SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 7873 

1 more reviews
Viewed 1988 times 
Reviewed by:CarolynGM
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About CarolynGMstarstarstarstar
AR USA
Member since: 3/9/03
Reviews written: 122
Favored by: 145 people
patterns reviewed: 116
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/21/05 6:51 AM
Last Updated:5/31/04 1:58 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 5 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
20 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Lisa Laree said...
Sharp looking dress! The pattern pictures didn't really do anything for me when I first saw them, but I really like your interpretation...I may have to get this one after all... ;)
5/31/04 4:55 PM
drsue said...
Your dress is wonderful! Much nicer that the pattern would indicate.
5/31/04 5:26 PM
SewingSusan said...
It does look like you spent lots of time and effort on it. I agree that your version is much nicer than the envelope. This dress really suits you!
5/31/04 6:28 PM
Diana M said...
I agree- my first thought was that your dress on you looks much better than the model on the pattern envelope -- I noticed in the pattern photo that the darts were too long and hit in an odd place. You commented that they"worked" -- are they unusually long (ie ending at the bust hi point) in the finished version?
5/31/04 6:38 PM
jlg said...
What a beautiful summery dress.
5/31/04 7:22 PM
Asa Hagstrom said...
Very elegant dress, Irina! Looks really comfortable for summer.
6/1/04 4:02 AM
valerie sews said...
What a lovely dress, it looks great on you.
6/1/04 4:59 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Very nice and looks very good on you. Your dress looks better than the photo on pattern.
6/1/04 5:50 AM
AnneM said...
What a nice dress for linen. I have my 1st batch of linen fabric on it's way, so I like seeing ideas on how to use it! Thanks.
6/1/04 6:29 AM
Harriet Rogers said...
Wonderful choice of pattern with fabric. This looks great on you. Your comments have convinced me to buy the pattern and sew this up in linen: I love shirtwaists. Agree with others: this looks much better on you than the cover of pattern would indicate. Thanks for such a great review. I'm sure you'll get a lot of wear out of your beautiful dress.
6/1/04 10:27 AM
SewTabby said...
Woow. Absolutely gorgeous!
6/1/04 12:08 PM
KarenP said...
I've been eyeing this pattern, and I LOVE your version. Thank you for the review!
6/1/04 2:43 PM
MaryBeth said...
It's hard imagine anything that would less than smashing on you but I've got to say that your version of this dress is much better than the pattern photo. You've added such nice touches.
6/1/04 3:40 PM
CarolynGM said...
Thanks everyone for all the great feedback on this dress -- I think I'll cut out another one this weekend, sleeveless this time with pockets somewhere. About those darts Diana M. -- the front waist darts do come up higher than most and the bust darts reach my bust point. Somehow it works for me, but that might be because I'm not particularly well-endowed. A larger busted person might need to adjust the darts.
6/1/04 5:03 PM
mag said...
What a pretty dress. I've been looking for a nice shirtdress pattern and this one looks like it is worth getting.
6/1/04 6:58 PM
JDpenelope said...
Couldn't be a better fit or more sophisticated look. Boy, that's a lot of buttons, though!
6/5/04 7:36 AM
Eme said...
Wow...I would have looked at the shapey drawn models, and thought, hey nice pattern. Then I would have seen the real life model and how baggy and unflattering the dress was and would have put the pattern down right then. Your real life version looks fantastic! I'm new to sewing though, and couldn't follow this part of your review: "There were a couple of omissions though, that I think are essential. I stabilized the front shoulders with stay tape and ran an easeline on the top of the skirt before attaching it to the bodice." I can probably google and find out what it means, but can you tell me why these things are necessary? (in your opinion?)
7/7/04 12:45 PM
CarolynGM said...
Eme, I cut two pieces of stay tape the length of the front shoulder seam on the pattern. Then I sewed them to the wrong side of each front along the shoulder seam. This keeps the shoulder seam from stretching when the dress is worn. As for the ease line, here's why I did it. The skirt was slightly larger than the bodice, so I sewed one row of long stitches around the top of the skirt. I then "gathered" the skirt ever so slightly, by pulling on the bobbin thread to make it the same size as the bodice. I've worn this dress several times and really love it.
7/7/04 6:23 PM
Mini said...
The Vogue photo looked exactly like a minidress I made back in the 60's LOL! One reason the Vogue pic looks tacky is that the model is too flat to need bust darts. Your version looks like a versatile elegant dress that would flatter many figure types. The eased-in back shoulder you noted is an important fitting device that substitutes for the once ubiquitous back shoulder dart. Most women need this back shaping, but so many of today's patterns leave it out, causing a poor fit in the upper back.
7/11/04 11:34 AM
BeckyW said...
Very nice dress. I am looking forward to making the sleeveless one for summer.
12/30/05 4:20 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Jamie Christina Abbey Coat Pattern (JC314AC)

Jamie Christina Abbey Coat Pattern (JC314AC)

Buy Now
Sew Chic Phantom Jacket and Pant Pattern (ln1106)

Sew Chic Phantom Jacket and Pant Pattern (ln1106)

Buy Now