SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Bernina
Bernina

Pattern Reviews> Laughing Moon Mercantile> 103 (1890's Waist (Blouse))

Viewed 310 times 
Reviewed by:sewdef
photo

 
 
About sewdefstar
GA United States
Member since: 10/20/07
Reviews: 21 (patterns: 21)
Body Type:
Skill level:Intermediate
Favored by: 2 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/8/10 10:07 PM
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 7 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Web site

<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment    
ClaireEmily said... (10/9/10 5:10 PM) Reply
What a beautiful blouse! The pink stripes are really zesty =)
newmama said... (10/9/10 2:00 PM) Reply
I LOVE the fabric, and the costume is so charming!
marec said... (10/9/10 9:58 AM) Reply
What an interesting review! I love the cotton candy color and the stripes of this costume-it's sure to be seen from the audience. I enjoyed clicking through your set of photos also.
susiestitcher said... (10/9/10 8:57 AM) Reply
What a great period outfit! The actress looks wonderful. I do tend to agree with arianamaniac about constructing costumes that can be more easily altered -- but that is really only if you know the costume is a keeper and will be added to the permanent costume wardrobe for future use. In those cases, flat lining can be a helpful process. Obviously, though, each case is different. You sure have a fun job! I love costuming, too!
sewdef said... (10/9/10 8:48 AM) Reply
arianamaniacs, for a costume that might be used by more than one person over time, flatlining would definitely serve better. My costumes tend to be meant for one person and if they get used again it's fairly incidental - given that, and given that I'd prefer it not be messy looking inside, I'd build the lining and fit that, and then build the outer garment off that.
arianamaniacs said... (10/9/10 4:28 AM) Reply
I love historical costumes. For the theater aspect, isn't it better to flat-line it so it can be more easily adjusted? Nice job!
renren said... (10/9/10 1:07 AM) Reply
Great video! Thanks for taking the time to cover the hook and eye tape and explaining about flat lining.
RockNRoll said... (10/8/10 11:19 PM) Reply
its adorable!!
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Class Details

Online Class
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Class Details

Simplicity 1819

photo
by: BrendaJoyc...

Review
Christine Jonson Taper Pant & Wide Leg Pant

Christine Jonson Taper Pant & Wide Leg Pant

Pattern Details
Pamela's Patterns Pretty Peplum Top Pattern

Pamela's Patterns Pretty Peplum Top Pattern

Pattern Details