SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Islander Sewing Systems> 210 (Women's City Western Blouse)

Viewed 604 times 
Reviewed by:Diane E
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Diane Estarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 4/8/02
Reviews written: 69
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 104 people
patterns reviewed: 65
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/2/10 5:09 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 11 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $19.95 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $19.95 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
blue mooney said...
Looks good - nice color for you! Thanks for a good review and insight into the Islander patterns.
12/5/10 9:46 AM
sewrose said...
Doesn't Diane's shirt look great? Mine doesn't fit me. I totally cop to the fact that I fooled around with a muslin before we took the class, but I outsmarted myself somehow. And my cuffs didn't fit the sleeves.
12/4/10 6:31 PM
Diane E said...
Thank you, Carolyn! Even though the hair takes longer to dry, it's easier to "style." LOL! And yes, I plan to make at least one more of these shirts, now that the fitting is out of the way!
12/4/10 1:38 AM
cmarie12 said...
First this has nuthin to do with the pattern but you look great with longer hair! Ok, now that's out of the way...I'm liking the shirt. Will you make it again?
12/3/10 4:56 PM
Diane E said...
mssewcrazy, thanks for you comment, which prompted me to add something about sizing above. I definitely think it's great that the pattern includes the larger sizes, it was only that I thought it might have at least two smaller sizes, as well.
12/3/10 2:01 PM
mssewcrazy said...
I think you just sold a lot of patterns for this shirt. Yours is just wonderful. I am very happy the pattern extends into the larger sizes since that's what I would need. I think you knitted jacket is great looking also.
12/3/10 1:20 PM
Diane E said...
Thanks for your thoughtful comments, everyone. I am so happy to have completed this project! Fran, I knitted the jacket -- here's more info.
12/3/10 10:21 AM
Fran G said...
Always enjoy your postings and projects, Diane. Your shirt "fits" your style well; casual, comfortable, classic. I am sure you can fix the back that concerns you rather easily. Learning new techniques is always a good thing! I especially like the look worn with the little jacket..did you sew that also?
12/3/10 10:01 AM
Lisette said...
Nicely constructed blouse!
12/3/10 7:10 AM
MNBarb said...
I took a similar "down and dirty" shirt-making class at an expo. For me a quick to make pattern would have photos only or just a little verbage. I like the visuals and agree that too much reading doesn't make for a fast project. You did get a nice basic shirt from this pattern.
12/2/10 8:59 PM
pterion said...
Your blouse looks great despite some frustrations. Thanks for such an informative review. I've been wondering about this pattern. It's such a great classic style.
12/2/10 8:28 PM
Elona said...
Thank you for this very helpful--and cautionary--review, Diane. The shirt looks great (and that little bit of extra length in the back would be easy to fix), and ideas behind the pattern are so appealing, but I admit that having to watch for varying seam allowances and such would slow me down.
12/2/10 8:18 PM
Meredith P said...
Your shirt turned out nicely. I've got one for DH (different pattern obviously) in UFO status forever. I had a few "pieces not fitting" issues with it too. I do like the way yours looks though. (And I like your sweater too :-)
12/2/10 7:41 PM
RLL said...
Your top looks very comfy and casual, right up my alley!
12/2/10 7:26 PM
Christas said...
Your blouse looks TERRIFIC. I love the whole ensemble, complete with sweater and boots! Thanks for your very nice review. I have been very curious about Islander patterns. Enjoy your lovely new top!
12/2/10 5:51 PM
FloraNature said...
I'm 31 inches at the full bust, what a shame it doesn't come that small. I'd have liked to make it - yours looks so nice.
12/2/10 5:32 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

New Look 6823

photo
by: Sheila457

Review
BurdaStyle Magazine 10-2007-106

photo
by: yummymummy...

Review
Favorite Things The Cargo Tote Pattern

Favorite Things The Cargo Tote Pattern

Buy Now
PerfectFuse Light White

PerfectFuse Light White

Buy Now