Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 04-2010-102 (102) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 401 times 7 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 12 people   
Reviewed by:Izzie
photo
About Izziestarstar
GA USA
Member since: 6/28/03
Reviews written: 77
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 18 people
patterns reviewed: 74
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/4/10 6:22 PM
Last Updated:9/4/10 6:38 PM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
corinne kelly said...
Love this on you and how the fabric turned out! Now I know what you've been up to...
9/4/10 6:31 PM
RLL said...
I LOVE this and the distressed silk too.
9/4/10 8:16 PM
lakaribane said...
I love your fabric and you are right: it's boxy but flattering in an inexplicable way. I may have to make one for my mother.
9/5/10 8:33 AM
Lizz said...
I have just finished two versions of this blouse and love both of them. The boxy styling is great for my hippy frame. I added 4" slits at the side seams and shortened the sleeves and was very happy - reviews to follow after vacation.
9/5/10 11:01 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Nice top and cool distressed silk
9/5/10 11:04 AM
michellep74 said...
Very stylish blouse! Thanks for your review--I liked this blouse in the magazine but never thought that it would work on my figure...but after seeing how great yours is, I think it might work for me with a drapey enough fabric. Love what you did to your fabric, too!
9/5/10 1:56 PM
mylittleelephant said...
Very very cool! Thanks a lot for a link about distressing silk, I would love to try one.
9/6/10 6:31 PM
KatieA said...
I was just searching for tops to make with some silk dupioni I will NEVER make the bust part of a strapless dress.. came across this - technique looks fabulous, thanks!
6/13/11 10:25 AM
JillyBe said...
That's the 'slouch blouse', isn't it? Great use of dupioni - I hadn't considered it for this shirt. And fabulous info on the distressing as well!
6/19/11 3:01 PM
threadandthumb said...
Thanks for posting this! I didn't like the sheen of some dupioni I bought and threw it in the wash - one wash didn't tone it enough, but now that I see it can withstand more washings then throwing it in the washer again will not be so scary. I bet that blouse is comfy after conditioning the fabric!
1/17/12 12:42 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Online Sewing Classes
Altering Pants
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Pants

Vogue Patterns 1060 MISSES' COAT
photo
Review by Barbara V on 5/8/13
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Alex & Anna Summer PJs Digital Pattern ( Size 6 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Alex & Anna Summer PJs Digital Pattern ( Size 6 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Badminton Skort, Top + Dress Digital Pattern (5-12)
Oliver + S Badminton Skort, Top + Dress Digital Pattern (5-12)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCall's 6571
photo
Review by elladee on 10/24/13
Read Review

Petite Plus 601 Pattern
Petite Plus 601 Pattern

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sew Chic Southern Belle Dress Pattern (ln8503)
Sew Chic Southern Belle Dress Pattern (ln8503)

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5792 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )
Butterick 5792 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6889 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )
McCalls 6889 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us