SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 4789-Twist dress (Butterick)

6 more reviews
Viewed 592 times 
Reviewed by:Mazzygirl
photo

 
 
About Mazzygirlstarstarstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 4/28/10
Reviews written: 124
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 38 people
patterns reviewed: 124
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/26/10 8:38 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 9 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
17 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
crazygrad said...
Both are very pretty- love your fabrics!
9/26/10 9:58 AM
imsewcrazy said...
Two beautiful dresses! Love the fabrics! I like the flare skirt that you added to the dress.
9/26/10 10:08 AM
Aroura said...
These look great, I especially like the dark one. Very lovely, both!
9/26/10 10:52 AM
AuntieShel said...
Ooh, I love these dresses. I must pull this pattern out and make it up-yours are so inspiring. How is the bust coverage, ie, how low is the V?
9/26/10 11:00 AM
BJ1400 said...
Both dresses are very nice. I like the light one best.
9/26/10 1:10 PM
Mushywear said...
Such pretty dresses. The floral prints are both so nice. Twist fronts are really flattering and you worked out the fit beautifully!
9/26/10 2:15 PM
marec said...
I love both versions. Really pretty fabrics.
9/26/10 2:16 PM
AnitaJJ said...
Very beautiful dresses. I love both prints (and the top too). Nice job.
9/26/10 2:54 PM
milwaukee_kelly said...
Great dresses!
9/26/10 3:25 PM
1SewSweet said...
Beautiful dresses! I absolutely love twist tops!!
9/26/10 3:46 PM
Mazzygirl said...
AuntieShel, the bust coverage is great. I'm a C cup & didn't need to do a FBA, just needed to lower that seam. (On an A or B cup the original seam would be in the right place) The V-neck is not low either, & the way they shaped the neckline there is actually more fabric there than on most twist tops, which gives it a nice sweetheart sort of look & more coverage.... The last photo showing off the new improved underbust seam shows you what I mean.
9/26/10 4:34 PM
margk said...
Very lovely dresses - both of them. This is a great design to use that large print - well done.
9/26/10 5:57 PM
JEH said...
They both look great. I especially like the light print. Really good choice for the dress style.
9/26/10 6:20 PM
Schnauzer said...
Very pretty dresses.
9/26/10 9:28 PM
sewbehind said...
Both dresses are beautiful. Thanks for the tip on the underbust seam for a fuller bust.
9/27/10 11:58 AM
JETrinity said...
You did a great job on the twist top which is completely closed. So many of these twist tops are not.
10/8/10 4:46 PM
caper81 said...
Very lovely dresses! This will be my next project :)
6/4/12 3:22 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns

Register

Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

You Sew Girl Panel Bag

You Sew Girl Panel Bag

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Nikko Jacket Pattern

Sewing Workshop Nikko Jacket Pattern

Buy Now
Other City Dress

photo
by: froggiegir...

Review