Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Butterick: 5559 (Misses' Dress) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 1054 times 43 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 30 people   
Reviewed by:RMJ
photo
Friend of PR
About RMJstar
CA USA
Member since: 12/14/06
Reviews written: 26
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 23
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/13/10 7:37 PM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $19.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $19.95     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
38 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Erica B. said...
I like your "fancy t-shirt" and I think I may copy you! I'd get more wear out of that shirt (because that IS a lot of work), than I would a dress.
12/13/10 7:45 PM
AngelynnK said...
Very cool, I was wondering if this would work as a shirt since I'm also not much of one for dresses. Thanks for showing that it can be done!
12/13/10 7:47 PM
MissyBelle said...
What a flattering shirt. I did a double take to figure out which was the envelope pattern and which was the homemade version. Great work.
12/13/10 7:58 PM
Sheseams said...
Very nice!
12/13/10 8:05 PM
Elona said...
You made a really stunning top from this pattern! Congratulations!
12/13/10 8:27 PM
AuntieShel said...
Wow, this is fabulous and fits you perfectly!! Thanks for all your helpful comments about this pattern.
12/13/10 8:34 PM
Athene said...
A very good looking t-shirt and the fit is lovely.
12/13/10 8:42 PM
sewing for fun said...
Beautiful!!!
12/13/10 9:00 PM
Christas said...
This looks fantastic as a top! You did a wonderful job!
12/13/10 9:14 PM
Patti B said...
Gorgeous top! Good idea to shorten this dress. All of your thread tracing paid off in this lovely result.
12/13/10 9:51 PM
rivergum said...
Wow, what a fabulous top! Well done!
12/13/10 9:52 PM
sewbehind said...
Beautiful and inspired. I like the idea of this as a top. You look fabulous in it.
12/13/10 10:09 PM
michellep74 said...
This looks great as a top! I love the looks of this pattern, but could never wear a dress that close-fitting over my tummy/hips/rear. I think I *could* wear it as a top, though. Love yours!
12/13/10 10:22 PM
drsue said...
Nice job! it looks great! I love this pattern, but am concerned re the fitting.
12/13/10 10:30 PM
Nan Kay said...
Made a great top! I have been wanting to make this, now I really want to get it started. Nice work!!!
12/13/10 10:49 PM
sandrasdaughter said...
Wow this is so pretty and unique as well.
12/13/10 11:36 PM
Ann Smith said...
Gorgeous!
12/13/10 11:40 PM
mendospot said...
very pretty.
12/13/10 11:58 PM
SewWil said...
Great job! It looks very nice on you.
12/14/10 0:26 AM
Peacock Chic said...
Oh man!! what a great idea. I too would get a lot more wear out of a shirt than the dress. Great idea and great job!
12/14/10 0:41 AM
Mushywear said...
It sounds like you had to do a lot of work on this. It really paid off, because it looks marvelous on you. Very nice!
12/14/10 1:30 AM
lynnelaing said...
You fitting turned out perfect
12/14/10 4:06 AM
Danvillegirl said...
I like that you turned this into a top. Looks great on you.
12/14/10 6:54 AM
mchick said...
You look wonderful! It looks seriously expensive. Absolutley brilliant!
12/14/10 8:35 AM
lakaribane said...
I love that pattern even more now and the color you chose looks like the Pantone 2011 Color! Thank you for this review!
12/14/10 9:06 AM
nicegirl said...
You did a fabulous job on this! I am really interested in that pattern, though it sounds like a lot of work. Thank you for the thorough review.
12/14/10 11:00 AM
ggf2005 said...
that is a really cool shirt! great job!
12/14/10 12:37 PM
Raye Ann said...
thanks for the great review- looks like this pattern is a little more difficult than I thought it would be. your version is gorgeous, though, and definitely worth the effort!
12/14/10 11:12 PM
Robin Denning said...
It looks amazing on you - worth the effort!
12/15/10 1:01 AM
4u2cme said...
Great looking top. I haven't thought of a top for this pattern. Good job.
12/16/10 7:48 PM
Elizabeth made this said...
Great fit and a fabulous color!
12/17/10 11:53 PM
sharkycharming said...
Extremely pretty tee -- I love the color and everything about it. Well done.
12/18/10 8:32 AM
Annette1 said...
I'm just catching up on a week's worth of pattern reviews, and I'm SO GLAD I clicked on yours. I LOVE this shirt, even moreso than the dress on the pattern. It looks SO GOOD on you. :o) Very unique and flattering.
12/19/10 7:33 PM
salsera7 said...
You did a wonderful job on this top and I just bought this pattern yesterday with the same in mind; make a top out of it! Thanks to your posting, Ill get it done even sooner now.
12/20/10 9:11 PM
Jen59 said...
You have done a fantastic job! Great notes about stretching while you stitch - esp. for the waist pin tucks.
1/3/11 2:06 AM
JETrinity said...
What a wonderful job you did. I just love the look and I am adding this to my list.
1/7/11 9:41 PM
Marie67 said...
An absolutely gorgeous top and lovely colour. Yoou've done a great job with the fitting. I'd never thought of making that dress as a shirt, I'll see if can do the same with some of my other dress pattens.
4/27/11 2:27 PM
SavageCoco said...
Gorgeous!
1/20/12 12:52 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Leather 101
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Leather 101

Online Sewing Classes
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Self Drafted Pattern 106177-1002 jeans
photo
Review by geraldine on 10/23/08
Read Review

New Look 6889 Pattern
New Look 6889 Pattern

Details
Price: $4.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 1280 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )
Vogue 1280 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )

Details
Price: $32.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Self Drafted Pattern 130436-1001
photo
Review by NicholeMc on 8/17/08
Read Review

Archer Shirt
Archer Shirt

Details
Price: $10.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Megan Nielsen Cascade Skirt Digital Pattern
Megan Nielsen Cascade Skirt Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Favorite Things Eco Market Tote Pattern
Favorite Things Eco Market Tote Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sew Liberated Woodlands Shirt
Sew Liberated Woodlands Shirt

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us