Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Butterick: 5147 (Lifestyle Wardrobe) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 645 times 22 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 8 people   
Reviewed by:Tailypo
photo
About Tailypostarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 8/6/03
Reviews written: 79
Favored by: 65 people
patterns reviewed: 61
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/16/10 2:43 PM
Last Updated:11/16/10 2:46 PM


See other patterns in this category: Suits / Separates    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
15 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
crazygrad said...
Hot!
11/16/10 3:43 PM
marjoriekh said...
Fantastic red dress! I had fun reading about your sewing it on your blog. Interesting what you did to the crepe, too. So it acts like a knit? And lastly: I'm happy to find there are others out there eating their children's Halloween candy; although I don't have your excuse (I'm avoiding zippers).
11/16/10 4:10 PM
RadarRadiance said...
Great fit, looks super! the wedge you had to remove was that for sway back? I still need to work on fitting and really like how this one fits you.
11/16/10 7:27 PM
Tailypo said...
Sorry RadarRadiance, I wasn't very clear. I took the wedge out of the top of the bodice pattern so it tightened up the upper bodice, not the lower bodice/sway back.
11/16/10 7:48 PM
MNBarb said...
Looks great. It's wonderful when something fits this well.
11/16/10 10:01 PM
AnitaJJ said...
Wow. That dress looks absolutely smashing on you. MUCH better than the pattern pic. You have your fit figured out, adding to the torso etc. You gave me a BIG SMILE reading that you just this minute figured out you cut the wrong view. (that sounds like something I'd do.... too funny) But you recovered beautifully!
11/17/10 7:19 AM
AnitaJJ said...
Wow. That dress looks absolutely smashing on you. MUCH better than the pattern pic. You have your fit figured out, adding to the torso etc. You gave me a BIG SMILE reading that you just this minute figured out you cut the wrong view. (that sounds like something I'd do.... too funny) But you recovered beautifully!
11/17/10 7:19 AM
becca a said...
Gorgeous sheath dress! It fits perfectly.
11/17/10 8:24 AM
gatorgirl4325 said...
Another winner from you - that dress is fabulous!
11/17/10 12:03 PM
Aixoise said...
Your dress looks great on you. Loved your review (I always love your reviews) and am so happy that you're back to sewing and writing on a regular basis. You are indeed special - funny, literate, creative - in a really good way.
11/17/10 1:05 PM
cindyann said...
Lovely!
11/17/10 2:11 PM
chutchings said...
I have this pattern and I've kind of done that too. I have made the top twice now and you are suppose to take the top from the sheath pieces, I took it from the A-line dress. Fortunately since I was only doing the top half it doesn't matter, but it's good to see I'm not the only one! I vaguely remember wondering why there wasn't a line telling me where to stop for the top... Sigh. Beautiful dress, it looks fantastic on you.
11/17/10 2:36 PM
newmama said...
You crack me up! Congrats on the lapped zipper and the lovely looking non-A-line sheath :)
11/17/10 4:32 PM
Christas said...
Very pretty dress ..... looks great on you!
11/17/10 6:12 PM
Skittl1321 said...
The dress is lovely. Your experience with the length is what it is like for me everytime I sew- even when I cut out the wrong view. I'm only five feet...
3/3/11 9:04 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Online Sewing Classes
Leather 101
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Leather 101

BurdaStyle Magazine 09-2007-105
photo
Review by Sigrid. on 10/2/07
Read Review

Angela Wolf The Fringe Skirt Digital Pattern (Print at Home)
Angela Wolf The Fringe Skirt Digital Pattern (Print at Home)

Details
Price: $12.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Chelsea Bubble Jumper Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Chelsea Bubble Jumper Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2599
photo
Review by BeulahBirt... on 4/30/13
Read Review

Checkbook Cover
Checkbook Cover

Details
Price: $7.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

The City Bag
The City Bag

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1461 Pattern ( Size 20W-28W )
Simplicity 1461 Pattern ( Size 20W-28W )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 4039 Pattern
Kwik Sew 4039 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us