Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 8685 (Misses' Dress) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 721 times 23 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 2 people   
Reviewed by:PolishPoppy
photo
Friend of PR
About PolishPoppystar
VA USA
Member since: 4/11/09
Reviews written: 8
Sewing skills:Intermediate
patterns reviewed: 7
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/18/10 6:40 PM
Last Updated:12/18/10 6:45 PM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $25.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $25.00     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
PolishPoppy said...
Oh yes, sorry about the sexy black socks in the photos! (I figured it was a wadder so I did not dress up). :)
12/18/10 6:44 PM
Rhonda in Montreal said...
Vogue "Easy" is NOT Kwik Sew, eh!! I think you learned a LOT from the project!! Would encourage you to try something easier--maybe a Kwik Sew dress?? (Use high bust measurement). Keep at it!! Before you know it, you'll be making tons of pj bottoms, like me :/
12/18/10 6:56 PM
RadarRadiance said...
I'm sorry you had so many problems with the dress. Hopefully someone can think of a way to selvage it. It is a very cute pattern, I haven't seen this one reviewed before, very nice lines on it. I wonder if you did cut it off for a top and then cut out the zipper and use some of the lower material to make a placket type button up in the back ;-) Just some thoughts. Keep on trying, it is how you learn.
12/18/10 7:10 PM
mollyshark said...
What Rhonda says is right on. When using any of the big four patterns (vogue, butterick, mccalls, simplicity) pick size for a dress by high bust, not full bust. HUGE difference. You can always do an FBA for bust room but you'll find the neck and shoulders will fit much better if you do this. I have this pattern so was glad to read your thoughts on it.
12/18/10 7:42 PM
heathertyfeatherty said...
I commend you for trying this as any time I see a knit that needs a zipper I shudder. I love this pattern, and I'm glad to see your review. If I attempt it (big if) I think I might move the zipper to the side so the back seamlines line up easier and if the zipper gives me fits it'll be partially hidden under my arm? This is why I sometimes avoid sewing with knits!
12/19/10 10:37 AM
jmspencer1984 said...
If I were to make this pattern (I've had my eye on it...) I think I would eliminate the zipper altogether. It's a knit dress and from the look of it, it seems like it could just pull over... Keep trying, every project gets better and better!
12/20/10 9:55 AM
PolishPoppy said...
Thank you! your comments are VERY helpful.. and I cannot wait to try the difference between the full vs high bust adjustment on patterns as well.... Thank you again!
12/21/10 8:36 AM
Submarine said...
I made this dress and also ended up with a "spinosaurus-rex" back. I tried stabilizing the zipper area, and that helped a little but did not eliminate the problem entirely. Anybody have any idea how to solve this problem?
12/21/10 4:37 PM
mollyshark said...
One thing that works well for me on zippers in knits is to use 1/4" steam a seam to attach the zipper and then topstitch over it. Of course if you are using an invisible zipper it is a little harder to do this, but you can do it on one side at least. It eliminates stretching of the fabric when you sew it on and that gets rid of the humps. Not sure if there is enough give in this pattern given the very fitted midriff to make it without a zipper.
1/20/11 8:30 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Online Sewing Classes
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Burda 7798
photo
Review by Graca on 4/19/12
Read Review

HANDBAG CONSTRUCTION - A CD Book By Kenneth King
HANDBAG CONSTRUCTION - A CD Book By Kenneth King

Details
Price: $24.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jamie Christina Pretty Ditty Apron Pattern (JC303PD)
Jamie Christina Pretty Ditty Apron Pattern (JC303PD)

Details
Price: $12.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Maia Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 12 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Maia Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 12 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Duck Slippers Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )
Peek-A Boo Duck Slippers Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCall's 5794
photo
Review by Sandi S on 10/15/11
Read Review

Burda 7972 Pattern
Burda 7972 Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 8321 Pattern
Burda 8321 Pattern

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us