SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> HotPatterns> from Fabric.com (peachy beachy poolside coverup)

5 more reviews
Viewed 465 times 
Reviewed by:MaryDB
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About MaryDBstar
WA USA
Member since: 2/9/08
Reviews written: 53
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 16 people
patterns reviewed: 46
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/10/10 11:57 PM
Last Updated:8/10/10 11:59 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 14 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
19 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
katie lynne said...
What a nice looking wrap! I was wondering if it'd be worth my time to download/print/tape the pattern, but I can see it's well worth it. I love the fabric's history—you have turned fabric from what was a lemon marriage into a lemonade very cool cover-up! It looks like it's soft too...seems yummy.
8/11/10 0:20 AM
ColorMeHome said...
Great project! Just what I needed for my beach vacation! Love your light and airy fabric!
8/11/10 0:34 AM
Dmd4106 said...
Cute cover-up! Luv the pockets. Thanks for posting.
8/11/10 0:45 AM
julie w said...
What a lovely vacation garment, fabulous as well as functional. Great review, I've downloaded this and was wondering how the sizing goes.
8/11/10 3:03 AM
FreyaStark said...
Very nice. The pattern looks like the sort of loose-fitting tunic-style tops Burda magazine has been offering recently so it might even work as a tunic in a light and colourful fabric and worn with a camisole underneath.
8/11/10 5:30 AM
MNBarb said...
Thanks for posting. This is a great cover-up. I especially like the drawstring to make it pretend to have shape but still be very loose and comfy. I think it was the perfect garment for this fabric.
8/11/10 7:33 AM
Jane S said...
What a fabulous use for this fabric. Hope your vacation was as fun as this cute coverup.
8/11/10 7:40 AM
Nancy Rhodes said...
Excellent review... will you be doing book reviews soon? particularly of pool side trashy paperbacks? Hope so!
8/11/10 8:35 AM
Cowtown Karen said...
I love this! So cute! Please tell us how you did the pockets. It looks like the top of the pocket has elastic in it. Is that right?
8/11/10 10:32 AM
MaryDB said...
Karen, I cut the pockets free-hand by center-folding the doubled fabric, and cutting it to paperback size. I zig-zagged clear elastic (while holding it stretched) a couple of inches down from the opening.
8/11/10 10:55 AM
Terri A said...
Cool! Love it:-)
8/11/10 2:01 PM
Leu said...
Looks fabulous! I tried the pattern, but since the drawstring wasn't low enough, had to lengthen to top pieces. I also cut the skirt the biggest size the pattern came so I could gather it a little bit. I was working with a beautiful royal blue gauze fabric and I basically made the project more difficult than my skill level. It ended up in the scrap pile. I thought the same about the facings. Maybe I'll try again!
8/11/10 2:13 PM
Ericaeli said...
This is such a pretty cover-up. I love the story of the fabric. The pockets are the perfect addition to this pattern. I think it would be really nice out of french terry too. I have been wanting to make this, but I truly hate patterns that I have to print out! I think I need to just force myself.
8/11/10 2:38 PM
Cowtown Karen said...
Mary, what you did with the pockets is ingenious! I am going to try it.
8/11/10 5:14 PM
Hilary said...
Nice! I like the pockets you added-it looks great!
8/11/10 6:57 PM
mssewcrazy said...
I think this probably is the best coverup ever and free pattern no less. This is just a wonderful combo of fabric and pattern and pockets.
8/12/10 6:19 AM
Karla Kizer said...
A really pretty interpretation of this pattern. I see a "summer bathrobe" in my future. Thanks for the reminder to print out this design. Another tree gone....
8/18/10 7:52 AM
Lisabeth60 said...
It is adorable! I have been looking at the pattern thinking of making it for an upcoming cruise. Thank you for posting!
9/28/10 7:47 PM
AndreaSews said...
I've been eyeing this free pattern for awhile. Yours is so nice, and the pockets are a great idea. I'd skip the facings too.
7/5/11 2:41 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

Islander Sewing Systems Baja Shirt Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Baja Shirt Pattern

Buy Now
Sew Liberated Mischievous Gnome Messenger Bag

Sew Liberated Mischievous Gnome Messenger Bag

Buy Now