Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 5208 (Plus size knit top) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 1198 times 4 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 2 people   
Reviewed by:JDpenelope
photo
Friend of PR
About JDpenelopestarstar
KS USA
Member since: 9/9/03
Reviews written: 81
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 27 people
patterns reviewed: 75
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/29/04 10:58 PM
Last Updated:6/30/04 0:33 AM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Debbie Cook said...
Brava Penolope!! The shirt looks great, and you should feel proud for contributing such a thoughtful and beautiful to a woman who will surely feel blessed.
6/30/04 2:00 AM
SouthernStitch said...
Thanks for such detail about your neckline finish! Your top will be well appreciated!
6/30/04 7:56 AM
JDpenelope said...
Thanks, ladies. Now that I think of it, maybe "GAPOSIS" isn't really the right term. What happened was the neckline waved and stretched out of shape. Amazing that the fiddling (pressing it down in place) and steaming actually worked--and it seems to be holding after several days of additional handling.
6/30/04 8:28 AM
D1Diva said...
So nice of you to donate your time and skill for such a good cause. One comment about the clear elastic tip from Deepika. Cutting the elastic before sewing, according to the pattern measurement, is neccessary to control stretching especially along bias edges. Sewing uncut elastic onto a stretched out (and sometimes it doesn't look stretched until you compare it to the pattern) piece of fabric may defeat the purpose of using the elastic.
6/30/04 9:33 AM
D1Diva said...
Penelope, I apologize! When I reread my comment, I thought it sounded kind of snooty. I didn't mean it that way! Try cutting the elastic first and see if that helps the "wave" problem. Also, I love the red fabric. It's so vibrant and lively!
6/30/04 9:50 AM
Mary Stiefer said...
I have made this same top many times and love it. I used the bias cut for the neckline and it always works if you do one thing - cut the neckline piece shorter than it calls for. This way, the stretch is taken care of and it lays quite flat after that. Start with 1/2" and then stretch to fit the neckline. If there still is too much give try cutting it a bit shorter. If you plan on making this a few more times, this is the easiest way to go. P.s. I love the red color
6/30/04 10:38 AM
JDpenelope said...
D1Diva - No offense taken! Diva and Mary -- I really appreciate your tips--and will definitely try them--because the waving neckline almost gave me heart failure! Mary -- If you're still there, have you tried bias binding with knit fabric, also? Thanks again.
6/30/04 11:25 AM
JDpenelope said...
Ugh Duplicate post. Sorry.
6/30/04 11:27 AM
Mary Stiefer said...
No, I haven't - if you have some tips on how to do that - please let me know. I still like that red color. - hehehe
6/30/04 6:48 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Online Sewing Classes
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Simplicity 2475
photo
Review by JasperJ on 11/15/09
Read Review

Butterick 5415 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )
Butterick 5415 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 0179 Pattern
Kwik Sew 0179 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 7760
photo
Review by becca a on 2/1/09
Read Review

Peek-A Boo La Jolla Swimsuit Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )
Peek-A Boo La Jolla Swimsuit Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Sweet Pea Booties Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )
Peek-A Boo Sweet Pea Booties Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Valencia Jacket & Pants Pattern
Sewing Workshop Valencia Jacket & Pants Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby Travel High Chair Pattern
SewBaby Travel High Chair Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us