SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Amy Butler> AB041LI (The Liverpool)

19 more reviews
Viewed 563 times 
Reviewed by:heathertyfeatherty
photo

 
 
About heathertyfeathertystar
Member since: 7/30/09
Reviews written: 39
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 15 people
patterns reviewed: 38
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/28/10 8:15 PM
Last Updated:11/29/10 7:21 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 12 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Calder and Co. said...
Great job...looks great...your review was helpful!
4/18/11 10:24 AM
Rhoda K said...
Very nice shirt! Looks so nice on you.
11/30/10 4:03 PM
Sew4Fun said...
I love this in a knit! I decided a few days ago I too want a knit shirt so your review is timely. I even have this pattern but I haven't made it yet.
11/30/10 0:17 AM
21wale said...
Excellent shirt/tunic! The fit looks great.
11/29/10 8:57 PM
Christas said...
I would have thought that you had been sewing knits for years if your review hadn't said otherwise. Wow! I really love what you did with this pattern ....... VERY nice!
11/29/10 8:39 PM
JETrinity said...
Your version should be on the pattern envelope because I would buy it then. Nice job. Yes, indeed.
11/29/10 8:38 PM
Kathy in NM said...
Your shirt looks great!!! You did a wonderful job - no one would know you don't sew knits much. As Kayseri mentioned, there are stretch interfacings you could use to provide body, but still stretch. A small piece of non-stretch interfacing, or the wash-away stabilizer your mom suggested would help support the button holes while sewing. The collar - interface or not depends on how you like the feel of the fabric. Make a sample, or two, and decide if you like the knit interfaced. I will also use the knit interfacing along the hem if it needs stability. Make samples to see what works best - each knit is different. Then you won't be afraid to sew the actual garment. I really like your top - I wouldn't have used this pattern for a woven fabric, but the knit is a great idea!
11/29/10 7:31 PM
valerie sews said...
What a lovely pattern. Your top looks very RTW.
11/29/10 7:28 PM
donna mel said...
I love it in knit...I love anything in knit! I am going to try it, tho I will struggle with the same issues that you did.
11/29/10 7:56 AM
Kayseri said...
Great looking result, especially in a knit. I use stretch interfacing for knits, but whether I interface depends on how structured I want the result.
11/29/10 2:15 AM
FreyaStark said...
A great shirt - well done. You've really made this pattern your own! I sympathize with your stretch sewing problems; I'm new to stretch fabric myself and still learning about it.
11/28/10 10:14 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Class Details

Online Class
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Class Details

New Look 6785

photo
by: Sheila457

Review
The Essential Tote

The Essential Tote

More Info
Favorite Things Prairie Girl Pattern

Favorite Things Prairie Girl Pattern

More Info
No Pattern Used 05-2012

photo
by: maria 6705

Review