Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Islander Sewing Systems: 210 (Women's City Western Blouse) - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 545 times
Review rated Very Helpful by 10 people   
Reviewed by:Diane E
photo
Friend of PR
About Diane Estarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 4/8/02
Reviews written: 69
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 102 people
patterns reviewed: 65
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/2/10 5:09 PM


See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $19.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $19.95     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
FloraNature said...
I'm 31 inches at the full bust, what a shame it doesn't come that small. I'd have liked to make it - yours looks so nice.
12/2/10 5:32 PM
Christas said...
Your blouse looks TERRIFIC. I love the whole ensemble, complete with sweater and boots! Thanks for your very nice review. I have been very curious about Islander patterns. Enjoy your lovely new top!
12/2/10 5:51 PM
RLL said...
Your top looks very comfy and casual, right up my alley!
12/2/10 7:26 PM
Meredith P said...
Your shirt turned out nicely. I've got one for DH (different pattern obviously) in UFO status forever. I had a few "pieces not fitting" issues with it too. I do like the way yours looks though. (And I like your sweater too :-)
12/2/10 7:41 PM
Elona said...
Thank you for this very helpful--and cautionary--review, Diane. The shirt looks great (and that little bit of extra length in the back would be easy to fix), and ideas behind the pattern are so appealing, but I admit that having to watch for varying seam allowances and such would slow me down.
12/2/10 8:18 PM
pterion said...
Your blouse looks great despite some frustrations. Thanks for such an informative review. I've been wondering about this pattern. It's such a great classic style.
12/2/10 8:28 PM
MNBarb said...
I took a similar "down and dirty" shirt-making class at an expo. For me a quick to make pattern would have photos only or just a little verbage. I like the visuals and agree that too much reading doesn't make for a fast project. You did get a nice basic shirt from this pattern.
12/2/10 8:59 PM
Lisette said...
Nicely constructed blouse!
12/3/10 7:10 AM
Fran G said...
Always enjoy your postings and projects, Diane. Your shirt "fits" your style well; casual, comfortable, classic. I am sure you can fix the back that concerns you rather easily. Learning new techniques is always a good thing! I especially like the look worn with the little jacket..did you sew that also?
12/3/10 10:01 AM
Diane E said...
Thanks for your thoughtful comments, everyone. I am so happy to have completed this project! Fran, I knitted the jacket -- here's more info.
12/3/10 10:21 AM
mssewcrazy said...
I think you just sold a lot of patterns for this shirt. Yours is just wonderful. I am very happy the pattern extends into the larger sizes since that's what I would need. I think you knitted jacket is great looking also.
12/3/10 1:20 PM
Diane E said...
mssewcrazy, thanks for you comment, which prompted me to add something about sizing above. I definitely think it's great that the pattern includes the larger sizes, it was only that I thought it might have at least two smaller sizes, as well.
12/3/10 2:01 PM
cmarie12 said...
First this has nuthin to do with the pattern but you look great with longer hair! Ok, now that's out of the way...I'm liking the shirt. Will you make it again?
12/3/10 4:56 PM
Diane E said...
Thank you, Carolyn! Even though the hair takes longer to dry, it's easier to "style." LOL! And yes, I plan to make at least one more of these shirts, now that the fitting is out of the way!
12/4/10 1:38 AM
sewrose said...
Doesn't Diane's shirt look great? Mine doesn't fit me. I totally cop to the fact that I fooled around with a muslin before we took the class, but I outsmarted myself somehow. And my cuffs didn't fit the sleeves.
12/4/10 6:31 PM
blue mooney said...
Looks good - nice color for you! Thanks for a good review and insight into the Islander patterns.
12/5/10 9:46 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Online Sewing Classes
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

New Look 6405
photo
Review by slanden99 on 1/24/07
Read Review

Sewing Workshop Sandra Betzina Vest & Skirt Pattern
Sewing Workshop Sandra Betzina Vest & Skirt Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewn Square One Swing Shift Pattern
Sewn Square One Swing Shift Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Christine Jonson Patterns Cowl Neck Tunic Digital Pattern
Christine Jonson Patterns Cowl Neck Tunic Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Salme Sundress Digital Pattern
Salme Sundress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew Sewing for Toddlers Book
photo
Review by Trinity. on 10/24/07
Read Review

Simplicity 2188 Pattern( Size XXS-XS-S-M-L-XL-XXL )
Simplicity 2188 Pattern( Size XXS-XS-S-M-L-XL-XXL )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8939 Pattern ( Size 12-14-16-18-20 )
Vogue 8939 Pattern ( Size 12-14-16-18-20 )

Details
Price: $30.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us