marge
5/19/04 9:41 AM
JDpenelope said...
Just beautiful and such nice work, but I see what you mean about the fit and hang. You are adventuresome...if you're not sick of it, I'll bet you could make it work, maybe with some of the suggestions here.
5/19/04 10:39 AM
Mini said...
This sqaure style is unflattering on ANY woman. You notice the pattern cover doesn't show it on a person, so all you see is the attractive fabric and details. I really wish pattern companies would stop making these "designer boxes". Oh well, at least your sewing skills are not at fault. It is pretty enough to be a wall hanging, and you can tell people you made it as a work of fabric art.:)
5/19/04 2:28 PM
AnneM said...
That is really pretty; lovely details. Yes, I agree w/ Mini: great wall hanging! :)
5/19/04 3:00 PM
PVA said...
You might try the shoulder pads -- I agree they would help support the shoulders, and it's always flattering to the figure for the shoulders to be wider than the rest of the body. But, to me the significant statement is that it isn't comfortable to wear. On the other hand, beautiful fabrics! Construction looks great, too. The style may not be the best for you, but the colors are wonderful. Hope you try the shoulder pads. Sometimes they do wonders!
5/19/04 11:45 PM
Neefer said...
Mini's right about the square style. It's really a shame because the pattern appeals to quilters, but then it fits terrible and probably scares them off of sewing clothing. It's beautiful on the hanger. Can you cut it apart and cut out a regular jacket? Marcy Tilton has a vogue pattern out for quilted jackets. I haven't tried it. Vogue 7746. Hey, do a search on 7746, and Ann Smith's review will show up.
5/20/04 12:14 PM
Mandolin82 said...
Thanks everybody for the suggestions. I just hit an amazing Vogue pattern sale (a Joann's that closing) and picked up Vogue 2757 (they were out of 7746), which I think I can adapt with the fabric I have. See Pattern I probably won't get to it until next winter. Wish me luck. Susan
5/21/04 10:43 PM
Mandolin82 said...
Thanks everybody for the suggestions. I just hit an amazing Vogue pattern sale (a Joann's that closing) and picked up Vogue 2757 (they were out of 7746), which I think I can adapt with the fabric I have. See Click Here I probably won't get to it until next winter. Wish me luck.
5/21/04 11:18 PM
RosaMarie said...
Thank you for posting this review. I love the pictures of the jackets Design and Planning Concepts put on their patterns but I am wary when I see a garment that isn't modeled on a human body. It's such a disappointement to make a beautiful garment only to have it sit in the closet because it's not flattering. But I do think you did a good job. I like the coat itself, I just don't think it's a flattering design.
10/30/05 9:28 AM
MSpilner said...
Hi I bought this pattern in NY State on vacation a couple of years ago and I haven't finished yet. I believe I either lost or never got the whole pattern directions... I have only one page, two sided. On it, it has a step one, but refers to a step 9 and I have no other directions which makes it impossible to finish... do you possible have the other directions? I wish I could email you, but it doesn't seem possible.
12/27/10 4:50 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

BurdaStyle Magazine 04-2009-122
photo
Review by Andrea670 on 7/12/09
Read Review

PerfectFuse Medium Black
PerfectFuse Medium Black

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Petite Plus Patterns Walking Jacket
Petite Plus Patterns Walking Jacket

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Jack and Jill Shortalls Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -4 T )
Peek-A Boo Jack and Jill Shortalls Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -4 T )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Stella Sun Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Stella Sun Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

BurdaStyle Magazine 03-2013-135 Moto jacket
photo
Review by froggiegir... on 10/10/13
Read Review

Simplicity 3936 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )
Simplicity 3936 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 1284 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )
Vogue 1284 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $32.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us