Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 7873 - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 1985 times 1 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 5 people   
Reviewed by:CarolynGM
photo
Friend of PR
About CarolynGMstarstarstarstar
AR USA
Member since: 3/9/03
Reviews written: 122
Favored by: 146 people
patterns reviewed: 116
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/21/05 6:51 AM
Last Updated:5/31/04 1:58 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
20 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Lisa Laree said...
Sharp looking dress! The pattern pictures didn't really do anything for me when I first saw them, but I really like your interpretation...I may have to get this one after all... ;)
5/31/04 4:55 PM
drsue said...
Your dress is wonderful! Much nicer that the pattern would indicate.
5/31/04 5:26 PM
SewingSusan said...
It does look like you spent lots of time and effort on it. I agree that your version is much nicer than the envelope. This dress really suits you!
5/31/04 6:28 PM
Diana M said...
I agree- my first thought was that your dress on you looks much better than the model on the pattern envelope -- I noticed in the pattern photo that the darts were too long and hit in an odd place. You commented that they"worked" -- are they unusually long (ie ending at the bust hi point) in the finished version?
5/31/04 6:38 PM
jlg said...
What a beautiful summery dress.
5/31/04 7:22 PM
Asa Hagstrom said...
Very elegant dress, Irina! Looks really comfortable for summer.
6/1/04 4:02 AM
valerie sews said...
What a lovely dress, it looks great on you.
6/1/04 4:59 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Very nice and looks very good on you. Your dress looks better than the photo on pattern.
6/1/04 5:50 AM
AnneM said...
What a nice dress for linen. I have my 1st batch of linen fabric on it's way, so I like seeing ideas on how to use it! Thanks.
6/1/04 6:29 AM
Harriet Rogers said...
Wonderful choice of pattern with fabric. This looks great on you. Your comments have convinced me to buy the pattern and sew this up in linen: I love shirtwaists. Agree with others: this looks much better on you than the cover of pattern would indicate. Thanks for such a great review. I'm sure you'll get a lot of wear out of your beautiful dress.
6/1/04 10:27 AM
SewTabby said...
Woow. Absolutely gorgeous!
6/1/04 12:08 PM
KarenP said...
I've been eyeing this pattern, and I LOVE your version. Thank you for the review!
6/1/04 2:43 PM
MaryBeth said...
It's hard imagine anything that would less than smashing on you but I've got to say that your version of this dress is much better than the pattern photo. You've added such nice touches.
6/1/04 3:40 PM
CarolynGM said...
Thanks everyone for all the great feedback on this dress -- I think I'll cut out another one this weekend, sleeveless this time with pockets somewhere. About those darts Diana M. -- the front waist darts do come up higher than most and the bust darts reach my bust point. Somehow it works for me, but that might be because I'm not particularly well-endowed. A larger busted person might need to adjust the darts.
6/1/04 5:03 PM
mag said...
What a pretty dress. I've been looking for a nice shirtdress pattern and this one looks like it is worth getting.
6/1/04 6:58 PM
JDpenelope said...
Couldn't be a better fit or more sophisticated look. Boy, that's a lot of buttons, though!
6/5/04 7:36 AM
Eme said...
Wow...I would have looked at the shapey drawn models, and thought, hey nice pattern. Then I would have seen the real life model and how baggy and unflattering the dress was and would have put the pattern down right then. Your real life version looks fantastic! I'm new to sewing though, and couldn't follow this part of your review: "There were a couple of omissions though, that I think are essential. I stabilized the front shoulders with stay tape and ran an easeline on the top of the skirt before attaching it to the bodice." I can probably google and find out what it means, but can you tell me why these things are necessary? (in your opinion?)
7/7/04 12:45 PM
CarolynGM said...
Eme, I cut two pieces of stay tape the length of the front shoulder seam on the pattern. Then I sewed them to the wrong side of each front along the shoulder seam. This keeps the shoulder seam from stretching when the dress is worn. As for the ease line, here's why I did it. The skirt was slightly larger than the bodice, so I sewed one row of long stitches around the top of the skirt. I then "gathered" the skirt ever so slightly, by pulling on the bobbin thread to make it the same size as the bodice. I've worn this dress several times and really love it.
7/7/04 6:23 PM
Mini said...
The Vogue photo looked exactly like a minidress I made back in the 60's LOL! One reason the Vogue pic looks tacky is that the model is too flat to need bust darts. Your version looks like a versatile elegant dress that would flatter many figure types. The eased-in back shoulder you noted is an important fitting device that substitutes for the once ubiquitous back shoulder dart. Most women need this back shaping, but so many of today's patterns leave it out, causing a poor fit in the upper back.
7/11/04 11:34 AM
BeckyW said...
Very nice dress. I am looking forward to making the sleeveless one for summer.
12/30/05 4:20 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Bust Adjustments
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Bust Adjustments

Online Sewing Classes
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Butterick 4063
photo
Review by TalyQ on 1/29/09
Read Review

Butterick 5786 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )
Butterick 5786 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6700 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )
McCalls 6700 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

BurdaStyle Magazine 06-2007-126 Trousers
photo
Review by Pinkytoo on 10/6/07
Read Review

Dixie DIY Ballet Dress
Dixie DIY Ballet Dress

Details
Price: $4.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sis Boom Carly Bubble Romper Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Carly Bubble Romper Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Favorite Things The Lunch Bag Pattern
Favorite Things The Lunch Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Take-Along Bags
Take-Along Bags

Details
Price: $7.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us