Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 7519 (knit dresses) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 2413 times 4 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 4 people   
Reviewed by:drsue
photo
About drsuestarstarstarstar
Member since: 11/11/03
Reviews written: 169
Sewing skills:Beginner
Favored by: 184 people
patterns reviewed: 152
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/21/05 6:59 AM
Last Updated:5/31/04 5:15 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
25 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
CarolynGM said...
Beautiful dress, drsue -- very sleek-looking and modern. I like the way you put the two colors together.
5/31/04 5:24 PM
Jennie Pakula said...
Sue, a little bit Dr Crusher but that's not a bad thing. I like it - nice colour combo and an unusual style. Thanks for your thoughtful review.
5/31/04 5:26 PM
GorgeousFabrics said...
I think it looks beautiful - regardless of the century! I love the colors -Ann
5/31/04 5:42 PM
MaryBeth said...
On your dummy it looks Dr Crusher but I'll bet if you redid the photo to show you yourself wearing it you'd get a more accurate assessment. I like it alot.
5/31/04 5:50 PM
AnneM said...
I think I'll vote for 21st century. I know what you mean about those points being tricky; I haven't tried one in a knit but even on a woven they can be a bear. Your dress looks nice.
5/31/04 6:32 PM
pmorris1274 said...
It looks more like a vintage Vogue style pattern. It is almost reminiscent of the 30's 40's era. Beautiful!!! I would sew this dress in a heartbeat. Gorgeous!!!
5/31/04 6:44 PM
aneri_masi said...
I think its a cross between Dr. Crusher and maid Marion. I guess if you could do some embellishment on the bodice, add some beads or embroidery, then it would be more like maid Marion. Lovely colors and beautiful stitching!
5/31/04 7:17 PM
jlg said...
Very pretty dress, Sue. I also like the colors. It looks like it would be very becoming on you.
5/31/04 7:20 PM
candyo said...
Rockin!
5/31/04 11:04 PM
Liana said...
Very pretty, and I think it's the color combo (which I like) that makes him think Star Trek. They're always doing monochromatic color blocking. Why couldn't you wear View A? Isn't it the same but with a collar?
5/31/04 11:49 PM
minieme said...
I have to vote for Star Trek. It's not a bad thing though, I think I'd like to own a Start Trek dress, a very nice one at that.
6/1/04 4:37 AM
Danvillegirl said...
I agree with pmorris that your dress reminds me of the 30' or 40's. No matter the time, it looks great. Very unique design and looks like you did a fabulous job.
6/1/04 5:52 AM
PattyU said...
I absolutely love your dress although it doesn't really remind me of either Star Trek OR Maid Marion. It does look more modern than retro to me, but absolutely fabulous.
6/1/04 6:35 AM
Gigi Louis said...
What a beautiful version of this dress! Definitely more Maid Marion than Dr. Crusher!
6/1/04 6:57 AM
Elaine Penney said...
Oh, to be able to wear such a dress! It's beautiful, regardless of the century. I always appreciate you informative reviews.
6/1/04 7:38 AM
Skymom said...
Really elegant. Actually, this looks sort of like Bonnie Cashin or something to me--so I guess you've managed to hit upon a pretty timeless look, since no one really agrees! The color combination is extremely sophisticated, so banish the Star Trek thought from your head and wear it with pride!
6/1/04 8:53 AM
Doris Stewart said...
I can see Maid Marion and Dr. Crusher but more importantly I see a beautiful dress. Love the style and your colours. Great reveiw.
6/1/04 9:16 AM
drsue said...
Thanks for all the comments, so many of which are making me lol! I'll definetly wear it, mainly to work. It will be interesting if my patients start calling me Dr. Crusher.
6/1/04 9:22 AM
Sew it seams said...
Love it! I'll bet it looks great on you!
6/1/04 9:02 PM
Asa Hagstrom said...
My vote is on counsellor Troi :) I like your dress, and I hope to make it up someday too - it's in my pattern collection.
6/2/04 6:33 AM
marigold said...
such a pretty dress! yours looks better than the one on the front of the pattern! thanks for sharing!
6/2/04 11:12 AM
JDpenelope said...
When I first viewed your photo, I thought, "Wow, another great vintage dress!" Not a fan of Star Trek or anything futuristic or fantastical (I slept through Lord of the Rings), can't comment on the likeness there, but I sure love this dress!
6/5/04 7:47 AM
marigold said...
what a pretty dress! your dress looks much better than the drawing on the front of the pattern. i think i may try it this weekend!
8/2/04 7:50 PM
Pecan said...
I like the look...it looks like it would be forgiving on the lower "fluff" of a person and I always like the way these types of fabrics drape.
11/26/05 12:36 PM
ChristineBR said...
I didn't see the ST angle until you mentioned it. Actually it reminded me of a Vionnet dress until the mention, then I could see it if I squinted. :)
1/17/08 8:48 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Fit the Tee to a T
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Fit the Tee to a T

Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $29.00)
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns

Ottobre Design Magazine 04-2010-25
photo
Review by Ghainskom on 10/23/10
Read Review

Pattern Runway Assymetrical Bow Dress Digital Pattern
Pattern Runway Assymetrical Bow Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $9.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver S Fairy Tale Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 5-12 )
Oliver   S Fairy Tale Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 5-12 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns 8918 Misses' Dress
photo
Review by beanchor on 8/6/13
Read Review

Favorite Things Little Lounge Around Pattern
Favorite Things Little Lounge Around Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Beach Bag Pattern
You Sew Girl Beach Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $22.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5826 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )
Butterick 5826 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jalie 2562 Pattern
Jalie 2562 Pattern

Details
Price: $12.75
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us