SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> HotPatterns> from Fabric.com (peachy beachy poolside coverup)

5 more reviews
Viewed 469 times 
Reviewed by:MaryDB
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About MaryDBstar
WA USA
Member since: 2/9/08
Reviews written: 56
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 17 people
patterns reviewed: 49
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/10/10 11:57 PM
Last Updated:8/10/10 11:59 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 14 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
19 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
AndreaSews said...
I've been eyeing this free pattern for awhile. Yours is so nice, and the pockets are a great idea. I'd skip the facings too.
7/5/11 2:41 AM
Lisabeth60 said...
It is adorable! I have been looking at the pattern thinking of making it for an upcoming cruise. Thank you for posting!
9/28/10 7:47 PM
Karla Kizer said...
A really pretty interpretation of this pattern. I see a "summer bathrobe" in my future. Thanks for the reminder to print out this design. Another tree gone....
8/18/10 7:52 AM
mssewcrazy said...
I think this probably is the best coverup ever and free pattern no less. This is just a wonderful combo of fabric and pattern and pockets.
8/12/10 6:19 AM
Hilary said...
Nice! I like the pockets you added-it looks great!
8/11/10 6:57 PM
Cowtown Karen said...
Mary, what you did with the pockets is ingenious! I am going to try it.
8/11/10 5:14 PM
Ericaeli said...
This is such a pretty cover-up. I love the story of the fabric. The pockets are the perfect addition to this pattern. I think it would be really nice out of french terry too. I have been wanting to make this, but I truly hate patterns that I have to print out! I think I need to just force myself.
8/11/10 2:38 PM
Leu said...
Looks fabulous! I tried the pattern, but since the drawstring wasn't low enough, had to lengthen to top pieces. I also cut the skirt the biggest size the pattern came so I could gather it a little bit. I was working with a beautiful royal blue gauze fabric and I basically made the project more difficult than my skill level. It ended up in the scrap pile. I thought the same about the facings. Maybe I'll try again!
8/11/10 2:13 PM
Terri A said...
Cool! Love it:-)
8/11/10 2:01 PM
MaryDB said...
Karen, I cut the pockets free-hand by center-folding the doubled fabric, and cutting it to paperback size. I zig-zagged clear elastic (while holding it stretched) a couple of inches down from the opening.
8/11/10 10:55 AM
Cowtown Karen said...
I love this! So cute! Please tell us how you did the pockets. It looks like the top of the pocket has elastic in it. Is that right?
8/11/10 10:32 AM
Nancy Rhodes said...
Excellent review... will you be doing book reviews soon? particularly of pool side trashy paperbacks? Hope so!
8/11/10 8:35 AM
Jane S said...
What a fabulous use for this fabric. Hope your vacation was as fun as this cute coverup.
8/11/10 7:40 AM
MNBarb said...
Thanks for posting. This is a great cover-up. I especially like the drawstring to make it pretend to have shape but still be very loose and comfy. I think it was the perfect garment for this fabric.
8/11/10 7:33 AM
FreyaStark said...
Very nice. The pattern looks like the sort of loose-fitting tunic-style tops Burda magazine has been offering recently so it might even work as a tunic in a light and colourful fabric and worn with a camisole underneath.
8/11/10 5:30 AM
julie w said...
What a lovely vacation garment, fabulous as well as functional. Great review, I've downloaded this and was wondering how the sizing goes.
8/11/10 3:03 AM
Dmd4106 said...
Cute cover-up! Luv the pockets. Thanks for posting.
8/11/10 0:45 AM
ColorMeHome said...
Great project! Just what I needed for my beach vacation! Love your light and airy fabric!
8/11/10 0:34 AM
katie lynne said...
What a nice looking wrap! I was wondering if it'd be worth my time to download/print/tape the pattern, but I can see it's well worth it. I love the fabric's history—you have turned fabric from what was a lemon marriage into a lemonade very cool cover-up! It looks like it's soft too...seems yummy.
8/11/10 0:20 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Class Details

Online Class
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Class Details

Burda 8157

photo
by: FreyaStark

Review
Kwik Sew 3463

photo
by: Sue Parrot...

Review
SewBaby Snap Happy Diaper Covers Pattern

SewBaby Snap Happy Diaper Covers Pattern

More Info
Sew Chic Pretty Petticoat Pattern (ln1208)

Sew Chic Pretty Petticoat Pattern (ln1208)

More Info