Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Burda: 8361 thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 2314 times 11 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 3 people   
Reviewed by:Deepika
photo
Friend of PR
About Deepikastarstarstarstar
MA USA
Member since: 11/28/01
Reviews written: 337
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 283 people
patterns reviewed: 238
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/13/04 9:12 PM
Last Updated:6/14/04 7:16 AM


See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
KMangum said...
The layered-look is in in in with the fashion forward right now. Your v-neck over cami look is right there.
6/13/04 9:17 PM
Amanda L said...
Vavavoom! I love what you did with this fabric! I too am seeing layers everywhere so the cami idea is totally '04.
6/13/04 9:21 PM
SandraB said...
Your top looks great Deepika. The cami looks good with it too. In fact, with all the colours in the fabric, you can use different colours for your camisole with this top.
6/13/04 9:27 PM
gabrielle said...
Pretty shirt, I was just looking at this in the catalog! Neat to see it made up, and it looks great with the cami.
6/13/04 9:35 PM
drsue said...
very nice top! Layering of tops is very in here in California. Love the fabric. I'm going to be in NYC for a few days this summer with DD and I MUST go to spandex house.
6/13/04 9:36 PM
cynthia w said...
love this fabric. what a beautiful shirt it turned out to be! oh, and to hide the "whiskers" on fabric when doing a rolled edge, just use water soluable stabilizer. i keep a batch on hand cut into 1" strips just for this sort of thing. could you elaborate more on the neckline stabilizing with elastic? do you sew the elastic to the right side to the fabric, then turn the seam allowance over and topstitch? or do you sew the elastic to the wrong side?
6/13/04 10:02 PM
Teri said...
The cami and top look great together! And, the layered look has even made it to Idaho:)
6/13/04 10:06 PM
cynthia w said...
love this fabric. what a beautiful shirt it turned out to be! oh, and to hide the "whiskers" on fabric when doing a rolled edge, just use water soluable stabilizer. i keep a batch on hand cut into 1" strips just for this sort of thing.
6/13/04 10:06 PM
PVA said...
Thanks for the review, Deepika. I have DGD's who would love this shirt! The cami under looks Waaaay Coooool! I wonderful colors in the fabric, and the cami in different colors for different looks is a great idea! (Love the sleeves!)
6/13/04 10:42 PM
Lori V said...
Deepika, love the top and the cami under. My 17 yo dd wears camisoles under many tops. Thanks for the great review.
6/13/04 10:51 PM
Katharine in BXL said...
Glad to see you're back with a review! :) The cami picks up the gray in the print. They look good together. Your top does look a lot like the pattern photo! Fine work.
6/14/04 0:22 AM
jlg said...
This is a great style for you. Very pretty top.
6/14/04 5:12 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Very pretty top and looks good on you.
6/14/04 5:46 AM
Lisette said...
I love your version, I made mine in buttermilk and plan to make one in something sheer for the layered look
6/14/04 6:37 AM
Deepika said...
Thanks everyone for such nice comments. For a moment I thought that was a wadder, but after reading your comments, I am encouraged to try another one of these! Sandra thats a great tip on using different colored camis for this top. I am dying to make a red cami now. Cynthia I've written a tip on how to stabilize with clear elastic and added it to my review. Hope this helps.
6/14/04 7:04 AM
Lorna C. Newman said...
Deepika, had you not mentioned you were wearing a cami, I would not have know the difference as I had not looked at the pattern photo! I thought it was a fooler type top ... really nice effect!
6/14/04 7:00 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Vogue Patterns 8603 MISSES' SKIRT
photo
Review by katski on 3/31/13
Read Review

Blank Slate Quilted Camera Bag Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Quilted Camera Bag Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Alex & Anna Summer PJs Digital Pattern ( Size 6 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Alex & Anna Summer PJs Digital Pattern ( Size 6 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jalie 2919
photo
Review by Nan Kay on 2/7/11
Read Review

SewBaby Wonder Jacket Pattern
SewBaby Wonder Jacket Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Nikko Jacket Pattern
Sewing Workshop Nikko Jacket Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 5841 Pattern ( Size 6-7-8 )
McCalls 5841 Pattern ( Size 6-7-8 )

Details
Price: $11.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1922 Pattern ( Size 1/2-1-2-3-4 )
Simplicity 1922 Pattern ( Size 1/2-1-2-3-4 )

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us