SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> LJ Designs> 717 (Ultimate broomstick skirt)

Viewed 1392 times 
Reviewed by:CindyK
photo

 
 
About CindyKstar
NY USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews: 9 (patterns: 7)
Skill level:Intermediate
Favored by: 3 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/13/04 6:21 PM
Last Updated:6/13/04 6:22 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 2 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
4 Comments      Login to Add a Comment    
MomMom said... (10/15/06 8:28 PM) Reply
I found this posting to be very helpful...but I've never heard of the pattern company (LJ Designs). It's put me on a new mission...to find LJ Designs!
SewTabby said... (6/14/04 5:38 PM) Reply
Your fabric is gorgeous. I like the shape of this skirt much better than that of the usual RTW broomsticks that you see. Thanks for the review!
sewywabbit said... (6/13/04 10:05 PM) Reply
Very cool fabric. I used to make Broomstick skirts all the time, but not on a broomstick. I used to scrunch it up while wet and tie it with rag strips at 2-3"intervals, throwing it in the dryer with almost every load for a few days or so.Most of my skirts were cotton. I have seen people do it by pulling the skirt through a cut off pantyhose leg, but it doesnt really get crinkly enough that way.
drsue said... (6/13/04 9:08 PM) Reply
So that's why they're called broomstick skirts! I thought it was because the pleats looked kind of like the straw in a broomstick.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Class Details

Online Class
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Class Details

Petite Plus 204 Pattern

Petite Plus 204 Pattern

Pattern Details
Islander Sewing Systems Men's City Western Shirt Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Men's City Western Shirt Pattern

Pattern Details
McCall's 4644

photo
by: beanchor

Review