SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 1159 (Misses' Dress)

22 more reviews
Viewed 610 times 
Reviewed by:maybbm
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About maybbmstar
MA USA
Member since: 7/31/02
Reviews written: 10
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 5 people
patterns reviewed: 10
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/12/10 7:55 PM
Last Updated:9/12/10 8:13 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 9 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns


Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Marcia R said...
I was wondering how you add the red notation lines and arrows. I would like to also be able to do this
9/13/10 9:54 AM
maybbm said...
Hi, Marcia. I just edited photos I took with a picture editor. It takes a while to get used to drawing tools, but eventually you will get the hang of it. Good luck!
9/13/10 12:04 PM
Lucy in Virginia said...
Lovely dress. I really appreciate the time you took to detail the mistakes in this pattern.
9/13/10 1:10 PM
latebloomer said...
What a great dress. Thank you for detailing the corrections you made. Also, that fabric is beautiful. May I ask where you found it?
9/15/10 6:38 AM
maybbm said...
Hi, Latebloomer. The fabric is from Fabric.com, but it was many years ago that I bought it. I am afraid it won't be available from the same source. Sorry.
9/15/10 9:55 PM
Athene said...
Great dress and very helpful review. I understand what you are doing in alternate fix on pattern piece 1 for the armholes, but for alternate piece 2 for the arm hole fix - two questions First is this also required with fix 1, and second - do the red lines on piece two mean you would be folding out 1 inch between the red lines to shorten the piece, or are you cutting 1 inch off each side of the piece?
9/19/10 8:30 PM
maybbm said...
Athene, thanks for pointing out my unclear writing. :) In order to match the fix made on pattern piece 1, back's side seams need to be lengthened by the same amount. To do this, move the circle mark, indicating the lower edge of the armhole, 1" upward along the seam line. The red line indicates the shortened back armhole section. May
9/20/10 12:04 PM
Laurie Lou said...
Gosh! I am SO glad I read this Thanks so much for this great review with the corrections. This will be SO helpful when I make this. I love your dress too with your fabric choice.
10/11/10 11:58 AM
kias2 said...
I do wish I had read your review before trying to make this dress. You make it all very clear. Thank you. Lovely dress- but a NIGHTMARE to make. I really feel Vogue have let all of us that have bought this pattern down. I did contract them re all the errors and I do hope they make changes for future buyers of this pattern. Incidentally I was told by Vogue that the folded edge (step 3) is supposed to be on the arm-hole edge as it in their words ' it facilitates the crossed fronts turning to the inside'. Your explanation makes a lot more sense.
6/24/11 2:22 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

McCall's 6288

photo
by: Bonnie O

Review
Christine Jonson Taper Pant & Wide Leg Pant

Christine Jonson Taper Pant & Wide Leg Pant

Buy Now
Towne Purse

Towne Purse

Buy Now
Kwik Sew 3013

photo
by: kadythered...

Review