SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 7519 (knit dresses)

4 more reviews
Viewed 2414 times 
Reviewed by:drsue
photo

 
 
About drsuestarstarstarstar
Member since: 11/11/03
Reviews written: 169
Sewing skills:Beginner
Favored by: 183 people
patterns reviewed: 152
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/21/05 6:59 AM
Last Updated:5/31/04 5:15 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 4 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
25 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
CarolynGM said...
Beautiful dress, drsue -- very sleek-looking and modern. I like the way you put the two colors together.
5/31/04 5:24 PM
Jennie Pakula said...
Sue, a little bit Dr Crusher but that's not a bad thing. I like it - nice colour combo and an unusual style. Thanks for your thoughtful review.
5/31/04 5:26 PM
GorgeousFabrics said...
I think it looks beautiful - regardless of the century! I love the colors -Ann
5/31/04 5:42 PM
MaryBeth said...
On your dummy it looks Dr Crusher but I'll bet if you redid the photo to show you yourself wearing it you'd get a more accurate assessment. I like it alot.
5/31/04 5:50 PM
AnneM said...
I think I'll vote for 21st century. I know what you mean about those points being tricky; I haven't tried one in a knit but even on a woven they can be a bear. Your dress looks nice.
5/31/04 6:32 PM
pmorris1274 said...
It looks more like a vintage Vogue style pattern. It is almost reminiscent of the 30's 40's era. Beautiful!!! I would sew this dress in a heartbeat. Gorgeous!!!
5/31/04 6:44 PM
aneri_masi said...
I think its a cross between Dr. Crusher and maid Marion. I guess if you could do some embellishment on the bodice, add some beads or embroidery, then it would be more like maid Marion. Lovely colors and beautiful stitching!
5/31/04 7:17 PM
jlg said...
Very pretty dress, Sue. I also like the colors. It looks like it would be very becoming on you.
5/31/04 7:20 PM
candyo said...
Rockin!
5/31/04 11:04 PM
Liana said...
Very pretty, and I think it's the color combo (which I like) that makes him think Star Trek. They're always doing monochromatic color blocking. Why couldn't you wear View A? Isn't it the same but with a collar?
5/31/04 11:49 PM
minieme said...
I have to vote for Star Trek. It's not a bad thing though, I think I'd like to own a Start Trek dress, a very nice one at that.
6/1/04 4:37 AM
Danvillegirl said...
I agree with pmorris that your dress reminds me of the 30' or 40's. No matter the time, it looks great. Very unique design and looks like you did a fabulous job.
6/1/04 5:52 AM
PattyU said...
I absolutely love your dress although it doesn't really remind me of either Star Trek OR Maid Marion. It does look more modern than retro to me, but absolutely fabulous.
6/1/04 6:35 AM
Gigi Louis said...
What a beautiful version of this dress! Definitely more Maid Marion than Dr. Crusher!
6/1/04 6:57 AM
Elaine Penney said...
Oh, to be able to wear such a dress! It's beautiful, regardless of the century. I always appreciate you informative reviews.
6/1/04 7:38 AM
Skymom said...
Really elegant. Actually, this looks sort of like Bonnie Cashin or something to me--so I guess you've managed to hit upon a pretty timeless look, since no one really agrees! The color combination is extremely sophisticated, so banish the Star Trek thought from your head and wear it with pride!
6/1/04 8:53 AM
Doris Stewart said...
I can see Maid Marion and Dr. Crusher but more importantly I see a beautiful dress. Love the style and your colours. Great reveiw.
6/1/04 9:16 AM
drsue said...
Thanks for all the comments, so many of which are making me lol! I'll definetly wear it, mainly to work. It will be interesting if my patients start calling me Dr. Crusher.
6/1/04 9:22 AM
Sew it seams said...
Love it! I'll bet it looks great on you!
6/1/04 9:02 PM
Asa Hagstrom said...
My vote is on counsellor Troi :) I like your dress, and I hope to make it up someday too - it's in my pattern collection.
6/2/04 6:33 AM
marigold said...
such a pretty dress! yours looks better than the one on the front of the pattern! thanks for sharing!
6/2/04 11:12 AM
JDpenelope said...
When I first viewed your photo, I thought, "Wow, another great vintage dress!" Not a fan of Star Trek or anything futuristic or fantastical (I slept through Lord of the Rings), can't comment on the likeness there, but I sure love this dress!
6/5/04 7:47 AM
marigold said...
what a pretty dress! your dress looks much better than the drawing on the front of the pattern. i think i may try it this weekend!
8/2/04 7:50 PM
Pecan said...
I like the look...it looks like it would be forgiving on the lower "fluff" of a person and I always like the way these types of fabrics drape.
11/26/05 12:36 PM
ChristineBR said...
I didn't see the ST angle until you mentioned it. Actually it reminded me of a Vionnet dress until the mention, then I could see it if I squinted. :)
1/17/08 8:48 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

Ottobre Design Magazine 01-2006-21

photo
by: Sandi S

Review
Simplicity 2152

photo
by: sunnysewer

Review
Sew Chic Spin Skirt Pattern (ln1209)

Sew Chic Spin Skirt Pattern (ln1209)

Buy Now
SewBaby Casserole Carrier Pattern

SewBaby Casserole Carrier Pattern

Buy Now