SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 5147 (Lifestyle Wardrobe)

22 more reviews
Viewed 646 times 
Reviewed by:Tailypo
photo

 
 
About Tailypostarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 8/6/03
Reviews written: 80
Favored by: 66 people
patterns reviewed: 62
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/16/10 2:43 PM
Last Updated:11/16/10 2:46 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 8 people   
See other patterns in this category: Suits / Separates    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
15 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
crazygrad said...
Hot!
11/16/10 3:43 PM
marjoriekh said...
Fantastic red dress! I had fun reading about your sewing it on your blog. Interesting what you did to the crepe, too. So it acts like a knit? And lastly: I'm happy to find there are others out there eating their children's Halloween candy; although I don't have your excuse (I'm avoiding zippers).
11/16/10 4:10 PM
RadarRadiance said...
Great fit, looks super! the wedge you had to remove was that for sway back? I still need to work on fitting and really like how this one fits you.
11/16/10 7:27 PM
Tailypo said...
Sorry RadarRadiance, I wasn't very clear. I took the wedge out of the top of the bodice pattern so it tightened up the upper bodice, not the lower bodice/sway back.
11/16/10 7:48 PM
MNBarb said...
Looks great. It's wonderful when something fits this well.
11/16/10 10:01 PM
AnitaJJ said...
Wow. That dress looks absolutely smashing on you. MUCH better than the pattern pic. You have your fit figured out, adding to the torso etc. You gave me a BIG SMILE reading that you just this minute figured out you cut the wrong view. (that sounds like something I'd do.... too funny) But you recovered beautifully!
11/17/10 7:19 AM
AnitaJJ said...
Wow. That dress looks absolutely smashing on you. MUCH better than the pattern pic. You have your fit figured out, adding to the torso etc. You gave me a BIG SMILE reading that you just this minute figured out you cut the wrong view. (that sounds like something I'd do.... too funny) But you recovered beautifully!
11/17/10 7:19 AM
becca a said...
Gorgeous sheath dress! It fits perfectly.
11/17/10 8:24 AM
gatorgirl4325 said...
Another winner from you - that dress is fabulous!
11/17/10 12:03 PM
Aixoise said...
Your dress looks great on you. Loved your review (I always love your reviews) and am so happy that you're back to sewing and writing on a regular basis. You are indeed special - funny, literate, creative - in a really good way.
11/17/10 1:05 PM
cindyann said...
Lovely!
11/17/10 2:11 PM
chutchings said...
I have this pattern and I've kind of done that too. I have made the top twice now and you are suppose to take the top from the sheath pieces, I took it from the A-line dress. Fortunately since I was only doing the top half it doesn't matter, but it's good to see I'm not the only one! I vaguely remember wondering why there wasn't a line telling me where to stop for the top... Sigh. Beautiful dress, it looks fantastic on you.
11/17/10 2:36 PM
newmama said...
You crack me up! Congrats on the lapped zipper and the lovely looking non-A-line sheath :)
11/17/10 4:32 PM
Christas said...
Very pretty dress ..... looks great on you!
11/17/10 6:12 PM
Skittl1321 said...
The dress is lovely. Your experience with the length is what it is like for me everytime I sew- even when I cut out the wrong view. I'm only five feet...
3/3/11 9:04 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

McCall's 6329

photo
by: Mahogany S...

Review
Pants Fitting DVD

Pants Fitting DVD

Buy Now
Sew Chic Spin Skirt Pattern (ln1209)

Sew Chic Spin Skirt Pattern (ln1209)

Buy Now
Contest Mini Wardrobe Contest

photo
by: nicegirl

Review