SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Burda> 7519 (T-SHIRT)

5 more reviews
Viewed 429 times 
Reviewed by:FreyaStark
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About FreyaStarkstarstarstarstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 6/12/08
Reviews written: 167
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 49 people
patterns reviewed: 121
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/8/10 1:14 AM
Last Updated:12/14/10 6:31 PM
Pattern Size:Regular Petite 


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 9 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $7.46 $9.95 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $7.46 $9.95 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
RLL said...
Excellant! You made it work and it looks wonderful!
12/15/10 11:12 AM
Barbara V said...
Well that is called "perserverance!" I hope you decide to wear it often as it turned out really nice and looks great on you. I might add that the deep V is a very nice look on you too and with your solution of wearing an under garment, you can be comfortable wearing it now even with the "peeping attempts of Stamford Raffles".
12/14/10 10:13 PM
persevering said...
Beautiful! And what a lovely fabric too.
12/14/10 8:27 PM
Christas said...
Endearingly homemade?! Nah, it looks very nice. Glad you decided to "make it work"!
12/14/10 7:23 PM
ClaireEmily said...
Such lovely silk fabric! Sorry to hear that making this was a trial.
12/13/10 4:40 PM
Annette1 said...
:o))) "Stamford Raffles is peeping down my cleavage." I got a good laugh out of that one. :o) BUT ... I think the top looks really NICE on you, so I hope you'll hang onto it. I know what you mean about the plunging neckline, though. I get SO SICK of everything being TOO LOW. Maybe if you took the little coin out of the pocket, it wouldn't drape as far down. (I'm going to try that little trick the next time I make a cowl neck, by the way.) Great review, as always!
12/11/10 3:47 AM
Christas said...
I think it looks nice on you. I hope you'll try turning the sleeve bands in. I hate it when a top ends up being too low, but this one does look cute on you with a top underneath. Thanks for your very thorough review!
12/10/10 9:33 PM
Margaret said...
Sorry this is not working out... looks very good on. If you can stand to work on it more, I agree that turning under the sleeve bands would help. I have a similarly low-necked cowl top that I deal with by pinning some of the extra fabric (with a decorative stick pin) to the side to close up the neckline... that might leave marks on charmeuse, though. I think it looks good over the other top too.
12/9/10 6:15 PM
ggf2005 said...
I completely understand the whole plunging neckline thing that being said I think you blouse looks great. Your front stretched because of the bias cut...have some fun with it ala Marci Tilton. You could also put a nice lace cami under this during hot weather. I'm with clin carolynw ...tuck the armhole facings in.
12/9/10 1:35 PM
JETrinity said...
Such prettty dot fabric which I see in your photo. If you can get or have extra fabric, cut out View B sleeves and attach them. Do a patch on the back. Wear a cami and you're all set. I just had a disaster with a Park Bench dress I made. The feeling is not so great.
12/9/10 10:06 AM
FreyaStark said...
Thanks all for those comments. Yes, the front is cut on the bias, which I probably should have mentioned.
12/8/10 4:25 PM
nicegirl said...
I hope you can work it out because I love the fabric and in the photo it appears quite flattering. So disappointing when things don't turn out well!
12/8/10 2:18 PM
Elona said...
Actually, the top very nice-looking on you, apart from the sleeve bands, which probably should be turned to the inside. As to the back shoulder seam being longer than the front--It's possible that the fabric might simply have stretched before being stitched, but with Burda this longer back seam is pretty normal: It's a dartless fitting device for the fact that our back shoulders are rounder and fuller than the fronts. The eased back seam tends to reduce gaping at the back armhole.
12/8/10 12:46 PM
clio59 said...
A lovely top. I think it looks great.
12/8/10 9:50 AM
RLL said...
Wow, sorry this is not working. I love the fabric. I agree with clin.....turn the sleeve bands completely in and see how that works. And wear a cami or tank under so that it can remain sleeveless. I agree with you on the deep plunging necklines thing...and it happens way too often with a lot of patterns.
12/8/10 9:20 AM
carolynw said...
This time the pattern front has me fooled - it does look like a nice top and it does look very nice on you - maybe sleep on it for awhile and I would turn the sleeve bands completely in. Am not sure if you cut on the bias? I have tried this style with Vogue and while both were passable (both were silk charmeuse cut on the bias) I passed them on to my sister - will say the Vogue pattern does not have such a plunging neck.
12/8/10 8:52 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

Vogue Patterns 1027

photo
by: emr

Review
Sewing Workshop Chopin Blouse Pattern

Sewing Workshop Chopin Blouse Pattern

Buy Now
Favorite Things Blossoms & Bloomers Pattern

Favorite Things Blossoms & Bloomers Pattern

Buy Now