SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Laughing Moon Mercantile> 103 (1890's Waist (Blouse))

Viewed 289 times 
Reviewed by:Nikki S.
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Nikki S.star
GA USA
Member since: 10/20/07
Reviews written: 19
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 19
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/8/10 10:07 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 7 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
ClaireEmily said...
What a beautiful blouse! The pink stripes are really zesty =)
10/9/10 5:10 PM
newmama said...
I LOVE the fabric, and the costume is so charming!
10/9/10 2:00 PM
marec said...
What an interesting review! I love the cotton candy color and the stripes of this costume-it's sure to be seen from the audience. I enjoyed clicking through your set of photos also.
10/9/10 9:58 AM
susiestitcher said...
What a great period outfit! The actress looks wonderful. I do tend to agree with arianamaniac about constructing costumes that can be more easily altered -- but that is really only if you know the costume is a keeper and will be added to the permanent costume wardrobe for future use. In those cases, flat lining can be a helpful process. Obviously, though, each case is different. You sure have a fun job! I love costuming, too!
10/9/10 8:57 AM
Nikki S. said...
arianamaniacs, for a costume that might be used by more than one person over time, flatlining would definitely serve better. My costumes tend to be meant for one person and if they get used again it's fairly incidental - given that, and given that I'd prefer it not be messy looking inside, I'd build the lining and fit that, and then build the outer garment off that.
10/9/10 8:48 AM
arianamaniacs said...
I love historical costumes. For the theater aspect, isn't it better to flat-line it so it can be more easily adjusted? Nice job!
10/9/10 4:28 AM
Renren said...
Great video! Thanks for taking the time to cover the hook and eye tape and explaining about flat lining.
10/9/10 1:07 AM
RockNRoll said...
its adorable!!
10/8/10 11:19 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

Vogue Patterns 8181

photo
by: velosewer

Review
Diana Magazine 71,31L

photo
by: Quickie

Review
Paradiso Designs Okashi Courier Bag Pattern

Paradiso Designs Okashi Courier Bag Pattern

Buy Now
Petite Plus V202 VHS

Petite Plus V202 VHS

Buy Now