SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 5521 (Misses' Blouse)

Viewed 1459 times 
Reviewed by:SandraB
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About SandraBstarstar
JAMAICA
Member since: 11/20/03
Reviews written: 74
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 26 people
patterns reviewed: 65
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/24/04 10:24 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 5 people    Very Helpful by 3 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
candyo said...
It looks beautiful!
5/24/04 11:15 PM
ladykick said...
Lucious color. I like the look the topstitching gives. It looks like a good fit for you, too.
5/24/04 11:17 PM
MaryBeth said...
Isn't it amazing how much a certain fabric or blend effects the outcome? I love the color you've chosen and the neckline on this pattern. Nice work on the buttons as well.
5/25/04 1:12 AM
Rhonda Noah said...
You did a wonderful job on that top! It looks cool and summery. I think poly has that puckering tendency unfortunately. Sandra Betzina usually advises cutting it slightly off grain which I guess helps reduce the puckering.
5/25/04 2:07 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Lovely top and love the topstitching. Looks very summery.
5/25/04 5:57 AM
JDpenelope said...
Yes, love those buttons! Nice job. Hope the fabric will be more cooperative after another pressing! Gorgeous Things (Ann) says Simplicity patterns have gotten better.
5/25/04 6:04 AM
AnneM said...
You're right; it looks just like the pattern illustration! Good idea on topstitching the seams (one of the reasons I love these reviews; always get new ideas from them! )
5/25/04 6:40 AM
Melody said...
Sandra, It looks great. The topstitching was a good idea.
5/25/04 7:49 AM
SandraB said...
Thanks everyone for your kind comments. Anne, thank you for the pattern URL. I just added it to the review.
5/25/04 9:07 AM
Sew Jane said...
Great review! Thanks for bringing this pattern to our attention. It's just the kind of cool, summery top I like to wear with it's nice shaping. Your version is wonderful. Well done.
5/25/04 9:15 AM
Oopsy-Daisy! said...
Beautiful!
5/25/04 9:58 AM
debbie.w said...
lovely!
5/25/04 12:06 PM
Neefer said...
It looks great. I was going to put this one in the garage sale pile, but you've inspired me to keep it.
5/25/04 2:24 PM
Sew it seams said...
Sandra your top looks very pretty on you. I really like the top stiching detail. The buttons you chose look perfect.
5/25/04 9:40 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns

Register

Butterick 6170

photo
by: beanchor

Review
8 inch Dressmaking Shears

8 inch Dressmaking Shears

Buy Now
Christine Jonson Swing Jacket

Christine Jonson Swing Jacket

Buy Now