SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 7726 (Tote bags and cell phone case)

2 more reviews
Viewed 2491 times 
Reviewed by:sailonsilvergirl
photo

 
 
About sailonsilvergirlstar
IL USA
Member since: 6/20/03
Reviews written: 29
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 6 people
patterns reviewed: 24
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/25/04 10:55 PM
Last Updated:5/25/04 10:59 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 8 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
CatherineN said...
This is a good looking, useful bag. I like the way you made the handles.
5/25/04 11:05 PM
Katy M said...
Wow this looks even better than the patter photo! I love the leather, it looks really professional. I hope your Mum loves it!
5/26/04 2:49 AM
Katharine in BXL said...
What an informative review! You sewed this thoughtfully and very well. Your mom will be honored, and thank you for sharing!
5/26/04 5:18 AM
noreend said...
Gorgeous bag! Love the leather, but wonder if you had any trouble sewing it? I guess I should just try it too, then I'll know!
5/26/04 5:27 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Great looking bag. Your mother will just love this, I would!!! Great job and the review was very helpful. What site on eBay did you get the leather. Makes the bag look very professional.
5/26/04 5:57 AM
marya said...
Great review. I love the treble clef, the thoughtful touches, and the really useful tips.
5/26/04 8:13 AM
debbie.w said...
Your bag looks great! I sew bags also -- I'll have to try this pattern! : )
5/26/04 8:32 AM
Liana said...
Very cute. The lining with its personal touches is extra nice, and the key hook is a great idea.
5/26/04 8:39 AM
Teri said...
Great bag, great review! Thanks.
5/26/04 9:26 AM
Hilary said...
what a beatiful bag! You can't possibly be a beginner, I would say you underestimate yourself! Your patience(slow sewing :o) ) has produced a really unique and wonderful tote I'm sure your parents will love. Thanks for the tip about the handle-looks really good!
5/26/04 1:07 PM
JDpenelope said...
All of your touches are so thoughtful--you learned from past experience and made the most of it with this bag. I'm amazed that you got such good results with leather as a beginner--did you use a leather needle? Love the treble clef--but I think it's so clever and nice-- it should be on the outside!
5/28/04 5:54 AM
sailonsilvergirl said...
Thank you everyone for your nice comments! This is really encouraging & make me want to sew more so I can post more. Regarding the leather, I have leather needles and microtex needles which I think have been recommended for leather, but I used universal needles. The leather needles kept making the leather "jump" & skip. The universal needle (I have a multi-size pack & honestly didn't check size) worked BETTER than leather needle believe it or not. I'm not super informed of the effect of holes from various size needles in the leather & whether universal may weaken the leather. I'm planning to get Sandy Scrivano's book on sewing leather. Regarding where on eBay to get leather, I think if you search for leather remnants or "leather for sewing" -- some search term that would pull up leather that's not sewed already -- you'll find a lot of sellers. I've bought small pieces from leatherwise, & those are nice leathers & sized for tote bags and other smaller projects.
5/31/04 8:09 AM
Sew it seams said...
What a great bag!! Your review is excellent and very helpful. Especially your tip on using the leather on the top side only of the handle. Besides making it sewable, it's a great looking detail.
6/2/04 7:20 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

Fit For Real People DVD

Fit For Real People DVD

Buy Now
You Sew Girl Day Bag Pattern

You Sew Girl Day Bag Pattern

Buy Now
Burda 2767

photo
by: Trephas200...

Review

Pattern