SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fabulous Fit
Fabulous Fit

Pattern Reviews> Kayla Kennington> 425 (Cross Over Top)

2 more reviews
Viewed 351 times 
Reviewed by:janlynn
photo

 
 
About janlynn
ON CANADA
Member since: 1/1/08
Reviews: 13 (patterns: 12)
Skill level:Advanced
Favored by: 2 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/14/10 11:39 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 10 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Amulet Swim Fabrics


Poly/PBT swimwear fabric
Web site

Vesta Patterns


vestapatterns.com
Web site

Paganoonoo


Upcycle sewing patterns
Web site

<< Previous      Next >>
6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Batik said... (10/15/10 10:41 PM) Reply
Oh my, this is so smart and stylish on you. Wonderful fabric choice: makes the garment.
carolynw said... (10/15/10 2:55 PM) Reply
It may have been difficult but the end result is really beautiful - I have been eyeing that fabric too at my fave fabric store in Whitby
susiestitcher said... (10/15/10 9:04 AM) Reply
I am in love with your fabric, too! Gorgeous. The top looks wonderful.
Catherine Goetz said... (10/15/10 7:45 AM) Reply
I love the extra beading detail that you added. Accurate cutting and sewing is a must for Kayla's garments. I hadn't though of using my walking foot but that is a good idea. What I like to do is start my seaming (multi-stitch zigzag) at the shoulder for example, and then I take the two end pieces in hand to ensure they meet and try to keep them taught to ensure that both seam edges stitch evenly. It's tricky as you say because of the bias edges and you don't want to stretch the seams too much. I save hemming the bottom of the garment to the last and serge (roll hem) it to deal with any unevenness. I'm glad you persevered as it looks great.
Elona said... (10/15/10 0:24 AM) Reply
I think you've made a stunner! And you've certainly given us all excellent information if we should decide to make this top (or probably any other of Kayla's striking designs). Congratulations on a beautiful top.
FreyaStark said... (10/15/10 0:02 AM) Reply
A really distinctive garment. I think you'll like wearing it now it's finished! Thanks for a useful review.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Class Details

Online Class
Understanding Wool Fabrics
Understanding Wool Fabrics

Class Details

New Look 6095

photo
by: Jstarr4250

Review
Sewn Square One Triple Play Top Pattern

Sewn Square One Triple Play Top Pattern

Pattern Details
You Sew Girl Tulip Dress Pattern

You Sew Girl Tulip Dress Pattern

Pattern Details