SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Kwik Sew> 3299 (Shirts)

30 more reviews
Viewed 122 times 
Reviewed by:Audrey B.
photo

 
 
About Audrey B.star
TX USA
Member since: 9/3/09
Reviews: 14 (patterns: 14)
Skill level:Advanced Beginner
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/12/10 8:28 PM


See other patterns in this category: Mens - Shirts    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Historical Patterns
Web site

O! Jolly! Shop


Sweater knit fabrics
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Judy Kski said... (1/3/13 1:55 AM) Reply
Using 1/4" Wash Away Wonder Tape by Collins or Dritz will help stabilize the hem while you stitch. When you wash the shirt, it's water soluable so the stabilization "washes away" and you get the stretch of the rib knit back again. Also try using a walking foot when you hem the shirt. This will give you even feeding on both top and bottom. If you happen to have a serger with cover stitch capabilities, that is your best option. You won't get any stretching then. I know it's been a while since you wrote this review, but I just thought I'd add my advice.
Hilary said... (11/16/10 5:25 PM) Reply
Great review! I think the shirt turned out well, and I definitely agree the extra stretching was caused by using the rib knit for the whole shirt. It's wonderful for ribbing at the sleeve and neck, but maybe not the *whole* shirt. But hey, your DH is smiling, and his shirt does look good on him (that's a great color!) and I just wanted to add that I really love the lizards on your wall :D
RLL said... (9/13/10 11:45 AM) Reply
Every knit has it's own personality. I always have to play with the scraps to find what works best for the seams and hems. Most definately stablizing in some way such as fusible knit...even around the neck line. Depending on the knit you could also try wash away wonder tape or steam a seam to fuse. But depending on what you fuse with, you could lose your stretch completely for wearing purposes.....so just play till you find what works.
Diane333 said... (9/13/10 8:41 AM) Reply
I personally find that sewing with rib knits can be frustrating and would recommend using interlock knit and cutting a band the width of your hem out of the fusible knit interfacing (make sure the stretch is the same as your top.
Audrey B. said... (9/12/10 9:05 PM) Reply
I never even thought about fusing. Great suggestion! I will try that next time. Thank you Mary for the tip. :)
mary in FL said... (9/12/10 8:38 PM) Reply
I think the hems will stretch less if you fuse them together first, then not stretch them so much when you sew them. At least he looks happy with it, and that counts for a lot!
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Class Details

Online Class
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Class Details

You Sew Girl 300mm Square Snap PATTERN ONLY Pattern

You Sew Girl 300mm Square Snap PATTERN ONLY Pattern

Pattern Details
You Sew Girl 200mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 200mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

Pattern Details