SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 5239 (THE PERFECT FIT PANTS - BUT)

10 more reviews
Viewed 599 times 
Reviewed by:carolynw
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About carolynwstarstarstar
ON CANADA
Member since: 3/19/05
Reviews written: 111
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 36 people
patterns reviewed: 99
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/8/10 4:43 PM
Last Updated:9/8/10 4:47 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 13 people   
See other patterns in this category: Pants    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Aixoise said...
Have you tried the P/P method of folding out a waist-to-hem crease down the back pattern piece? They usually put lines on the pattern pieces indicating placement of this crease; crease depth is up to you. You might have to add a bit back to the side seam near the waist, depending on your proportions. But it's a fix worth trying if you haven't already. It's worked for me (I have a very flat seat, so there's often too much fabric there). Great looking pants! They're worth tweaking to perfection.
9/8/10 5:26 PM
KathySews said...
great looking pants. I avoid pants but should maybe try P/P
9/8/10 8:21 PM
Annette1 said...
Now that's what I call a great-looking pair of pants, truly a TNT of the first degree! I wish I could help you with the fitting in the back (although they look pretty darn good to me). I wonder if you SHOULD try a smaller size in the back. I guess if it were me, that's what I'd try. I'm going to send you a personal message, as I have a resource that MIGHT help in that regard that I could email to you.
9/8/10 10:04 PM
sew2little said...
These look PDG to me, Carolyn! Since I am pants-phobic, I have no advice, only kudos! Marci
9/9/10 0:06 AM
Peggy L said...
Those pants look great! Definitely a TNT. No suggestions for you but I hope you'll update if you find a fix. By the way, I love your new pic!!! It may not be all that new but I haven't been on here too much the last 6 months. I'm going to pick up this pattern at the next sale.
9/9/10 7:37 AM
Moxie Carol said...
I also would try the "flat butt" adjustment as Aixoise suggested. That should take care of that crease. Your pants are beautiful and inspiring. Who knew denim could look so dressy!
9/9/10 10:36 PM
jewelsew said...
Overall they look really good on you!
9/10/10 1:01 PM
Lucy in Virginia said...
BE-YOU-TEE-FULL!!! Crease or no crease. These look like dress pants, not denim.
9/10/10 3:17 PM
loti said...
Great pants, I have this pattern, and I also have the same butt fit on a few of my mine.
10/6/10 1:48 PM
Christas said...
I think your pants look very nice on you!
10/14/10 5:13 PM
sewsabina said...
You did an excellent job and I think they look great on you.
6/1/11 5:50 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

Brensan Studios BSS155

photo
by: marycds

Review
Favorite Things Nightie Night Pattern

Favorite Things Nightie Night Pattern

Buy Now
Islander Sewing Systems Men's City Western Shirt Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Men's City Western Shirt Pattern

Buy Now