Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
McCall's: 5239 (THE PERFECT FIT PANTS - BUT) thumbsup - Type:Pants    printable version
Viewed 592 times 10 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 13 people   
Reviewed by:carolynw
photo
Friend of PR
About carolynwstarstarstar
ON CANADA
Member since: 3/19/05
Reviews written: 111
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 36 people
patterns reviewed: 99
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/8/10 4:43 PM
Last Updated:9/8/10 4:47 PM


See other patterns in this category: Pants    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Aixoise said...
Have you tried the P/P method of folding out a waist-to-hem crease down the back pattern piece? They usually put lines on the pattern pieces indicating placement of this crease; crease depth is up to you. You might have to add a bit back to the side seam near the waist, depending on your proportions. But it's a fix worth trying if you haven't already. It's worked for me (I have a very flat seat, so there's often too much fabric there). Great looking pants! They're worth tweaking to perfection.
9/8/10 5:26 PM
KathySews said...
great looking pants. I avoid pants but should maybe try P/P
9/8/10 8:21 PM
Annette1 said...
Now that's what I call a great-looking pair of pants, truly a TNT of the first degree! I wish I could help you with the fitting in the back (although they look pretty darn good to me). I wonder if you SHOULD try a smaller size in the back. I guess if it were me, that's what I'd try. I'm going to send you a personal message, as I have a resource that MIGHT help in that regard that I could email to you.
9/8/10 10:04 PM
sew2little said...
These look PDG to me, Carolyn! Since I am pants-phobic, I have no advice, only kudos! Marci
9/9/10 0:06 AM
Peggy L said...
Those pants look great! Definitely a TNT. No suggestions for you but I hope you'll update if you find a fix. By the way, I love your new pic!!! It may not be all that new but I haven't been on here too much the last 6 months. I'm going to pick up this pattern at the next sale.
9/9/10 7:37 AM
Moxie Carol said...
I also would try the "flat butt" adjustment as Aixoise suggested. That should take care of that crease. Your pants are beautiful and inspiring. Who knew denim could look so dressy!
9/9/10 10:36 PM
jewelsew said...
Overall they look really good on you!
9/10/10 1:01 PM
Lucy in Virginia said...
BE-YOU-TEE-FULL!!! Crease or no crease. These look like dress pants, not denim.
9/10/10 3:17 PM
loti said...
Great pants, I have this pattern, and I also have the same butt fit on a few of my mine.
10/6/10 1:48 PM
Christas said...
I think your pants look very nice on you!
10/14/10 5:13 PM
sewsabina said...
You did an excellent job and I think they look great on you.
6/1/11 5:50 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Online Sewing Classes
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Vogue Patterns 7610
photo
Review by velosewer on 4/11/09
Read Review

SewBaby Blankie Buddies Pattern
SewBaby Blankie Buddies Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

JSM-Pant 1
JSM-Pant 1

Details
Price: $20.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Bluegingerdoll The Peggy Skirt Digital Pattern
Bluegingerdoll The Peggy Skirt Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Playtime Dress, Tunic + Leggings Digital Pattern (5-12)
Oliver + S Playtime Dress, Tunic + Leggings Digital Pattern (5-12)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

HotPatterns 1107
photo
Review by Sue Anfang on 2/19/11
Read Review

Burda 7378 Pattern
Burda 7378 Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5850 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )
Butterick 5850 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us