Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Burda: 7519 (T-SHIRT) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 420 times 5 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 9 people   
Reviewed by:FreyaStark
photo
Friend of PR
About FreyaStarkstarstarstarstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 6/12/08
Reviews written: 154
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 43 people
patterns reviewed: 112
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/8/10 1:14 AM
Last Updated:12/14/10 6:31 PM
Pattern Size:Regular Petite 


See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $7.46 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $7.46  List Price: $9.95   Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
carolynw said...
This time the pattern front has me fooled - it does look like a nice top and it does look very nice on you - maybe sleep on it for awhile and I would turn the sleeve bands completely in. Am not sure if you cut on the bias? I have tried this style with Vogue and while both were passable (both were silk charmeuse cut on the bias) I passed them on to my sister - will say the Vogue pattern does not have such a plunging neck.
12/8/10 8:52 AM
RLL said...
Wow, sorry this is not working. I love the fabric. I agree with clin.....turn the sleeve bands completely in and see how that works. And wear a cami or tank under so that it can remain sleeveless. I agree with you on the deep plunging necklines thing...and it happens way too often with a lot of patterns.
12/8/10 9:20 AM
clio59 said...
A lovely top. I think it looks great.
12/8/10 9:50 AM
Elona said...
Actually, the top very nice-looking on you, apart from the sleeve bands, which probably should be turned to the inside. As to the back shoulder seam being longer than the front--It's possible that the fabric might simply have stretched before being stitched, but with Burda this longer back seam is pretty normal: It's a dartless fitting device for the fact that our back shoulders are rounder and fuller than the fronts. The eased back seam tends to reduce gaping at the back armhole.
12/8/10 12:46 PM
nicegirl said...
I hope you can work it out because I love the fabric and in the photo it appears quite flattering. So disappointing when things don't turn out well!
12/8/10 2:18 PM
FreyaStark said...
Thanks all for those comments. Yes, the front is cut on the bias, which I probably should have mentioned.
12/8/10 4:25 PM
JETrinity said...
Such prettty dot fabric which I see in your photo. If you can get or have extra fabric, cut out View B sleeves and attach them. Do a patch on the back. Wear a cami and you're all set. I just had a disaster with a Park Bench dress I made. The feeling is not so great.
12/9/10 10:06 AM
ggf2005 said...
I completely understand the whole plunging neckline thing that being said I think you blouse looks great. Your front stretched because of the bias cut...have some fun with it ala Marci Tilton. You could also put a nice lace cami under this during hot weather. I'm with clin carolynw ...tuck the armhole facings in.
12/9/10 1:35 PM
Margaret said...
Sorry this is not working out... looks very good on. If you can stand to work on it more, I agree that turning under the sleeve bands would help. I have a similarly low-necked cowl top that I deal with by pinning some of the extra fabric (with a decorative stick pin) to the side to close up the neckline... that might leave marks on charmeuse, though. I think it looks good over the other top too.
12/9/10 6:15 PM
Christas said...
I think it looks nice on you. I hope you'll try turning the sleeve bands in. I hate it when a top ends up being too low, but this one does look cute on you with a top underneath. Thanks for your very thorough review!
12/10/10 9:33 PM
Annette1 said...
:o))) "Stamford Raffles is peeping down my cleavage." I got a good laugh out of that one. :o) BUT ... I think the top looks really NICE on you, so I hope you'll hang onto it. I know what you mean about the plunging neckline, though. I get SO SICK of everything being TOO LOW. Maybe if you took the little coin out of the pocket, it wouldn't drape as far down. (I'm going to try that little trick the next time I make a cowl neck, by the way.) Great review, as always!
12/11/10 3:47 AM
ClaireEmily said...
Such lovely silk fabric! Sorry to hear that making this was a trial.
12/13/10 4:40 PM
Christas said...
Endearingly homemade?! Nah, it looks very nice. Glad you decided to "make it work"!
12/14/10 7:23 PM
persevering said...
Beautiful! And what a lovely fabric too.
12/14/10 8:27 PM
Barbara V said...
Well that is called "perserverance!" I hope you decide to wear it often as it turned out really nice and looks great on you. I might add that the deep V is a very nice look on you too and with your solution of wearing an under garment, you can be comfortable wearing it now even with the "peeping attempts of Stamford Raffles".
12/14/10 10:13 PM
RLL said...
Excellant! You made it work and it looks wonderful!
12/15/10 11:12 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Altering Pants
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Pants

Online Sewing Classes
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Burda 7140 Misses Jackets
photo
Review by WinterQuee... on 11/14/13
Read Review

Sewing Workshop Ikina Jacket & Pants Pattern
Sewing Workshop Ikina Jacket & Pants Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Zona Jacket Pattern
Sewing Workshop Zona Jacket Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Close Case Files Bombshell Swimsuit Digital Pattern (Print at a copy shop)
Close Case Files Bombshell Swimsuit Digital Pattern (Print at a copy shop)

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Jackie Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Jackie Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6231
photo
Review by Dellia45 on 1/19/14
Read Review

Vogue 8840 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )
Vogue 8840 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )

Details
Price: $25.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8796 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )
Vogue 8796 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )

Details
Price: $30.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us