SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 04-2010-102 (102)

6 more reviews
Viewed 413 times 
Reviewed by:Izzie
photo

 
 
About Izziestarstar
TN United States
Member since: 6/28/03
Reviews: 78 (patterns: 75)
Skill level:Intermediate
Favored by: 21 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/4/10 6:22 PM
Last Updated:9/4/10 6:38 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 12 people   
See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
threadandthumb said... (1/17/12 12:42 PM) Reply
Thanks for posting this! I didn't like the sheen of some dupioni I bought and threw it in the wash - one wash didn't tone it enough, but now that I see it can withstand more washings then throwing it in the washer again will not be so scary. I bet that blouse is comfy after conditioning the fabric!
JillyBe said... (6/19/11 3:01 PM) Reply
That's the 'slouch blouse', isn't it? Great use of dupioni - I hadn't considered it for this shirt. And fabulous info on the distressing as well!
KatieA said... (6/13/11 10:25 AM) Reply
I was just searching for tops to make with some silk dupioni I will NEVER make the bust part of a strapless dress.. came across this - technique looks fabulous, thanks!
mylittleelephant said... (9/6/10 6:31 PM) Reply
Very very cool! Thanks a lot for a link about distressing silk, I would love to try one.
michellep74 said... (9/5/10 1:56 PM) Reply
Very stylish blouse! Thanks for your review--I liked this blouse in the magazine but never thought that it would work on my figure...but after seeing how great yours is, I think it might work for me with a drapey enough fabric. Love what you did to your fabric, too!
Danvillegirl said... (9/5/10 11:04 AM) Reply
Nice top and cool distressed silk
Lizz said... (9/5/10 11:01 AM) Reply
I have just finished two versions of this blouse and love both of them. The boxy styling is great for my hippy frame. I added 4" slits at the side seams and shortened the sleeves and was very happy - reviews to follow after vacation.
lakaribane said... (9/5/10 8:33 AM) Reply
I love your fabric and you are right: it's boxy but flattering in an inexplicable way. I may have to make one for my mother.
RLL said... (9/4/10 8:16 PM) Reply
I LOVE this and the distressed silk too.
corinne kelly said... (9/4/10 6:31 PM) Reply
Love this on you and how the fabric turned out! Now I know what you've been up to...
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Class Details

Online Class
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Class Details

StyleArc Jenny Shirt

photo
by: FreyaStark

Review
Sewn Square One Skirt Smarts Pattern

Sewn Square One Skirt Smarts Pattern

Pattern Details
NECKLINES AND DRAPING - A CD Book by Kenneth King

NECKLINES AND DRAPING - A CD Book by Kenneth King

Pattern Details