Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Butterick: 5523 (Misses' Dress) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 1025 times 23 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 27 people   
Reviewed by:bemodi
photo
About bemodi
NS CANADA
Member since: 10/12/07
Reviews written: 41
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 15 people
patterns reviewed: 41
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/5/10 8:47 PM
Last Updated:9/6/10 9:54 AM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
20 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
cmarie12 said...
This is such a great dress on you! Thanks for all of the info because this dress is on my to-sew list!
9/5/10 9:17 PM
sewmytime said...
Great review very helpful and the dress is wonderful!
9/5/10 9:25 PM
carolynw said...
Very pretty dress and very helpful review
9/5/10 10:43 PM
homejewel said...
Added to the wishlist based on your great success. Thanks for the helpful hints. It is odd that so many pattern companies fail to give proper tips when sewing with knits.
9/6/10 0:27 AM
michellep74 said...
Very nice dress! Thanks for the info on the construction. I plan to make this dress later this fall--your review will be very helpful!
9/6/10 2:12 AM
Rebecca D said...
Elegant and comfy - a winning combination. I'm adding it to my wish list, thanks for a very helpful review.
9/6/10 8:46 AM
Kathy in NM said...
Great dress! Thanks for the detailed review. I keep eyeing this pattern. It is nice to see it made-up on a real person.
9/6/10 11:24 AM
Amy-may said...
Oh, very nice! I just picked up this pattern but then wondered if it was too boxy - guess not, you great!
9/6/10 12:51 PM
4u2cme said...
Very helpful review. I do plan to make this dress soon.
9/6/10 1:45 PM
becca a said...
I love your dress! I agree completely about the ridiculous instructions in big 4 knit patterns. What are they thinking?
9/6/10 5:55 PM
AuntieShel said...
Yay, so happy to see a review of this dress and yours is absolutely beautiful and looks fabulous on you!! Thank you for the tips. I agree that the big 4 are way behind the curve with their instructions. (Thank God for PR, right?) Hopefully the knit I have will be just right. Thanks for the tip on zero ease in the bust with this pattern. Did you put the pleat in the sleeve?
9/9/10 12:59 PM
bemodi said...
Yes I did put the pleat in the sleeve, it looks better on than you would think, not too much.
9/9/10 9:00 PM
Lori V said...
Very cute dress, it looks great on you.
9/20/10 7:14 AM
Ruth Designs said...
Very nice dress! Thanks for the review because I'm about to sew it and your advice is very helpful.
10/2/10 12:45 PM
CissieW said...
I have this patten and am so glad I read your review before selecting fabric. Very helpful review! Thanks so much.
10/12/10 4:35 PM
Northlady said...
Thanks for the great review. Dress is very attractive. I already had the pattern and your comments will be very helpful.
10/15/10 10:26 PM
Bonnie O said...
Thanks for all the great tips! Your dress is lovely.
11/10/10 11:17 AM
Knitters Delight said...
Thanks for your review. Very helpful tips!
11/11/10 2:24 PM
Robin Denning said...
Great review- thanks for all the helpful hints. I'd love to make it up when I find the right fabric for it.
12/4/10 9:21 PM
Ann B. said...
Thanks for the advice on the bodice fit. I was planning on a doubleknit and will recheck the ease. Very pretty dress.
12/18/10 8:51 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Online Sewing Classes
Leather 101
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Leather 101

Simplicity 1816
photo
Review by kathleencr... on 8/24/12
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Duck Slippers Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )
Peek-A Boo Duck Slippers Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Blank Slate Amaryllis Dress Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Amaryllis Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 4865
photo
Review by annakeeton on 5/22/11
Read Review

Petite Plus 202 Pattern
Petite Plus 202 Pattern

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Adult Hats Pattern
You Sew Girl Adult Hats Pattern

Details
Price: $22.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6376 Pattern ( Size 3-45-6 7-8 )
McCalls 6376 Pattern ( Size 3-45-6 7-8 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 4016 Pattern
Kwik Sew 4016 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us