Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
New Look: 6190 (skirt) thumbsup - Type:Skirts    printable version
Viewed 1905 times 16 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 4 people   
Reviewed by:sewywabbit
photo
Friend of PR
About sewywabbitstar
WA USA
Member since: 3/7/02
Reviews written: 12
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 4 people
patterns reviewed: 11
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/26/04 5:07 PM
Last Updated:5/26/04 5:19 PM


See other patterns in this category: Pants    Skirts    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Meredith P said...
This is so cute! I can just picture this on a teenager. Love the kilt comment!
5/26/04 6:08 PM
Levone said...
Your skirt is very cute. The black trimming addition gives it that "extra" something.
5/26/04 6:08 PM
Jennifer shaw said...
The skirt is so adorable! DD is very lucky to have a fashion savvy and creative mom.
5/26/04 8:14 PM
Katy M said...
I love this pattern, I've made the wrap skirt and the pants, and both fit me perfectly with no alterations! Let me know how the pleated skirt turns out because I'd like to make that one too!
5/26/04 9:07 PM
cindyann said...
CUTE! I'm sure your daughter will wear it often.
5/27/04 7:12 AM
Harriet Rogers said...
This is adorable, and your daughter will soon find out that guys heads will be turning when she wears this. I have one question. When you say you stitched the grosgrain ribbon to the front, how did you do it? Does it turn over to the otherside like a binding or did you just attach to the front. Either way, how is it finished: stitch in the ditch? or sewn how far away from edge? I'd love to use this treatment on a skirt I'm making. Thanks, and tell your daughter I think she has a "winner" for a Mom!
5/27/04 8:37 AM
jen_e said...
Wow, I really like that fabric! Love the ribbon too. Beautiful job!
5/27/04 2:27 PM
sewywabbit said...
Thanks everyone for all the nice comments. Harriet, I pressed the seam allowance of the front flap toward the front rather than the back, trimmed it to 1/4" and glue basted ribbon with dots of a product called Roxanne's Glue Baste. I mitered the corner, and stitched in the well right next to the edge of the ribbon on both sides of the ribbon. Needed to do this in daylight as my eyes are starting to go and picking stitches out of the ribbon would not have been fun. Then I just continued construction as normal.
5/27/04 3:04 PM
Harriet Rogers said...
Thank for help with this. I'll let you know in some future review if I'm successful with your method. Sounds easy, but glue scares me.
5/27/04 3:10 PM
Debbie Cook said...
Cute skirt!! Oh to be 18 again and able to wear a short PLAID skirt. NOT!! I really like the trim and bias waist. Nice extras! Harriet, I don't think I could sew without my glue!!
5/27/04 4:41 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Cute. Like the waistband treatment
5/27/04 7:40 PM
candyo said...
Great skirt! Yes, I'd watch out for the guys when she's wearing this- for some reason they really go bezerk over the 'catholic schoolgirl' look.
5/28/04 8:44 PM
sewywabbit said...
LOL Candyo, especially funny since she IS a Catholic schoolgirl!
5/29/04 2:15 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Fit the Tee to a T
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Fit the Tee to a T

Online Sewing Classes
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Vogue Patterns 2429 A-line Dress
photo
Review by ladybegood on 1/21/08
Read Review

Mini Miranda Bag
Mini Miranda Bag

Details
Price: $9.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Suzi Purse Insert
Suzi Purse Insert

Details
Price: $9.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Blank Slate Coastal Cargoes Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Coastal Cargoes Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Pattern Runway Scalloped Hem Shorts Digital Pattern
Pattern Runway Scalloped Hem Shorts Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $9.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 4076
photo
Review by SueV on 5/27/09
Read Review

Vogue 8970 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )
Vogue 8970 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $22.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3976 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3976 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us