SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fabulous Fit
Fabulous Fit

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 1159 (Misses' Dress)

22 more reviews
Viewed 615 times 
Reviewed by:maybbm
Friend of PR

About maybbmstar
Member since: 7/31/02
Reviews: 10 (patterns: 10)
Skill level:Advanced
Favored by: 5 people
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/12/10 7:55 PM
Last Updated:9/12/10 8:13 PM
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 10 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

O! Jolly! Shop

Sweater Knit Fabrics

Amulet Swim Fabrics

Poly/PBT swimwear fabric
Web site

Vesta Patterns
Web site

<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment    
kias2 said... (6/24/11 2:22 PM) Reply
I do wish I had read your review before trying to make this dress. You make it all very clear. Thank you. Lovely dress- but a NIGHTMARE to make. I really feel Vogue have let all of us that have bought this pattern down. I did contract them re all the errors and I do hope they make changes for future buyers of this pattern. Incidentally I was told by Vogue that the folded edge (step 3) is supposed to be on the arm-hole edge as it in their words ' it facilitates the crossed fronts turning to the inside'. Your explanation makes a lot more sense.
Laurie Lou said... (10/11/10 11:58 AM) Reply
Gosh! I am SO glad I read this Thanks so much for this great review with the corrections. This will be SO helpful when I make this. I love your dress too with your fabric choice.
maybbm said... (9/20/10 12:04 PM) Reply
Athene, thanks for pointing out my unclear writing. :) In order to match the fix made on pattern piece 1, back's side seams need to be lengthened by the same amount. To do this, move the circle mark, indicating the lower edge of the armhole, 1" upward along the seam line. The red line indicates the shortened back armhole section. May
Athene said... (9/19/10 8:30 PM) Reply
Great dress and very helpful review. I understand what you are doing in alternate fix on pattern piece 1 for the armholes, but for alternate piece 2 for the arm hole fix - two questions First is this also required with fix 1, and second - do the red lines on piece two mean you would be folding out 1 inch between the red lines to shorten the piece, or are you cutting 1 inch off each side of the piece?
maybbm said... (9/15/10 9:55 PM) Reply
Hi, Latebloomer. The fabric is from, but it was many years ago that I bought it. I am afraid it won't be available from the same source. Sorry.
latebloomer said... (9/15/10 6:38 AM) Reply
What a great dress. Thank you for detailing the corrections you made. Also, that fabric is beautiful. May I ask where you found it?
Lucy in Virginia said... (9/13/10 1:10 PM) Reply
Lovely dress. I really appreciate the time you took to detail the mistakes in this pattern.
maybbm said... (9/13/10 12:04 PM) Reply
Hi, Marcia. I just edited photos I took with a picture editor. It takes a while to get used to drawing tools, but eventually you will get the hang of it. Good luck!
Marcia R said... (9/13/10 9:54 AM) Reply
I was wondering how you add the red notation lines and arrows. I would like to also be able to do this
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
Online Class
All About Linings
All About Linings

Class Details

Online Class
The Technique of Underlining Garments
The Technique of Underlining Garments

Class Details

Vogue Patterns 1224

by: sewingsill...

Simplicity 7154a

by: lacroise1

Christine Jonson Travel Trio Three

Christine Jonson Travel Trio Three

Pattern Details
Sew Liberated Gathering apron Pattern

Pattern Details