SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Kwik Sew> 2539 (denim shirt)

1 more reviews
Viewed 981 times 
Reviewed by:Annette1
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Annette1starstarstarstar
Member since: 3/5/04
Reviews written: 152
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 202 people
patterns reviewed: 148
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/7/10 5:41 PM
Last Updated:11/26/10 4:39 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 31 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
55 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
BillieJean said...
This is just sooo pretty and so are you. We have been praying for you. I love your reviews, by the way.
11/7/10 5:52 PM
RadarRadiance said...
Love the detail and especially the sleeves. Kwik Sew are the best! Great look to your choice of fabric and pattern. You are a very talented lady! Thank you for the great review.
11/7/10 5:53 PM
Restart06 said...
Awesome jacket!!!
11/7/10 5:53 PM
Terri A said...
Very pretty! You look great with or without makeup.
11/7/10 6:13 PM
Karendee said...
What a touching post to include in your excellent review. This has indeed been a super rough year for you and your family, as and always, you have overcome the adversity. Congratulations on your special cancer free year and such glorious jacket for your party, performance and review. As usual, I now want to find this pattern; somehow, I think finding the pattern aids me in making quality garments like the Jacket Queen--LOL. I love all the excellent details shown in this top and think it such a dressy "western look."
11/7/10 6:22 PM
AnneMarie60 said...
Annette, you are a hoot! I was teary-eyed when I read the last paragraph of your review. I am so proud for you! Glad to hear you enjoyed the celebration! Happy "everything" to you and Bailey! Your top is gorgeous! Love the fabric. I know what you mean about sewing seams to leave too much room. I do that. You achieved a perfect fit! Love the way you faced the collar with the "other right side" of that rich fabric. Excellent review!
11/7/10 6:23 PM
Christas said...
Where's the "VERY, VERY, VERY, HELPFUL" button? I am always amazed at the way you can pair the perfect fabric with the perfect pattern. This jacket is GORGEOUSIMO! You definitely know how to make clothes for us to drool over! When I grow up I want to sew like you do! It was so hard to watch you go through the awful trial of this past year. I think your wonderful sense of humor helped immensely, along with all the prayers. Thank goodness it's all over with.
11/7/10 6:56 PM
Mermie said...
Gorgeous shirt Annette. I am so happy you are finished with your very bad year. Wishing the best for you and your husband. Happy Birthday, Anniversary and No MO Chemo!
11/7/10 7:18 PM
Kim12469 said...
It looks beautiful on you! What a gorgeous color and style.
11/7/10 7:32 PM
annie11 said...
You look so good in this color! I am so happy to hear that you are through your chemo and doing great. Congratulations on your anniversary too!
11/7/10 7:37 PM
Catbird said...
Whoa Nellie! This is gorgeous and perfect for your celebration of life with Bailey and your friends. I love the way you used the underside of the fabric for a little sparkly hit here and there. Your all-night sewing marathons amaze me, especially when you turn out beautiful, detailed work like this! Congratulations on not just surviving but rising above all that you were faced with this past year.
11/7/10 7:45 PM
ryansmumAria said...
wow! fabulous beyond comprehension, I say.
11/7/10 8:17 PM
marec said...
I love this shirt/jacket on you...the color, the bit of glitz, and the styling are so "Annette". What a pleasure to see your review and know that it arose from your continued good health. You did an absolutely beautiful job on this and you are beautiful in it.
11/7/10 8:31 PM
mhk3boys said...
Your shirt and your reviews are awesome!
11/7/10 8:31 PM
Jennifer shaw said...
Wow- this is so gorgeous and is inspirational!! Thanks for another wonderful and detailed review.
11/7/10 9:41 PM
cloudyhn said...
Very nice and fit you well :)
11/7/10 10:34 PM
DaisyEsq said...
The color of your top is amazing! You are such a trooper. I'm so glad you are well.
11/7/10 10:53 PM
callmeRuth said...
Beautiful jacket, beautiful you!
11/8/10 0:09 AM
Sigrid. said...
Great occasion to wear such a beautiful jacket to. So glad to hear you're doing well again. You look good, with or without make-up. The pendant is a nice accessorie to complement the jacket.
11/8/10 3:52 AM
FreyaStark said...
A fabulous and truly unique garment. It looks great on you, and it's wonderful to hear you've been restored to health. Let's hope you have many happy years of sewing ahead.
11/8/10 4:06 AM
eugenia123 said...
You have such an amazing talent for picking out a classic pattern and pairing it with a fabulous fabric to produce something really stunning. Like all your garments it is so perfectly made - every detail is carefully thought out. You look wonderful in this shirt - it's flattering and festive - just right for a celebration. I wish you and Bailey all the very best things in life.
11/8/10 4:45 AM
Peggy L said...
Wow! What a beautiful jacket to wear for a fabulous Celebration - Happy Birthday Bailey; Happy Anniversay; and most of all Happy No More Chemo!!! You are such a trooper and I am glad you are on this side of chemo. The jacket, as always, is perfection. There is no way I could stay up all night creating a beautiful jacket and then party the next night. (those were the days:)
11/8/10 7:05 AM
carolynw said...
The jacket is absolutely beautiful - made in my color and with your usual impeccable work - I want it!! You look gorgeous Annette and I am sooo happy that you and Bailey were at that wonderful all inclusive party - a lot to celebrate and give thanks for - God bless
11/8/10 8:53 AM
Ericaeli said...
You sew such beautiful clothes that also look great on you. Thank you for such a great review.
11/8/10 9:18 AM
Ericaeli said...
You sew such beautiful clothes that also look great on you. Thank you for such a great review.
11/8/10 9:18 AM
Renren said...
I bet the party at the old opera house was smokin', even more so when you walked in with this western-styled shirt with fabric that evokes hand-tooled leather and handsome Bailey on your arm. (Too bad the dogs couldn't attend; it would have been quite an entourage.) You look sublime all done up for a night out on the town. Thanks for the review.
11/8/10 9:36 AM
Elemenopeo said...
Lovely jacket. Congrats on the special anniversary. To all who want this pattern, KS does make available oop patterns for their entire history on their website.
11/8/10 10:24 AM
MNBarb said...
Well, I can't top anything that's already been said. I'm just amazed at the beauty of this jacket. It's SO hard to choose the right fabric and you seem to do it EVERY time! Congrats on getting through a really tough year and still having a sense of humor that can entertain total strangers.
11/8/10 12:47 PM
janet said...
Love you, love your jacket, love your review! With your life as an example, you have helped me get through the last year and a half. THANK YOU.
11/8/10 12:48 PM
gatorgirl4325 said...
That jacket is just gorgeous! You are such an inspiration and I am so glad you had a party to celebrate 3 big things in your life! Thank you for sharing your journey with all of us.
11/8/10 2:16 PM
Barbara V said...
You know Annette you are such a positive influence and inspiration in so many ways to so many people as evidence in your incredible health journey this last year, all the while continuing on with sewing and creating your informative and delightful reviews. Congratulations on your anniversary, your birthdays and your post chemo statis.....wonderful! Now on to your very gorgeous jacket.....Because you think it would be a good color on me....CAN I HAVE IT PLEASE !!!!???? You look absolutely gorgeous in it, both as your "dolled up" self and your "normal" self. Rock on!
11/8/10 4:28 PM
Sweetiebop said...
This is so nice Annette and it's your color too. You just look marvelous. Happy Anniversary to you and Bailey. Happy Birthday to Bailey and I am so proud of you. You made through with that beautiful smile and humor intact. Love to you both.
11/8/10 10:57 PM
Annette1 said...
THANKS, everybody! You're the BEST! :O)
11/8/10 11:20 PM
Margaret said...
Such a lovely jacket, perfect fabric! Wear it in good health...
11/9/10 4:17 AM
Margaret said...
And thanks for the wonderful (as always) review!
11/9/10 4:17 AM
Heatherrique said...
Oooooooo-la-la, you've done it again, our Queen of Jackets! You are a genuine artist, taking something ordinary to create an original that has your stamp of innovation and beauty. Yes, it's time to celebrate! I am very proud of you!!! ;-)
11/9/10 9:31 PM
Mahler said...
I want one, I want one, I want one. Does that express how much I like it. If we would live closer, I could borough to go out ;-) Thank you for this excellent review. As always, I learned.
11/9/10 10:33 PM
Meggie LuLu said...
C'est absolument magnifique ! Vous avez sélectionné un certain tissu très joli !
11/23/10 9:13 AM
Catbird said...
This is jaw-droppingly perfect, Annette!! I love this version so much. Love the "tools of the trade" photo (that clamp is a great idea) and laughed so much at the "KWIK SEW PIECE OF CRAP!" I've got to see that one!! This denim shirt is awesome, and you look beautiful in it.
11/26/10 5:06 PM
Karendee said...
This denim shirt jacket is simply gorgeous. I have never seen such amazing top stitching and I love how defined the stitching is. Absolutely the best feature is the sleeve closure!! Wow, what detail on those sleeves. This should be a favorite of all who see it, Miss Jacket Queen!!!
11/26/10 5:45 PM
halleyscomet said...
I love jean jackets! Your's turned out great! I wouldn't have thought you had no makeup on in that photo! You look marvelous!
11/26/10 6:04 PM
Paris75008 said...
Wow! Both those jackets are just unbelievably gorgeamous and so perfectly sewn. You look simply fabulous in both of them. They really suit you. Congratulations on having made it through the chemo and come out safe and sound.
11/26/10 6:14 PM
Christas said...
Well, OF COURSE, I wanted you to update this pattern - it is such a versatile pattern! I love BOTH the dressy orange jacket and the wonderful casual denim one! What a talent you have to know what perfect fabrics and patterns should go together. And..... your topstitching is PERFECTIMUNGO!!! You are truly an inspiration!
11/26/10 6:23 PM
carolynw said...
Beautiful - really beautiful. All the details make this look so expensive - you are an real inspiration for all of us sewers. Thanks for such agreat review
11/26/10 10:15 PM
CynthiaSue said...
Hilarious and informational as always. The denim was the perfect fabric for the style!!! love it!
11/27/10 0:46 AM
MNBarb said...
I would never have guessed this was the same pattern as the previous, flashier version. Both are just wonderful. I'm glad you added this update. I always say, if the review hasn't been written, the garment isn't complete.
11/27/10 0:49 AM
1SewSweet said...
What beautiful work Annette!!!! I really love your denim jacket a lot! Simply marvelous detail! Happy birthdays & anniversaries! Bless your heart on being a survivor! You're beautiful inside & out! Thank you for stopping by & leaving such nice comments.
11/27/10 5:26 AM
no7262 said...
Annette, I LOVE your reviews! You give such great detailed info, and they are fun to read! I really like both the tops that you made! Nora :)
11/27/10 9:25 AM
Barbara V said...
Simply amazing how you got another successful garment using the same pattern - the first one dressy and the second one casual. Fantastic new shirt - I really like the front pockets and vented sleeves. That is one great pattern.
11/27/10 10:13 AM
sfshaza said...
Somehow I missed your review the first time around. First, PLEASE don't be shy to share another version of your jacket!! Both versions are FABULOUS and so different. Second, I didn't know about your health issues, and am so thrilled to hear they are behind you!! Thirdly, WOW, I love this pattern on you! I especially love the jacquard version with the collar worn up and that stunning pennant. But the denim version is just as awesome and something youc an wear to death. Those sleeve vents are to die for!!! I wish you many more years of happy sewing! ;)
11/27/10 12:56 PM
Annette1 said...
THANKS, everyone, for all your nice comments! :o)
11/27/10 2:06 PM
Peggy L said...
Another winner! I really like this version.
11/27/10 7:19 PM
Robin Denning said...
I am glad you updated the review - both jackets are gorgeous and look beautiful on you. Congratulations on being post-chemo and your anniversary.
11/27/10 8:21 PM
Heatherrique said...
You never stop creating something s-o-o-o-o-..... delectably pleasing to the eye (and of course it is more so because the wearer and creator of the design is also ...). I also adore your new version!
11/28/10 10:19 AM
blue mooney said...
Perfect! how nice that it's classic, as well! That contrast topstitching is so impressive.
11/28/10 6:10 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Understanding Wool Fabrics
Understanding Wool Fabrics

Register

McCall's 6378 OOP

photo
by: FreyaStark

Review
Paradiso Designs Perfect Pillows Pattern

Paradiso Designs Perfect Pillows Pattern

Buy Now
You Sew Girl 150mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 150mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

Buy Now