SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Burda> 8361 

11 more reviews
Viewed 2317 times 
Reviewed by:Deepika
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Deepikastarstarstarstar
MA United States
Member since: 11/28/01
Reviews written: 352
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 287 people
patterns reviewed: 252
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/13/04 9:12 PM
Last Updated:6/14/04 7:16 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 3 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
KMangum said...
The layered-look is in in in with the fashion forward right now. Your v-neck over cami look is right there.
6/13/04 9:17 PM
Amanda L said...
Vavavoom! I love what you did with this fabric! I too am seeing layers everywhere so the cami idea is totally '04.
6/13/04 9:21 PM
SandraB said...
Your top looks great Deepika. The cami looks good with it too. In fact, with all the colours in the fabric, you can use different colours for your camisole with this top.
6/13/04 9:27 PM
gabrielle said...
Pretty shirt, I was just looking at this in the catalog! Neat to see it made up, and it looks great with the cami.
6/13/04 9:35 PM
drsue said...
very nice top! Layering of tops is very in here in California. Love the fabric. I'm going to be in NYC for a few days this summer with DD and I MUST go to spandex house.
6/13/04 9:36 PM
cynthia w said...
love this fabric. what a beautiful shirt it turned out to be! oh, and to hide the "whiskers" on fabric when doing a rolled edge, just use water soluable stabilizer. i keep a batch on hand cut into 1" strips just for this sort of thing. could you elaborate more on the neckline stabilizing with elastic? do you sew the elastic to the right side to the fabric, then turn the seam allowance over and topstitch? or do you sew the elastic to the wrong side?
6/13/04 10:02 PM
Teri said...
The cami and top look great together! And, the layered look has even made it to Idaho:)
6/13/04 10:06 PM
cynthia w said...
love this fabric. what a beautiful shirt it turned out to be! oh, and to hide the "whiskers" on fabric when doing a rolled edge, just use water soluable stabilizer. i keep a batch on hand cut into 1" strips just for this sort of thing.
6/13/04 10:06 PM
PVA said...
Thanks for the review, Deepika. I have DGD's who would love this shirt! The cami under looks Waaaay Coooool! I wonderful colors in the fabric, and the cami in different colors for different looks is a great idea! (Love the sleeves!)
6/13/04 10:42 PM
Lori V said...
Deepika, love the top and the cami under. My 17 yo dd wears camisoles under many tops. Thanks for the great review.
6/13/04 10:51 PM
Katharine in BXL said...
Glad to see you're back with a review! :) The cami picks up the gray in the print. They look good together. Your top does look a lot like the pattern photo! Fine work.
6/14/04 0:22 AM
jlg said...
This is a great style for you. Very pretty top.
6/14/04 5:12 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Very pretty top and looks good on you.
6/14/04 5:46 AM
Lisette said...
I love your version, I made mine in buttermilk and plan to make one in something sheer for the layered look
6/14/04 6:37 AM
Deepika said...
Thanks everyone for such nice comments. For a moment I thought that was a wadder, but after reading your comments, I am encouraged to try another one of these! Sandra thats a great tip on using different colored camis for this top. I am dying to make a red cami now. Cynthia I've written a tip on how to stabilize with clear elastic and added it to my review. Hope this helps.
6/14/04 7:04 AM
Lorna C. Newman said...
Deepika, had you not mentioned you were wearing a cami, I would not have know the difference as I had not looked at the pattern photo! I thought it was a fooler type top ... really nice effect!
6/14/04 7:00 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

Jalie 2796

photo
by: squirrelly...

Review

Pattern

McCall's 2401

photo
by: carolinasc...

Review

Pattern

Favorite Things Prairie Girl Pattern

Favorite Things Prairie Girl Pattern

Buy Now
Islander Sewing Systems Men's Easy Shirt Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Men's Easy Shirt Pattern

Buy Now