SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 2899 (Guy Laroche Dress)

11 more reviews
Viewed 2425 times 
Reviewed by:Erica B.
photo

 
 
About Erica B.starstarstarstar
AL
Member since: 6/6/06
Reviews written: 161
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 417 people
patterns reviewed: 161
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/26/10 3:40 PM
Last Updated:10/12/10 5:49 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 18 people   
See other patterns in this category: Formalwear    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
75 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Monica Ann said...
You look AMAZING!!!! I love all the looks you created and ideas just from this one pattern. Of course your hubby likes it - who wouldn't?
10/29/10 10:59 AM
Mufffet said...
Absolutely awesomely fitted - this is what 40 should always look like and you look great!!! What a lovely dress!
10/28/10 4:21 PM
ctirish said...
Wow, gorgeous. You have an excellent eye for knowing the cut and shape that work for you. And then to create it with such precision - professional finish..
10/24/10 8:28 PM
JillyBe said...
Fantastic job on a beautiful dress!
10/22/10 2:22 PM
rebija said...
Superb!
10/20/10 10:53 PM
Mahler said...
More then beautiful !!!!!!!!!
10/20/10 1:37 PM
Erica B. said...
Thanks a lot ladies!
10/19/10 10:52 PM
CarolynGM said...
Wow! Such glamour and class! I love all three looks. Kudos to your photographer.
10/19/10 11:22 AM
AnneM said...
Excellent dress, excellent style. This is a classic LBD: flexible yet statement making, and definitely not boring. It came out great also. I expect you just increased sales of that pattern.
10/18/10 7:49 PM
4u2cme said...
Great looking dress!!
10/16/10 5:31 PM
UmaPreve said...
This is such a gorgeous dress! Very very beautiful!
10/16/10 4:18 AM
cloudyhn said...
Gorgeous that's all I can say
10/14/10 8:20 PM
AnitaJJ said...
simply stunning!!
10/14/10 5:48 PM
Erica B. said...
Thanks Ladies!
10/14/10 3:04 PM
Scheryka said...
Absolutely stunning. I saw when you posted at first and was wondering why you weren't going to enter the LBD contest. I went out to find this pattern but couldn't. I might have to order offline. Great job and happy belated Birthday.
10/14/10 10:55 AM
mz.choize said...
Wow, this is gorgeous, I love the whole ensemble! Oh, and welcome to the 20/20 club lady!!
10/13/10 11:57 PM
annie11 said...
Erica, you are my hero:) Keep on inspiring us!
10/13/10 11:23 AM
Nancy K said...
It's pretty spectacular. YOu look wonderful in it and the versatility is really unexpected.
10/13/10 9:51 AM
Paris75008 said...
Wow! Absolutely gorgeous. I just love the daytime look. Really well put together and really well sewn. Belated happy 40th
10/13/10 9:26 AM
Catbird said...
I thought I had commented on this incredible dress the first time around, but I see that I slipped up, so I'm glad to get a second chance. Holy mackerel, Erica, this is off the charts. Amazingly gorgeous and perfectly suited to you. Look #3 kills me. I love it!
10/13/10 9:23 AM
velosewer said...
Nice work. It looks amazing.
10/13/10 7:07 AM
Sarsez said...
Your review nearly brought me to tears! Firstly because you have done a fabulous job on what is a fabulous dress and secondly because I too attempted to make this for my 40th birthday this August but it ended in a zipper snafu. Must finish it off...
10/13/10 6:19 AM
Mazzygirl said...
glad you listened to your many supporters & entered the competition - good luck! LOOOOOOOVE that orange fringed bag too BTW... As always, very glamourous, I swear you could wear a hessian sack & make it look classy! Love all your different looks - fantastic!
10/13/10 6:02 AM
dingyadi said...
What a STUNNING dress! You look fabulous in it. You always make the most gorgeous dresses, but this one is particularly stupendous!
10/12/10 11:46 PM
sewtime said...
Beautiful!!! Great looks!!
10/12/10 8:59 PM
Paris75008 said...
Simply superb. Love the daytime look, brilliant transformation!
10/12/10 7:08 PM
Ruth Designs said...
Very nice dress and it looks good on you!
10/11/10 11:48 PM
JETrinity said...
You look so super star in this dress. Happy 40th.
10/8/10 4:51 PM
Ruth Designs said...
Very nice dress, and it looks lovely on you.
9/30/10 8:20 PM
gabrielle said...
I'm late to the party, but I want to with you a belated happy birthday, and point out that clicking on that photo of you in that dress is *not* what I should've done while wearing sweats! Beautiful, glamorous dress; it suits you perfectly.
9/29/10 9:08 AM
DorothyK said...
Absolutely stunning. What a glamorous look for your 40th birthday. Well done!
9/28/10 9:53 AM
Ciclista said...
Girl - you so rock the house!! You look very elegant and stunning. Happy Birthday!
9/28/10 9:32 AM
Annette1 said...
BEAUTIFUL dress, an HAPPY 40TH!
9/28/10 0:47 AM
ChristineX said...
Gorgeous!!
9/28/10 0:43 AM
Erica B. said...
Mazzygirl, I'll play around with it and see how it looks! LOL
9/27/10 7:23 PM
Rhoda K said...
Wow and ditto all the above is about all I can say. You got your knockout dress and glad you had a great 40th!
9/27/10 7:22 PM
missyyz said...
OMG. Love this dress on you. My 50th birthday is 10 days away, and I'm inclined to try this pattern ! Great work. Super stylish.
9/27/10 7:20 PM
Mazzygirl said...
Erica, are you kidding? a change of accessories & bam, it's a daytime dress! (I see it with brown leather strappy shoes, chunky bangles etc) Enter it, its perfect!
9/27/10 7:01 PM
Erica B. said...
Thanks ReginaLit! I didn't think this dress was applicable for the LBD contest. I don't see how this dress could possibly be worn for a daytime look as well.
9/27/10 6:02 PM
ReginaLit said...
Happy B-day!!! You look fabulous! Did you consider entering this in the LBD contest? With a nice jacket or knit cardigan the same as the knit used it could work for a day look.
9/27/10 5:34 PM
valgal said...
Simply gorgeous.
9/27/10 5:06 PM
Linda S said...
Really nice dress Erica.
9/27/10 12:57 PM
GinormicaMG said...
Happy Birthday and welcome to the fabulous at 40 club. As usual you did an awesome job. Thanks for keeping me motivated.
9/27/10 12:54 PM
Kat B. said...
You look fabulous in this dress! I love it! Now I am going to have to copy it, lol.
9/27/10 11:38 AM
Auntie Allyn said...
There is just nothing left to say but . . . magnificent!!! You rock that dress like no one else could! I may have to pick up this pattern myself (but I know I wouldn't wear it as well as you do).
9/27/10 10:58 AM
marec said...
What a beautiful dress on a beautiful woman. Happy Birthday!
9/27/10 10:08 AM
Karine said...
This is an amazing dress. I can understand why your husband likes it so much - you look stunning in it! The gathering at the neck into the collar piece is really unusual and a beautiful design.
9/27/10 9:33 AM
Fran G said...
Totally outdone yourself on this one! G-O-R-G-E-O-U-S!
9/27/10 8:49 AM
Erica B. said...
Thanks... especially for the birthday wishes. I had a great time!
9/27/10 8:14 AM
becca a said...
Stunning dress! Happy birthday.
9/27/10 7:17 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Gorgeous dress!
9/27/10 5:32 AM
Aixoise said...
Perfect dress for a milestone birthday. You keep getting better!
9/26/10 11:18 PM
thirteenstitches said...
That is a VERY SEXY dress and you wear it well!!! ; )
9/26/10 10:52 PM
Renren said...
Beautiful and perfect in every way! Happy b-day!
9/26/10 10:44 PM
pammieh said...
Erika - as usual it's really stunning!
9/26/10 10:42 PM
booran said...
You look absolutely stunning in that dress - what a fantastic dress - Happy 40th Birthday
9/26/10 10:35 PM
Sic said...
Another gorgeous creation! The fit is impeccable!
9/26/10 10:28 PM
carolynw said...
Gorgeous dress and beautiful you!! No wonder hubby loved this outfit!!
9/26/10 9:23 PM
Mermie said...
You look gorgeous. I love that dress. You do beautiful work.
9/26/10 9:18 PM
harmony758 said...
This is stunning! Well done!
9/26/10 9:11 PM
Wino said...
Gorgeous dress! You look fantastic. Don't remember this pattern at all-very unique.
9/26/10 9:08 PM
sewtime said...
This is a "wow" dress, you look amazing!!
9/26/10 8:51 PM
Rhonda in Montreal said...
WOW!!! WOW!!! Goooo 40's!! Smart Husband, too ;)
9/26/10 7:41 PM
AuntieShel said...
Whoa!!! You are stunning in that gorgeous dress!!
9/26/10 7:35 PM
janet said...
VAVAVOOOM!!! You look fantastic in your gorgeous dress. I am in total awe of your great body and unbelievable sewing skills. Happy 40th and may there be many, many more.
9/26/10 7:29 PM
Nancy Rhodes said...
May I add, Happy Birthday! enjoy your special day... easy to see why your dh loves this dress.. you look fab and 40 must truly be the new 20!
9/26/10 7:09 PM
Sweetiebop said...
Fabulous just absolutely fabulous.
9/26/10 6:52 PM
pittysmom101 said...
Beautiful!!! Wow, that is the caliber of sewing I ASPIRE to...I agree, you don't look anywhere near a 16 in this dress. Very chic, now I'm off to read the blog....Hope it was a Happy Birthday!
9/26/10 5:54 PM
Nancywin said...
very sexy - beautiful dress
9/26/10 5:52 PM
mhk3boys said...
Very beautiful! Your sewing and the fit make it look so awesome!
9/26/10 5:40 PM
drsue said...
Fabulous!
9/26/10 5:33 PM
RadarRadiance said...
Just beautiful, you and the dress! OH...Happy 40th!
9/26/10 4:57 PM
rivergum said...
Fabulous dress! But size 16? I can't believe it, you look fantastic, way better than the model. No wonder your husband loves it.
9/26/10 4:37 PM
Mazzygirl said...
Oh Erica, that is gorgeous! & it really looks fantastic on you too - Beautiful dress, I love every bit of it!
9/26/10 4:19 PM
CBrushNew2Sewing said...
You look AMAZING in this dress! This dress is so stunning. What a success. The photos on your blog are great - I liked seeing the stages of construction.
9/26/10 4:15 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

Decades of Style 5006

photo
by: JetSetSewi...

Review
Self Drafted Pattern 218360-1001

photo
by: QuikSew

Review
SewBaby Fleece-Easy Hats Pattern

SewBaby Fleece-Easy Hats Pattern

Buy Now
Favorite Things Little Belle Skirts Pattern

Favorite Things Little Belle Skirts Pattern

Buy Now