Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Ottobre Design Magazine: 04-2010-7 (Piilo Hooded Sweat Jacket) - Type:Baby clothes    printable version
Viewed 173 times
Review rated Very Helpful by 2 people   
Reviewed by:jent
photo
Friend of PR
About jentstar
Member since: 12/3/06
Reviews written: 34
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 4 people
patterns reviewed: 31
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/8/10 7:56 PM
Last Updated:2/17/14 11:53 AM
Project Photo:Ottobre Design Magazine: 04-2010-7 by jent

Pattern Rating:Highly Recommend
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Corduroy  [See other projects in this fabric]
Related Links  
Click on to add a link
Update: 2/2014 I made a new version of this coat - visit my blog graygableslife.blogspot.com for more details
Pattern Description:
A-line jacket "sewn from stretchy printed sweater knit and lined with striped cotton single jersey. The Hood has a zipper along its top seam and can be opened into a collar. The face edge of teh hood is finished with a casing and elastic. The wide rib cuffs, the beautiful double-breasted buttoning and the small pockets add to the sweet look."

Pattern Sizing:
62-92 - I made the 74 - which is equivalent to a 12 mos size.
Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?
yes
Were the instructions easy to follow?
The instructions were excellent. The only thing I think that was left out were the instructions to top stitch the front panels and around the neckline (the stitching shows in the illustration). I did this after completing joining the lining and stitching the hem. It holds the lining down nicely and makes the inside and outside look very rtw, so I wouldn't skip this step.
What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?
I love this pattern. This is an adorable coat that looks very boutique, but is surprisingly easy to put together. I think I must be getting better because I didn't feel nearly as challenged as with some of my prior Ottobre sewing projects. The only section that had me scratching my head was joining the shell sleeve and lining sleeve. I finally figured that out, and snapped a couple of photos incase anyone else has difficulty figuring out how this is supposed to be done. I hope they make sense.
Putting it together: click here
After it's stitched: click here

Fabric Used:
I used corduroy from my stash and lined it with a cotton spandex knit, also from my stash. I was curious if this would turn out since the pattern calls for french terry (or sweater knit as they call it), but it went together beautifully. The knit lining is especially nice - it's so soft and comfy.
Since the corduroy was so plain, I embellished with some beautiful designs from Anita Goodesign, Sugar & Spice collection Sugar & Spice and added some colorful buttons.
The only money I spent was to buy the ribbing for the sleeves and pockets, the buttons, and a zipper. Less than $10.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:
None.
Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?
If I had a baby girl of my own, I would make her several of these.

Conclusion:

I made this for a very special friend who's having her first baby and has waited a very long time for this little one and experienced a lot of heartache waiting for her. I wanted her to have something really special - since a long-awaited baby is more precious than just about anything.
Front Hood Closed click here
Back Hood Closed click here
Front Hood Open click here
Back Hood Open click here
Inside lining/ label click here
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
3 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Cheryl Reeves said...
Cute little jacket - love the embroidery.
8/9/10 2:42 AM
newmama said...
That is such a precious jacket. I think the soft knit lining was a wonderful idea and the embroidery is beautiful. I'm sure it will be very special to your friend and her daughter.
8/9/10 12:21 PM
Pj3g said...
I love them! Totally cute!
2/28/14 5:43 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Fit the Tee to a T
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Fit the Tee to a T

Online Sewing Classes
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Butterick 4859 Misses Skirts
photo
Review by Primatoide... on 9/14/09
Read Review

J Stern Designs Khaki Pants Pattern
J Stern Designs Khaki Pants Pattern

Details
Price: $15.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Valencia Jacket & Pants Pattern
Sewing Workshop Valencia Jacket & Pants Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Blank Slate Trendy Tuxedo Shirt & Pants Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Trendy Tuxedo Shirt & Pants Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Pinwheel tunic + slip dress Digital Pattern ( Size 5-12 )
Oliver + S Pinwheel tunic + slip dress Digital Pattern ( Size 5-12 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Cake patterns 2222
photo
Review by Fox51 on 3/24/14
Read Review

McCalls 6196 Pattern ( Size MED-LRG-XLG )
McCalls 6196 Pattern ( Size MED-LRG-XLG )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 4443 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14 )
Butterick 4443 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us