SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Self Drafted Pattern> Self Drafted (Women's Peacoat)

7 more reviews
Review submitted in Winter Wear Contest
Viewed 912 times 
Reviewed by:JanaL
photo

 
 
About JanaLstar
UT USA
Member since: 10/8/08
Reviews written: 8
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 11 people
patterns reviewed: 7
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/31/10 5:03 PM
Last Updated:12/31/10 5:11 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 24 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
61 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Annette1 said...
Oh my, I couldn't WAIT to click on the thumbnail after seeing this LOVELY LAVENDER wool peeking out at me. And SELF-DRAFTED, to boot! What a beautiful, beautiful coat, masterfully tailored, and it couldn't fit any better if you tried! :o)
12/31/10 5:10 PM
ALFALFA said...
My compliments to the seamstress. Wonderful coat and i love the colour. Applause, applause. lynne
12/31/10 5:20 PM
Laurasews said...
Wow. Great job drafting and beautiful craftmanship!
12/31/10 5:40 PM
RadarRadiance said...
Your tailoring is impeccable, all of your detail paid off. Your coat is beautiful; I love the lines and style. It looks very expensive! Very impressive and being self drafted!!!! I wish it was a pattern and I'd run right out and buy it ;-)
12/31/10 5:45 PM
AmyRose said...
This is the best, best tailoring, fit, color and style.
12/31/10 6:12 PM
Christas said...
Absolutely amazing! Your coat is SO pretty and a garment to be very proud of. Very nice sewing!!!
12/31/10 6:43 PM
Nan Kay said...
Well done! Your top stitching is perfect. So is the whole coat!
12/31/10 6:51 PM
Elizabeth made this said...
That's so impressive that this is your first self-drafted design. What a beautiful coat. Brava!
12/31/10 6:53 PM
SewWil said...
Gorgeous!!! I love everything about your coat. Looks great on you.
12/31/10 7:31 PM
Maree P said...
This is stunning and an absolute credit to you. Your drafting, tailoring and sewing skills shine in this flawless coat.
12/31/10 7:48 PM
Peter in NYC said...
Beautiful coat with wonderful details. Great color too and the fit is excellent. Congratulations!
12/31/10 8:44 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Totally gorgeous in every way. The biggest compliment I can give you is to say, I WANT IT!! :) The amount of work you did, both the couture sewing and drafting (I totally understand how much time and effort it takes to draft a coat pattern) really shows. You did an outstanding job, and if this wasn't enough you wrote the perfect review detailing all the drafting details I like to hear plus your tailoring techniques. Thanks and nice job!
12/31/10 9:35 PM
michellep74 said...
Absolutely gorgeous coat! Stunning!
12/31/10 10:49 PM
3HoursPast said...
This is an incredible coat. Very beautiful.
12/31/10 11:55 PM
Lori V said...
This is such an incredible coat, fantastic job.
1/1/11 0:31 AM
Athene said...
Form fitting and gorgeous - you look fabulous. Congratulations on drafting such a beautiful coat for yourself. Nice to know about the Metric Pattern Cutting Book, as I think a may have that one in my stash.
1/1/11 1:34 AM
mesewlot said...
This truly is a very nice and well made suit~ gorgeous!
1/1/11 1:51 AM
Terri A said...
This coat is GREAT! Fabulous!
1/1/11 2:52 AM
glenj said...
rating your review as very helpful doesn't sound enough. your coat is truly amazing.The time and effort you put into this custom beauty really shows.The information you shared and the books you used for help are beyond very helpful.fit is perfect ,WOW well done
1/1/11 4:57 AM
no7262 said...
WOW! This is really very nice! You got the most perfect fit! Awesome! Nora :)
1/1/11 8:13 AM
becca a said...
What a gorgeous coat! Your fit is so flattering, and I love the color and style. Beautiful topstitching, too.
1/1/11 9:23 AM
Diane333 said...
Incredible. Just love your coat.
1/1/11 10:07 AM
betty bushwacker said...
what a work of art this is! Absolutely gorgeous.
1/1/11 11:06 AM
janet said...
Your coat has so many PERFECT details--I do not have the words to describe how I feel. FANTASTIC result.
1/1/11 11:22 AM
bananaoil said...
Wow! Beautiful lining too!
1/1/11 1:32 PM
Amanda S. said...
Gorgeous! I love the fit and color and all the piecing you did in the back. It looks really expensive and I can't believe you drafted this yourself!!! Wow!
1/1/11 2:22 PM
Rickella said...
Wow, wow, wow. I love the jacket. The color and fit are awesome. Very nice job!
1/1/11 2:44 PM
JillyBe said...
Oh my gosh this jacket is amazing!!! Self drafted? Wow - What an accomplishment!
1/1/11 2:56 PM
Barbara V said...
Really beautiful and your top notch self-drafting is remarkable....congratulations!
1/1/11 3:22 PM
marjenann said...
Extraordinary!! Simply fabulous in every way!!!
1/1/11 5:25 PM
suebbb said...
wow. beautiful coat and well worth all the time and effort!!
1/1/11 5:36 PM
Karendee said...
What a huge accomplishment that you drafted and tailored this lovely lavender coat.
1/1/11 5:49 PM
quixoticpixels said...
This is gorgeous! You did an amazing job. Love the color too :)
1/1/11 5:54 PM
Kay Y said...
Beautiful work!
1/2/11 1:50 PM
hongkongshopper said...
This is just so gorgeous. Congratulations on such a great fit. Love the colour too!
1/2/11 6:58 PM
Leorah said...
Beautifully done and I LOVE the lining.
1/2/11 8:37 PM
MarinaVK said...
this is great!!!! congratulations!
1/3/11 8:43 PM
cboots said...
I just saw this today, and oh WOW! Great choices in colour, style, and beautifully made.
1/4/11 11:40 AM
AnneMarie60 said...
Your well-drafted coat fits your frame beautifully! Great color on you. Love the vibrant lining you chose. Absolutely gorgeous!
1/4/11 12:59 PM
newmama said...
You've made an absolutely gorgeous coat. I cannot believe it is self-drafted as well.
1/4/11 4:58 PM
marjoriekh said...
Beautiful in every detail. This coat is an inspiration. What fun, too, to take it off and drape it over your chair in a cafe to give a glimpse of the lining! Looking forward to what you draft next...
1/4/11 5:56 PM
Weif said...
Absolutely beautiful coat -- while the fact that you drafted this complicated pattern yourself is inspiring (maybe one day I will...), I wish that there was a pattern so I could make one myself ;)
1/4/11 8:23 PM
mylittlemorsel said...
Very nicely done! You should be so proud of your accomplishment.
1/4/11 9:49 PM
RobbieK said...
AWESOME!!!! Your skills are very, very impressive.
1/5/11 9:51 AM
DesignsByDenise said...
What a great accomplishment. Perfect in every way, and even better looking than your J. Crew inspiration piece. Well done!
1/5/11 7:10 PM
Anne Cherry said...
What a work of art! Makes me want to try even harder to get as beautiful a finish as you have!
1/5/11 10:01 PM
BMH said...
Brava! What a beautiful coat. The top-stitching adds just enough detail. It was really helpful, too, to read about how you thought everything through. You're in an inspiration!
1/6/11 12:55 PM
lynne1nor said...
Amazing coat! Such a beautiful job you did and what a nice color! Impressive!
1/7/11 7:32 PM
Bonnie O said...
I love purple so I was initially drawn to your thumbnail. then when I viewed your photos, I was sooo impressed. I switched back to the review to see what pattern you used and OMG! Self-drafted!!! You certainly got my vote. Lovely on you!
1/7/11 9:21 PM
waltzqueen said...
SPECTACULAR!! I'd say this was a designer coat from Neimans if I didn't know better! Gorgeous design (and unique!!), love the color, the fit is wonderful. WOW. A++.
1/9/11 1:14 PM
squirrellypoo said...
Thank you so much for all your drafting info, it's very helpful to beginning drafters like me. Your coat is beautiful, and even though you only briefly mention all the tailoring you did, I know how much work is involved because I just completed my own coat using similar techniques!!
1/11/11 9:17 AM
SoVintage said...
What can I say that has not been said already? FANTABULOUS!!!!
1/11/11 5:53 PM
said...
Just perfect!
1/11/11 6:12 PM
Nessa09 said...
Absolutely love it!
1/11/11 6:15 PM
manola6176 said...
You accomplish agreat job and the result is gorgeous
1/12/11 4:58 AM
canei said...
WOW!!!
1/12/11 10:56 AM
Silknmore said...
What an amazing coat and your workmanship is amazing. Your skills are enviable. You have inspired me to draft a coat some day.
1/14/11 12:47 PM
guillorypr said...
Great job! It's lovely.
1/14/11 11:23 PM
Lexley said...
Absolutely sublime! And you say you are an intermediate sewer???? More like super advanced. Can't believe you drafted this yourself. Thanks for the tips on the resources you used..will look these up. :)
1/17/11 4:11 PM
AllNewtoMe said...
Wow! That's gorgeous. I hope one day I am as skilled at this sewing/drafting work! Very, very lovely.
3/10/11 8:51 PM
WhatSew said...
My co-worker just bought this same coat in heather - yours look SO much better! You did a fantastic job on the details, seaming, color choice and the lining is beautiful! Thank you now I have to run and buy a drafting book!
12/2/11 1:55 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

McCall's 6038

photo
by: Lori V

Review
New Look 6110

photo
by: penelopey4

Review
SewBaby Animal Wrappers Pattern

SewBaby Animal Wrappers Pattern

Buy Now
Favorite Things Little Prairie Girl Pattern

Favorite Things Little Prairie Girl Pattern

Buy Now