SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 5523 (Misses' Dress)

25 more reviews
Viewed 1028 times 
Reviewed by:bemodi
photo

 
 
About bemodi
NS CANADA
Member since: 10/12/07
Reviews written: 41
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 15 people
patterns reviewed: 41
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/5/10 8:47 PM
Last Updated:9/6/10 9:54 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 27 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
20 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
cmarie12 said...
This is such a great dress on you! Thanks for all of the info because this dress is on my to-sew list!
9/5/10 9:17 PM
sewmytime said...
Great review very helpful and the dress is wonderful!
9/5/10 9:25 PM
carolynw said...
Very pretty dress and very helpful review
9/5/10 10:43 PM
homejewel said...
Added to the wishlist based on your great success. Thanks for the helpful hints. It is odd that so many pattern companies fail to give proper tips when sewing with knits.
9/6/10 0:27 AM
michellep74 said...
Very nice dress! Thanks for the info on the construction. I plan to make this dress later this fall--your review will be very helpful!
9/6/10 2:12 AM
Rebecca D said...
Elegant and comfy - a winning combination. I'm adding it to my wish list, thanks for a very helpful review.
9/6/10 8:46 AM
Kathy in NM said...
Great dress! Thanks for the detailed review. I keep eyeing this pattern. It is nice to see it made-up on a real person.
9/6/10 11:24 AM
Amy-may said...
Oh, very nice! I just picked up this pattern but then wondered if it was too boxy - guess not, you great!
9/6/10 12:51 PM
4u2cme said...
Very helpful review. I do plan to make this dress soon.
9/6/10 1:45 PM
becca a said...
I love your dress! I agree completely about the ridiculous instructions in big 4 knit patterns. What are they thinking?
9/6/10 5:55 PM
AuntieShel said...
Yay, so happy to see a review of this dress and yours is absolutely beautiful and looks fabulous on you!! Thank you for the tips. I agree that the big 4 are way behind the curve with their instructions. (Thank God for PR, right?) Hopefully the knit I have will be just right. Thanks for the tip on zero ease in the bust with this pattern. Did you put the pleat in the sleeve?
9/9/10 12:59 PM
bemodi said...
Yes I did put the pleat in the sleeve, it looks better on than you would think, not too much.
9/9/10 9:00 PM
Lori V said...
Very cute dress, it looks great on you.
9/20/10 7:14 AM
Ruth Designs said...
Very nice dress! Thanks for the review because I'm about to sew it and your advice is very helpful.
10/2/10 12:45 PM
CissieW said...
I have this patten and am so glad I read your review before selecting fabric. Very helpful review! Thanks so much.
10/12/10 4:35 PM
Northlady said...
Thanks for the great review. Dress is very attractive. I already had the pattern and your comments will be very helpful.
10/15/10 10:26 PM
Bonnie O said...
Thanks for all the great tips! Your dress is lovely.
11/10/10 11:17 AM
Knitters Delight said...
Thanks for your review. Very helpful tips!
11/11/10 2:24 PM
Robin Denning said...
Great review- thanks for all the helpful hints. I'd love to make it up when I find the right fabric for it.
12/4/10 9:21 PM
Ann B. said...
Thanks for the advice on the bodice fit. I was planning on a doubleknit and will recheck the ease. Very pretty dress.
12/18/10 8:51 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

Petite Plus V202 VHS

Petite Plus V202 VHS

Buy Now
Favorite Things Ballet Slippers Pattern

Favorite Things Ballet Slippers Pattern

Buy Now