SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 5559 (Misses' Dress)

46 more reviews
Viewed 1063 times 
Reviewed by:RMJ
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About RMJstar
CA USA
Member since: 12/14/06
Reviews written: 27
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 24
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/13/10 7:37 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 30 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $19.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $19.95 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
38 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Erica B. said...
I like your "fancy t-shirt" and I think I may copy you! I'd get more wear out of that shirt (because that IS a lot of work), than I would a dress.
12/13/10 7:45 PM
AngelynnK said...
Very cool, I was wondering if this would work as a shirt since I'm also not much of one for dresses. Thanks for showing that it can be done!
12/13/10 7:47 PM
MissyBelle said...
What a flattering shirt. I did a double take to figure out which was the envelope pattern and which was the homemade version. Great work.
12/13/10 7:58 PM
Sheseams said...
Very nice!
12/13/10 8:05 PM
Elona said...
You made a really stunning top from this pattern! Congratulations!
12/13/10 8:27 PM
AuntieShel said...
Wow, this is fabulous and fits you perfectly!! Thanks for all your helpful comments about this pattern.
12/13/10 8:34 PM
Athene said...
A very good looking t-shirt and the fit is lovely.
12/13/10 8:42 PM
sewing for fun said...
Beautiful!!!
12/13/10 9:00 PM
Christas said...
This looks fantastic as a top! You did a wonderful job!
12/13/10 9:14 PM
Patti B said...
Gorgeous top! Good idea to shorten this dress. All of your thread tracing paid off in this lovely result.
12/13/10 9:51 PM
rivergum said...
Wow, what a fabulous top! Well done!
12/13/10 9:52 PM
sewbehind said...
Beautiful and inspired. I like the idea of this as a top. You look fabulous in it.
12/13/10 10:09 PM
michellep74 said...
This looks great as a top! I love the looks of this pattern, but could never wear a dress that close-fitting over my tummy/hips/rear. I think I *could* wear it as a top, though. Love yours!
12/13/10 10:22 PM
drsue said...
Nice job! it looks great! I love this pattern, but am concerned re the fitting.
12/13/10 10:30 PM
Nan Kay said...
Made a great top! I have been wanting to make this, now I really want to get it started. Nice work!!!
12/13/10 10:49 PM
sandrasdaughter said...
Wow this is so pretty and unique as well.
12/13/10 11:36 PM
Ann Smith said...
Gorgeous!
12/13/10 11:40 PM
mendospot said...
very pretty.
12/13/10 11:58 PM
SewWil said...
Great job! It looks very nice on you.
12/14/10 0:26 AM
Peacock Chic said...
Oh man!! what a great idea. I too would get a lot more wear out of a shirt than the dress. Great idea and great job!
12/14/10 0:41 AM
Mushywear said...
It sounds like you had to do a lot of work on this. It really paid off, because it looks marvelous on you. Very nice!
12/14/10 1:30 AM
lynnelaing said...
You fitting turned out perfect
12/14/10 4:06 AM
Danvillegirl said...
I like that you turned this into a top. Looks great on you.
12/14/10 6:54 AM
mchick said...
You look wonderful! It looks seriously expensive. Absolutley brilliant!
12/14/10 8:35 AM
lakaribane said...
I love that pattern even more now and the color you chose looks like the Pantone 2011 Color! Thank you for this review!
12/14/10 9:06 AM
nicegirl said...
You did a fabulous job on this! I am really interested in that pattern, though it sounds like a lot of work. Thank you for the thorough review.
12/14/10 11:00 AM
ggf2005 said...
that is a really cool shirt! great job!
12/14/10 12:37 PM
Raye Ann said...
thanks for the great review- looks like this pattern is a little more difficult than I thought it would be. your version is gorgeous, though, and definitely worth the effort!
12/14/10 11:12 PM
Robin Denning said...
It looks amazing on you - worth the effort!
12/15/10 1:01 AM
4u2cme said...
Great looking top. I haven't thought of a top for this pattern. Good job.
12/16/10 7:48 PM
Elizabeth made this said...
Great fit and a fabulous color!
12/17/10 11:53 PM
sharkycharming said...
Extremely pretty tee -- I love the color and everything about it. Well done.
12/18/10 8:32 AM
Annette1 said...
I'm just catching up on a week's worth of pattern reviews, and I'm SO GLAD I clicked on yours. I LOVE this shirt, even moreso than the dress on the pattern. It looks SO GOOD on you. :o) Very unique and flattering.
12/19/10 7:33 PM
salsera7 said...
You did a wonderful job on this top and I just bought this pattern yesterday with the same in mind; make a top out of it! Thanks to your posting, Ill get it done even sooner now.
12/20/10 9:11 PM
Jen59 said...
You have done a fantastic job! Great notes about stretching while you stitch - esp. for the waist pin tucks.
1/3/11 2:06 AM
JETrinity said...
What a wonderful job you did. I just love the look and I am adding this to my list.
1/7/11 9:41 PM
Marie67 said...
An absolutely gorgeous top and lovely colour. Yoou've done a great job with the fitting. I'd never thought of making that dress as a shirt, I'll see if can do the same with some of my other dress pattens.
4/27/11 2:27 PM
SavageCoco said...
Gorgeous!
1/20/12 12:52 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

ModKid Patterns Penny

photo
by: Saint Nolt...

Review
Lolita Patterns Sugar Plum Pattern

Lolita Patterns Sugar Plum Pattern

Buy Now
Islander Sewing Systems Men's Designer Dress Shirt Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Men's Designer Dress Shirt Pattern

Buy Now
Butterick 5555

photo
by: busybee cr...

Review