SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Design & Planning Concepts> Hooded Orknot Coat (Hooded Orknot Coat)

Viewed 1300 times 
Reviewed by:Mandolin82
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Mandolin82star
WA USA
Member since: 5/8/03
Reviews written: 23
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 11
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/21/05 7:15 AM
Last Updated:5/19/04 1:36 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Needs More Info by 1 people    Very Helpful by 3 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
valerie sews said...
What a beautiful garment. Perhaps shoulder pads would help it hang better.
5/19/04 5:58 AM
Janine S said...
what a pity this didn't work for you ... you've put in so much work. The fabrics work really well together and I love the design details.
5/19/04 7:52 AM
SewVeryTall said...
Very cute coat...I'd sure hate to see you cut it up. Maybe you could add gussets from the waist down, on the sides, to add a little shape? Washing/tumble drying may soften it a bit too, and let it drape a little more.
5/19/04 8:44 AM
D1Diva said...
You did a beautiful job putting this coat together including your fabric selection. The sleeve type is not flattering for this coat- period. Set in sleeves would lift and shape the shoulders better and make the coat more flattering for anyone to wear. The design is poor, but the workmanship is excellent! Great review, thanks!
5/19/04 9:05 AM
marya said...
I agree with D1Diva. I love the work that you did. You have a wonderful eye for design and detail. Thanks for the review and the pics. As for what to do with the coat... THe bag idea is fine. What about offering it on ebay, that is, if you could part with your fine work and fabrics - marge
5/19/04 9:41 AM
JDpenelope said...
Just beautiful and such nice work, but I see what you mean about the fit and hang. You are adventuresome...if you're not sick of it, I'll bet you could make it work, maybe with some of the suggestions here.
5/19/04 10:39 AM
Mini said...
This sqaure style is unflattering on ANY woman. You notice the pattern cover doesn't show it on a person, so all you see is the attractive fabric and details. I really wish pattern companies would stop making these "designer boxes". Oh well, at least your sewing skills are not at fault. It is pretty enough to be a wall hanging, and you can tell people you made it as a work of fabric art.:)
5/19/04 2:28 PM
AnneM said...
That is really pretty; lovely details. Yes, I agree w/ Mini: great wall hanging! :)
5/19/04 3:00 PM
PVA said...
You might try the shoulder pads -- I agree they would help support the shoulders, and it's always flattering to the figure for the shoulders to be wider than the rest of the body. But, to me the significant statement is that it isn't comfortable to wear. On the other hand, beautiful fabrics! Construction looks great, too. The style may not be the best for you, but the colors are wonderful. Hope you try the shoulder pads. Sometimes they do wonders!
5/19/04 11:45 PM
Neefer said...
Mini's right about the square style. It's really a shame because the pattern appeals to quilters, but then it fits terrible and probably scares them off of sewing clothing. It's beautiful on the hanger. Can you cut it apart and cut out a regular jacket? Marcy Tilton has a vogue pattern out for quilted jackets. I haven't tried it. Vogue 7746. Hey, do a search on 7746, and Ann Smith's review will show up.
5/20/04 12:14 PM
Mandolin82 said...
Thanks everybody for the suggestions. I just hit an amazing Vogue pattern sale (a Joann's that closing) and picked up Vogue 2757 (they were out of 7746), which I think I can adapt with the fabric I have. See Pattern I probably won't get to it until next winter. Wish me luck. Susan
5/21/04 10:43 PM
Mandolin82 said...
Thanks everybody for the suggestions. I just hit an amazing Vogue pattern sale (a Joann's that closing) and picked up Vogue 2757 (they were out of 7746), which I think I can adapt with the fabric I have. See Click Here I probably won't get to it until next winter. Wish me luck.
5/21/04 11:18 PM
RosaMarie said...
Thank you for posting this review. I love the pictures of the jackets Design and Planning Concepts put on their patterns but I am wary when I see a garment that isn't modeled on a human body. It's such a disappointement to make a beautiful garment only to have it sit in the closet because it's not flattering. But I do think you did a good job. I like the coat itself, I just don't think it's a flattering design.
10/30/05 9:28 AM
MSpilner said...
Hi I bought this pattern in NY State on vacation a couple of years ago and I haven't finished yet. I believe I either lost or never got the whole pattern directions... I have only one page, two sided. On it, it has a step one, but refers to a step 9 and I have no other directions which makes it impossible to finish... do you possible have the other directions? I wish I could email you, but it doesn't seem possible.
12/27/10 4:50 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

Other Mimi Kirchner\'s Felt Doll

photo
by: Sarsez

Review
Sew Chic Cloche Hat Pattern (ln101)

Sew Chic Cloche Hat Pattern (ln101)

Buy Now
DVD - Will this fabric work for you?

DVD - Will this fabric work for you?

Buy Now