SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fabulous Fit
Fabulous Fit

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 5497 (Misses' Top)

28 more reviews
Viewed 375 times 
Reviewed by:DD1104

About DD1104starstar
Member since: 12/10/08
Reviews: 65 (patterns: 65)
Skill level:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 28 people
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/7/10 1:39 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Just Make it Sew

Quality Fashion Fabrics

Patterns from the Past

vintage sewing patterns

Reconstructing History

Historical Patterns
Web site

<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment    
JDpenelope said... (2/8/11 10:34 PM) Reply
Thanks for the warnings about the sizing and the low v neckline. In spite of those issues, you have a very nice top. I want to try this pattern and appreciate your honest review.
Annette1 said... (12/11/10 3:52 AM) Reply
I love this! Your fabric is perfect with this pattern, and I love the ruching you added. Now I'm thinking I NEED this pattern, too. :o)
waltzqueen said... (12/8/10 4:16 PM) Reply
I love the fabric you used. Thanks for the revies - I'm in the middle of the long sleeve version. I think I'll pin fit before sewing!!
Lucy in Virginia said... (12/8/10 2:46 PM) Reply
You might try making a modesty panel. If you have the Jalie pattern 2804 it has a pattern piece for it. Otherwise, there are some internet tutorials like this one: . Hope you can get it to how you like it! Lovely fabric and top.
DD1104 said... (12/8/10 10:22 AM) Reply
Thanks. I am still thinking about taking it in some more but dont know if it will help.
lamstu said... (12/8/10 3:00 AM) Reply
Lovely top. Good result for all your trouble!
mhk3boys said... (12/7/10 7:47 PM) Reply
Your top looks really great!
CypGrl said... (12/7/10 7:30 PM) Reply
A very dramatic top and good review.
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
Online Class
Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Class Details

Online Class
Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Class Details

Islander Sewing Systems Every Bodies Shirt

Islander Sewing Systems Every Bodies Shirt

Pattern Details
Favorite Things The Cargo Tote Pattern

Favorite Things The Cargo Tote Pattern

Pattern Details