SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8634 (Misses' Top)

54 more reviews
Viewed 851 times 
Reviewed by:Annette1
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Annette1starstarstarstar
Member since: 3/5/04
Reviews written: 152
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 202 people
patterns reviewed: 148
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2010
Posted on:12/19/10 3:54 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 25 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns


Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
27 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
RLL said...
As usual, this is great on you...especially the red. You look SO good in red!
12/19/10 4:09 PM
Christas said...
Another fun and informative review by you! I love both tops, but the RED one is my favorite. Red is YOUR color for sure! You are soooo speedy. I figure I complete one garment to every ten of yours. Your new tops make me want to sew another top from this wonderful pattern. Love the new hairdo too!
12/19/10 4:16 PM
rivergum said...
This top looks great on you, Annette. I love, love, love the fabric! You always look so elegant in everything you make.
12/19/10 4:29 PM
Sweetiebop said...
Merry Christmas young lady. Another great review and fabulous tops. I really like that fabric too. My computer is so slow and I just pulled up the red top which definitely shows the essence of Annette (bright and cheery).
12/19/10 4:52 PM
Rhonda in Montreal said...
Gorgeous!!! AND the tops, too ;) Especially the RED--it SNAPS!! ;)
12/19/10 5:12 PM
Terri A said...
Pin in the eye? You are so funny! Great make and thx for the extra info on the sleeves...
12/19/10 6:07 PM
FreyaStark said...
A fabulous top. It looks great! Another sewing triumph for you.
12/19/10 6:44 PM
janet said...
You look BEAUTIOUS in you red top! It makes you look mucho SLIM and ELEGANT. Great fitting SAVE with your french darts. WONDERFUL, THOROUGH review--lots of tips and tricks. Wish I had bought this pattern at the Joann's sale today. Your review, along with Christas made me turn the corner on this pattern. Now I can not wait to make this up!
12/19/10 7:00 PM
Karendee said...
Another wonderful top made in record breaking time. Your speed and workmanship is absolutely amazing. Thanks, also, for the excellent information about altering a ragland sleeve pattern. I always learn so much from your reviews and appreciate all the information told with wit. This is a special pattern that looks so very good on you.
12/19/10 7:29 PM
Meggie LuLu said...
These tops are soooooo pretty!!!! Your hair looks very beautiful, btw!! =)
12/19/10 7:42 PM
carolynw said...
Beautiful tops - love the red on you!! Great review as always - have a wonderful Christmas Annette and keep on inspiring me to sew!! Love the new sassy hair
12/19/10 8:20 PM
Barbara V said...
Gosh....I love both of your tops! You look fabulous in both of them, especially the red. And "pin in the eye" !?! Thanks for the chuckles! Great review with many helpful tips. Merry Christmas!
12/19/10 8:58 PM
callmeRuth said...
Beautiful!!
12/19/10 9:38 PM
michellep74 said...
Great top! I love the neckline on this!
12/19/10 10:06 PM
MNBarb said...
This is such a good neckline for you. Both tops are perfect.
12/20/10 7:15 AM
Grammy Gin said...
You look really gorgeous in the red one...you know that is your true color!! You look good in the animal print as well, but you know! Wishing you & Tim a very Merry Christmas & a HEALTHY New Year.
12/20/10 8:17 AM
sewtime said...
LOVE your top!!
12/20/10 12:36 PM
fuzzygalore said...
Let me be contrary, and say that while you do look gorgeous in the red, the taupe is such a wonderful color with your hair that it'd be too bad to pass it up.. Maybe it'd have been easier to lower the badly-placed empire seam, and do an fba so that you had a few gathers under the bust, or a couple small pleats? Then you wouldn't have had to do so much :-). Empire seams are a big-busted girl's friends I think, if you can put them where they belong.
12/20/10 1:39 PM
Heatherrique said...
Yowza! I wish that I purchased this pattern at the last JA's sale... On a musical note, it is not so coincidental that while starting to read your review, Justin Timberlake's hit song from a few years ago (I like the melody, but not the not-so-conservative lyrics) started playing in the background. I'll change JT's lyrics to "YOU bring the GLAMOUR back...." Thanks for a very informative and fun review.
12/20/10 2:06 PM
Catbird said...
What an epic! I'm always amazed when I read through your process and then compare that to the effortless elegance of the finished product -- I think most people would end up with a mess on their hands, but you've made two GORGEOUS tops! I love them equally. The tamed collar on the animal print one is very beautiful, and the free collar on the red one is beautiful in a whole different way. The darts were a brilliant idea, too. Well, my comment is becoming longer than your excellent review, so I'd better stop now. :-)) Great work!! Oh wait, one more thing -- I love your hair!
12/20/10 4:02 PM
Margaret said...
Both tops look great on you! Thanks for all the fit info. I also find that Vogues often have skinny sleeves compared to some other brands.
12/22/10 8:59 AM
blue mooney said...
Great review - nice animal print that isn't too too. The neckline is lovely!
12/22/10 12:29 PM
JETrinity said...
I think I agree with fuzzygalore. Lower the seam in the front. Some other people have done that. I checked PR and 11 people kept the front seam and had no major alterations. However, 6 people eliminated the front seam and 3 had major alterations. I believe this seam holds the pattern and cowl together.
12/29/10 6:41 PM
KathySews said...
how did I miss this? another great, fun read. I also love the red
1/1/11 12:03 PM
1SewSweet said...
I love this top Annette!!! I have this pattern too and what I made, I assure you doesn't look anything like this...if it had, it wouldn't be a dust rag now!! I'm going to try it again using your technique! Thanks for the tip, love your work!
1/1/11 8:57 PM
pammieh said...
I love this top on you!
1/2/11 0:12 AM
CarolynGM said...
Awesome review -- You illustrated and described your pattern changes wonderfully. Both tops are lovely.
6/18/11 6:46 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Simplicity 2994

photo
by: Bootzey

Review
Sewn Square One Skirt Smarts Pattern

Sewn Square One Skirt Smarts Pattern

Buy Now
Favorite Things Little Prairie Girl Pattern

Favorite Things Little Prairie Girl Pattern

Buy Now
Simplicity 1798

photo
by: Alice Wang

Review