SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 02-2008-105 (Balmain)

2 more reviews
Viewed 419 times 
Reviewed by:Birgitte
photo

 
 
About Birgittestarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 9/28/04
Reviews written: 64
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 128 people
patterns reviewed: 59
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/12/10 4:02 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 13 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
22 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
sugarduck said...
Wow! I'm extremely impressed by both the final garment and the incredible dedication that this project surely demanded. Great job!
8/12/10 4:10 PM
Robin Denning said...
Wow, thanks for taking the time to summarize the process. This is genius. You really did a fanatastic job and it's so helpful to learn of all the decisions along the way.
8/12/10 5:02 PM
Robin Denning said...
and, I should have said - it looks great on you! You've got the figure for it. I love it with the jeans.
8/12/10 5:06 PM
cindyann said...
It's DONE!!! It's fantastic. { Thunderous applause and a standing ovation}
8/12/10 5:26 PM
Kay Y said...
What an epic voyage! The end result is absolutely fabulous, as anyone would have predicted.
8/12/10 5:28 PM
AMarie said...
Incredible! Amazing! You have such dedication and skill. Thanks so much for sharing this. If anything, I've learned the impossible is possible with a strong dose of determination and some ingenunity.
8/12/10 6:47 PM
Nancy K said...
You've written a wonderful and informative review. I'll have to remember that tip about using boning. It's a beautiful jacket and it looks wonderful on you.
8/12/10 6:59 PM
donna mel said...
WELL worth $14,000! It is YUMMY!!
8/12/10 7:16 PM
Nancy Rhodes said...
Speechlessly nodding in agreement with all whom precede me here.. OMG! What an undertaking and stunning result!
8/12/10 7:35 PM
Catbird said...
Oh...my...goodness. As one who has eagerly followed your progress with this for ... is it over a year? ... I feel like I've witnessed a birth! This is astounding and exceeds all expectations. I LOVE it with the jeans and loose shirt. You're in the right business to wear such a glorious thing, and I hope you wear it often and get showered with praise. Your 'thinking cap' must be worn to tatters after this escapade! And the review and blog posts are massive amounts of work in themselves -- like an archeological dig with buried treasure at the end. I've gotten too wordy, but one last thing -- CONGRATULATIONS. I'm really blown away.
8/12/10 8:49 PM
CynthiaSue said...
i think I cried.... Do not let your daughter borrow it!!! If I made this, I would want to be buried with it. ;)
8/12/10 10:22 PM
dingyadi said...
Utterly amazing! It is just beautiful. The amount of work and concentration that must be involved is awesome.
8/12/10 11:32 PM
Aroura said...
What CynthiaSue said about sums up my feelings. Although I'm compelled to add that your reviews boggles my mind. Your knowledge and techniques are inspiring.
8/12/10 11:39 PM
arianamaniacs said...
You're awesome, I thought the project photo was the real balmain one at first. wonderful job!
8/13/10 3:14 AM
Amanda S. said...
You did it!!! And it's GORGEOUS! Great attention to detail and that beadwork is breathtaking. I'm a 38 should you ever tire of wearing it... :)
8/13/10 11:54 AM
DorothyK said...
Bravo!
8/13/10 1:20 PM
Mahogany Stylist said...
This is over the top. Outstanding. Thanks for the indepth review of your journey.
8/13/10 4:42 PM
Sigrid. said...
Good of you to finish it. Awesome! It was great to follow you along the making of this jacket, truely inspiring, though I wouldn't have any occasion to wear anything half as stunning. Thanks for sharing the process on your blog and this review.
8/13/10 6:12 PM
ChristinePDX said...
Exquisite! Love it paired with the jeans.
8/14/10 10:35 PM
AliceB said...
A'mazing
8/15/10 0:53 AM
Kgrrl said...
Wow, it looks like the designer original. Congratulations on a spectacular jacket!! You are a true artist.
8/16/10 2:15 AM
KensingtonCrab said...
Exquisite work! Thank you for sharing!
8/20/10 9:26 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

SewBaby Petal Dress Pattern

SewBaby Petal Dress Pattern

Buy Now
You Sew Girl Kids Hats Pattern

You Sew Girl Kids Hats Pattern

Buy Now