SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 5147 (Lifestyle Wardrobe)

22 more reviews
Viewed 647 times 
Reviewed by:Tailypo
photo

 
 
About Tailypostarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 8/6/03
Reviews written: 82
Favored by: 68 people
patterns reviewed: 64
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/16/10 2:43 PM
Last Updated:11/16/10 2:46 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 8 people   
See other patterns in this category: Suits / Separates    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
15 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Skittl1321 said...
The dress is lovely. Your experience with the length is what it is like for me everytime I sew- even when I cut out the wrong view. I'm only five feet...
3/3/11 9:04 AM
Christas said...
Very pretty dress ..... looks great on you!
11/17/10 6:12 PM
newmama said...
You crack me up! Congrats on the lapped zipper and the lovely looking non-A-line sheath :)
11/17/10 4:32 PM
chutchings said...
I have this pattern and I've kind of done that too. I have made the top twice now and you are suppose to take the top from the sheath pieces, I took it from the A-line dress. Fortunately since I was only doing the top half it doesn't matter, but it's good to see I'm not the only one! I vaguely remember wondering why there wasn't a line telling me where to stop for the top... Sigh. Beautiful dress, it looks fantastic on you.
11/17/10 2:36 PM
cindyann said...
Lovely!
11/17/10 2:11 PM
Aixoise said...
Your dress looks great on you. Loved your review (I always love your reviews) and am so happy that you're back to sewing and writing on a regular basis. You are indeed special - funny, literate, creative - in a really good way.
11/17/10 1:05 PM
gatorgirl4325 said...
Another winner from you - that dress is fabulous!
11/17/10 12:03 PM
becca a said...
Gorgeous sheath dress! It fits perfectly.
11/17/10 8:24 AM
AnitaJJ said...
Wow. That dress looks absolutely smashing on you. MUCH better than the pattern pic. You have your fit figured out, adding to the torso etc. You gave me a BIG SMILE reading that you just this minute figured out you cut the wrong view. (that sounds like something I'd do.... too funny) But you recovered beautifully!
11/17/10 7:19 AM
AnitaJJ said...
Wow. That dress looks absolutely smashing on you. MUCH better than the pattern pic. You have your fit figured out, adding to the torso etc. You gave me a BIG SMILE reading that you just this minute figured out you cut the wrong view. (that sounds like something I'd do.... too funny) But you recovered beautifully!
11/17/10 7:19 AM
MNBarb said...
Looks great. It's wonderful when something fits this well.
11/16/10 10:01 PM
Tailypo said...
Sorry RadarRadiance, I wasn't very clear. I took the wedge out of the top of the bodice pattern so it tightened up the upper bodice, not the lower bodice/sway back.
11/16/10 7:48 PM
RadarRadiance said...
Great fit, looks super! the wedge you had to remove was that for sway back? I still need to work on fitting and really like how this one fits you.
11/16/10 7:27 PM
marjoriekh said...
Fantastic red dress! I had fun reading about your sewing it on your blog. Interesting what you did to the crepe, too. So it acts like a knit? And lastly: I'm happy to find there are others out there eating their children's Halloween candy; although I don't have your excuse (I'm avoiding zippers).
11/16/10 4:10 PM
crazygrad said...
Hot!
11/16/10 3:43 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

Butterick 5558

photo
by: nicegirl

Review
Ottobre Woman Magazine 02-2013-2

photo
by: ChrisS

Review
You Sew Girl Tulip Dress Pattern

You Sew Girl Tulip Dress Pattern

Buy Now
Pants Fitting DVD

Pants Fitting DVD

Buy Now