SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> LJ Designs> 717 (Ultimate broomstick skirt)

Viewed 1390 times 
Reviewed by:CindyK
photo

 
 
About CindyKstar
NY USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 9
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 3 people
patterns reviewed: 7
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/13/04 6:21 PM
Last Updated:6/13/04 6:22 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 2 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
4 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
MomMom said...
I found this posting to be very helpful...but I've never heard of the pattern company (LJ Designs). It's put me on a new mission...to find LJ Designs!
10/15/06 8:28 PM
SewTabby said...
Your fabric is gorgeous. I like the shape of this skirt much better than that of the usual RTW broomsticks that you see. Thanks for the review!
6/14/04 5:38 PM
sewywabbit said...
Very cool fabric. I used to make Broomstick skirts all the time, but not on a broomstick. I used to scrunch it up while wet and tie it with rag strips at 2-3"intervals, throwing it in the dryer with almost every load for a few days or so.Most of my skirts were cotton. I have seen people do it by pulling the skirt through a cut off pantyhose leg, but it doesnt really get crinkly enough that way.
6/13/04 10:05 PM
drsue said...
So that's why they're called broomstick skirts! I thought it was because the pleats looked kind of like the straw in a broomstick.
6/13/04 9:08 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

Japanese Pattern Books Stylish Dress Book

photo
by: ajhewing

Review
Paradiso Designs Retro Granny Skirt Formula Pattern

Paradiso Designs Retro Granny Skirt Formula Pattern

Buy Now
Islander Sewing Systems The Ultimate Kinsale Cloak Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems The Ultimate Kinsale Cloak Pattern

Buy Now