Online Sewing Class: The Contemporary Couture Jacket
SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> LJ Designs> 717 (Ultimate broomstick skirt)

Viewed 1391 times 
Reviewed by:CindyK
photo

 
 
About CindyKstar
NY USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews: 9 (patterns: 7)
Skill level:Intermediate
Favored by: 3 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/13/04 6:21 PM
Last Updated:6/13/04 6:22 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 2 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
4 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
MomMom said... (10/15/06 8:28 PM) Reply
I found this posting to be very helpful...but I've never heard of the pattern company (LJ Designs). It's put me on a new mission...to find LJ Designs!
SewTabby said... (6/14/04 5:38 PM) Reply
Your fabric is gorgeous. I like the shape of this skirt much better than that of the usual RTW broomsticks that you see. Thanks for the review!
sewywabbit said... (6/13/04 10:05 PM) Reply
Very cool fabric. I used to make Broomstick skirts all the time, but not on a broomstick. I used to scrunch it up while wet and tie it with rag strips at 2-3"intervals, throwing it in the dryer with almost every load for a few days or so.Most of my skirts were cotton. I have seen people do it by pulling the skirt through a cut off pantyhose leg, but it doesnt really get crinkly enough that way.
drsue said... (6/13/04 9:08 PM) Reply
So that's why they're called broomstick skirts! I thought it was because the pleats looked kind of like the straw in a broomstick.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
All About Buttons and Buttonholes
All About Buttons and Buttonholes

Class Details

Online Class
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Class Details

McCall's 6571

photo
by: dmsmith05

Review
McCall's 6604

photo
by: mnitts

Review
You Sew Girl 100mm Shell Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 100mm Shell Purse Pattern

Pattern Details
Sew Liberated Gathering apron Pattern

Pattern Details