Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Kwik Sew: 3504 thumbsup - Type:Mens - Pants    printable version
Viewed 430 times 17 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 9 people   
Reviewed by:CathyWeeks
photo
About CathyWeeksstar
MN USA
Member since: 9/5/08
Reviews written: 22
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 16
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/31/10 1:13 PM
Last Updated:1/2/11 12:51 PM


See other patterns in this category: Mens - Pants    
Available for sale on PR: $11.99 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $11.99     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Peter in NYC said...
Sounds like you met the challenges and then some. I think these look great. Having made Kwik Sew jeans myself I understand where you're coming from. Mens flys are a challenge and it always helps to have a pair of RTW jeans nearby to compare it to, in addition to the written instructions. These willl probably shrink some over time, not to worry. Congratulations on a job well done!
12/31/10 1:27 PM
CathyWeeks said...
Thanks, Peter. I did indeed have a pair of RTW jeans to look at, and it IS really helpful. Unfortunately, I prewashed and dried the fabric FIVE times prior cutting, so I doubt there'll be much shrinkage.
12/31/10 1:30 PM
treefrog said...
The jeans look great and I love the personal touch of using the batik print as the pocket lining. Thanks for putting heaps of detail in your review.
12/31/10 3:26 PM
MNBarb said...
Jeans are such a rewarding sewing project and yours look great! Once you get the basic fit you can always make minor adjustments on the next pair. I second your suggestion for keeping a pair of RTW nearby to get the topstitching and bartacking right. Congrats!
12/31/10 11:18 PM
Christas said...
One of the goals I have for 2011 is to make jeans for my husband and older sons. I really appreciate your review as this is the pattern I bought to make their jeans. Nice sewing!
1/1/11 12:09 PM
Annette1 said...
GREAT review, and you've done a SUPERB job on these jeans, and I see MANY MORE in the future. :o) I've contemplated getting this pattern for my husband, too, before it's no longer available. :o)
1/2/11 6:39 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Create a Jacket Muslin
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Create a Jacket Muslin

Online Sewing Classes
Altering Pants
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Pants

New Look 6648
photo
Review by Aya on 8/12/11
Read Review

Oliver + S Playtime Dress, Tunic + Leggings Digital Pattern (5-12)
Oliver + S Playtime Dress, Tunic + Leggings Digital Pattern (5-12)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

In-House Claire Shorts Digital Pattern
In-House Claire Shorts Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 2759 Twinset
photo
Review by LiZ on 5/31/04
Read Review

SewBaby The Twirly Dress Pattern
SewBaby The Twirly Dress Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Petite Plus 601 Pattern
Petite Plus 601 Pattern

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 5640 Pattern ( Size 18W-20W-22W-24W )
McCalls 5640 Pattern ( Size 18W-20W-22W-24W )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 9002 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )
Vogue 9002 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )

Details
Price: $22.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us