SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 5382 (Pleat Neck Empire Dress)

12 more reviews
Viewed 746 times 
Reviewed by:nicegirl
photo

 
 
About nicegirlstarstarstarstar
DC USA
Member since: 5/10/06
Reviews written: 321
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 313 people
patterns reviewed: 321
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/17/10 10:51 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 11 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
17 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
cmarie12 said...
Trena - I saw your pictures on Flickr and I love how both of these dresses look completely different from each other! I also love your fabric choices!
9/17/10 10:53 AM
sewin said...
Wow, you did an awesome job on matching for the black and pink dress. Turned out really well.
9/17/10 11:18 AM
crazygrad said...
Both are so cool. I do like that pattern better than the Vogue.
9/17/10 11:24 AM
no7262 said...
What a great review! You did awesome job on both dresses!
9/17/10 1:49 PM
RLL said...
I love both versions, and how different they appear due to the exposed zip
9/17/10 1:53 PM
BillieJean said...
What do you mean "belly situation"? You silly girl, you have a lovely shape. Your dresses look great!!
9/17/10 3:47 PM
Mufffet said...
GREAT! Love the dresses - I especially like the black and white one. Are you going to do this in a solid to enhance that bodice design? This would make a very cool little black dress as well...might turn into a TNT pattern for you!
9/17/10 4:07 PM
Grammy Gin said...
Wait until you're almost 70 & you'll know what a "belly situation" IS!!! Great both on both dresses. You are amazing!
9/17/10 4:20 PM
FreyaStark said...
Two smart dresses. The way you have made pattern work on the front of the pink and black version is really impressive.
9/17/10 6:57 PM
Leora said...
Dear goodness, you don't even have a belly! You look great, in both dresses!
9/18/10 2:51 AM
JEF said...
Gorgeous dress and such a great review. Thank you so much for explaining your exposed zipper - I've just been thinking about those so you were very timely! Again, beautiful dresses.
9/18/10 8:30 AM
yummymummy38 said...
Wow, when I saw the cast on your leg, first thing I thought was lucky it's not the sewing pedal foot! Love your choice of prints, especially the cool pink art nouveau one, although both look great
9/18/10 9:31 AM
Q Valley Mary said...
Your two fabric choices are such different prints that it's hard to recognize both dresses as being from the same pattern. I love the way you used the print in your archetectural dress especially.
9/18/10 11:28 AM
Kathy in NM said...
Great use of prints for this dress! They both look good on you. Thanks for the info on fitting, etc.
9/18/10 3:28 PM
sewbehind said...
Trena, I am not sure you can call yourself Slapdash anymore. Love your dresses.
9/19/10 11:03 AM
Kayseri said...
I think both of these are great. The styles and fabrics are very flattering.
9/19/10 8:59 PM
lorrwill said...
DANG! What you did with those prints is nothing short of magical.
10/14/11 5:13 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

Vogue Patterns 1248

photo
by: pegsewer

Review
McCall's 9682

photo
by: amandolin

Review
Islander Sewing Systems Three Pattern Collection Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Three Pattern Collection Pattern

Buy Now
You Sew Girl SEWING CLASS 1 - Shopping Bag Pattern

You Sew Girl SEWING CLASS 1 - Shopping Bag Pattern

Buy Now