SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 1944 (Vera Wang Bridal)

4 more reviews
Viewed 3145 times 
Reviewed by:alicia
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About aliciastar
NY USA
Member since: 9/1/03
Reviews written: 22
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 14
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/18/04 6:02 PM
Last Updated:6/18/04 9:28 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 12 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns


Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
33 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
minieme said...
Love the dress! Now you'd have to show us more photos of this GORGEOUS dress!!! The dress would have meant much more to your cousin with all the love and effort put in by yourself and your aunt.
6/18/04 6:14 PM
alicia said...
I forgot to mention that part of the difficulty with using a jacquard with a pattern was matching all the pieces. I used the matching notches on the pattern pieces and put them at the same point on the jacquard pattern - painstaking work, but the pattern flowed beautifully around the dress. Her husband didn't see any of it until she came out for the wedding... the look on his face was worth every moment!! ;)
6/18/04 6:16 PM
Oziroo said...
Gosh! what a project. It looks wonderful. Congratulations!
6/18/04 6:18 PM
alicia said...
I forgot to mention that part of the difficulty with using a jacquard with a pattern was matching all the pieces. I used the matching notches on the pattern pieces and put them at the same point on the jacquard pattern - painstaking work, but the pattern flowed beautifully around the dress.
6/18/04 6:29 PM
TanyaMT said...
Absolutely beautiful!
6/18/04 6:46 PM
Levone said...
Beautiful gown!
6/18/04 7:01 PM
SouthernStitch said...
What an accomplishment! The dress is gorgeous. Now you deserve to indulge yourself in some great outfits for you!
6/18/04 7:43 PM
moushka said...
Breathtaking! What a special gift. You provided your cousin with the priceless gift of your time and TLC. Please post some more pictures for us to admire.
6/18/04 7:47 PM
Linda E. said...
Beautiful dress and you go great painstaking work I love it.
6/18/04 9:14 PM
GorgeousFabrics said...
Beautiful job, congratulations!
6/18/04 9:49 PM
Mandolin82 said...
Beautiful Dress, great review! I picked up this pattern at a Joann's closeout, just because it was so gorgeous. I'm glad to see it made up!
6/18/04 10:48 PM
PVA said...
Oh how absolutely lovely! ! ! Thanks for all the pictures showing more detail. What a wonderful thing to do for a special person in your life. I certainly do look forward to the pictures of the bridesmaid dresses. I love the story of all the care you took to showcase the fabric and get it all just right. Thank you for this review. It made my day!
6/18/04 11:09 PM
Lori V said...
Alicia, what an incredible dress. Thanks for the in-depth review. Your gift of sewing for your cousin makes the gown even more special
6/18/04 11:17 PM
Ann Smith said...
Well this is just stunning! Imagine matching all that pattern. The picture with the red wine in front made me nervous....
6/18/04 11:18 PM
els said...
Alicia congratulations on the beautiful dress you made, it is gorgeous.
6/19/04 5:10 AM
Tini said...
Absolutly gorgeous! You did a really good job!!!
6/19/04 5:34 AM
AnneM said...
What a wonderful gift. It came out beautifully, also. That was very adventurous for you to do all that formal-wear sewing. Good review also, and thanks for the additional pictures.
6/19/04 6:16 AM
kathi s said...
Wow! There ought to be a pattern review rating for bravery! Absolutely gorgeous dress! Do you have pictures of the bridesmaids? Congratulations on a wonderful job. (Anne Smith, I saw the glass of red wine and went "Whoa!" too- lol)
6/19/04 8:19 AM
Lorna C. Newman said...
WOW just does not fully express the wayI feel about this project! Nicely done!
6/19/04 9:22 AM
cindyann said...
What a wonderful gift for your cousin. Beautiful dress. She looks radiant in it. I can appreciate that you didn't breath during the construction. LOL Thank you for the excellent review.
6/19/04 10:35 AM
Beezer said...

6/19/04 1:56 PM
Beezer said...
Wow! This is what I aspire to in my sewing. Thanks for sharing.
6/19/04 1:58 PM
Beezer said...

6/19/04 2:00 PM
Beezer said...

6/19/04 2:07 PM
bheath said...
Alicia - truly a labor of love! The dress is absolutely ethereal! What a wonderful gift! Fabulous job
6/19/04 3:17 PM
KathleenS said...
Great work and what a lovely present (though I think I would have put my foot down about all those bridesmaids! eek) Looking forward to seeing the bridesmaids' dresses.
6/19/04 11:53 PM
Sew it seams said...
Alicia! What an incredible dress! You must need a vacation after all of that work! Absolutly stunning! Thanks for all the photos. I, too was wanting to grab that glass of red wine out from in front of that gorgeous silk.
6/20/04 9:15 AM
Mbarkle said...
Wow, you are a terrific cousin to do this for her. Spectacular dress.
6/20/04 12:15 PM
alicia said...
thanks everyone so much - this really was a great project and I hope to have the other patterns reviewed very soon. I think the red wine belonged to the maid of honor who was sitting next to her... she was expressly FORBIDDEN to drink any !!! ;) Since myself, my 2 daughters and a niece were all in the wedding I couldn't complain too much about the bridesmaids dresses; besides, how many times in your life are you handed 35+ yards of different silks and told to play?? LOL
6/20/04 8:58 PM
JDpenelope said...
Well done! Is your breathing back to normal now? Beautiful work.
6/21/04 2:19 PM
TSingh said...
I'm impressed!! You're really talented! You should be proud of yourself!! I must say you're very brave!!!
7/8/04 9:08 AM
Cristina_TC said...
You are fantastic!!!!
12/13/07 9:01 AM
alviana said...
wow! great job! very "vera-wang-look" :)
12/22/08 2:08 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

brerrabbit.com Japanese Knot Bag

photo
by: ldpaulson

Review
Vogue Patterns 8854

photo
by: sfshaza

Review
Sew Liberated Esme Top Pattern

Sew Liberated Esme Top Pattern

Buy Now
Sew Liberated Clara Dress Pattern

Sew Liberated Clara Dress Pattern

Buy Now