SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 5208 (Plus size knit top)

4 more reviews
Viewed 1201 times 
Reviewed by:JDpenelope
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About JDpenelopestarstar
Member since: 9/9/03
Reviews written: 84
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 27 people
patterns reviewed: 78
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/29/04 10:58 PM
Last Updated:6/30/04 0:33 AM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 2 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Mary Stiefer said...
No, I haven't - if you have some tips on how to do that - please let me know. I still like that red color. - hehehe
6/30/04 6:48 PM
JDpenelope said...
Ugh Duplicate post. Sorry.
6/30/04 11:27 AM
JDpenelope said...
D1Diva - No offense taken! Diva and Mary -- I really appreciate your tips--and will definitely try them--because the waving neckline almost gave me heart failure! Mary -- If you're still there, have you tried bias binding with knit fabric, also? Thanks again.
6/30/04 11:25 AM
Mary Stiefer said...
I have made this same top many times and love it. I used the bias cut for the neckline and it always works if you do one thing - cut the neckline piece shorter than it calls for. This way, the stretch is taken care of and it lays quite flat after that. Start with 1/2" and then stretch to fit the neckline. If there still is too much give try cutting it a bit shorter. If you plan on making this a few more times, this is the easiest way to go. P.s. I love the red color
6/30/04 10:38 AM
D1Diva said...
Penelope, I apologize! When I reread my comment, I thought it sounded kind of snooty. I didn't mean it that way! Try cutting the elastic first and see if that helps the "wave" problem. Also, I love the red fabric. It's so vibrant and lively!
6/30/04 9:50 AM
D1Diva said...
So nice of you to donate your time and skill for such a good cause. One comment about the clear elastic tip from Deepika. Cutting the elastic before sewing, according to the pattern measurement, is neccessary to control stretching especially along bias edges. Sewing uncut elastic onto a stretched out (and sometimes it doesn't look stretched until you compare it to the pattern) piece of fabric may defeat the purpose of using the elastic.
6/30/04 9:33 AM
JDpenelope said...
Thanks, ladies. Now that I think of it, maybe "GAPOSIS" isn't really the right term. What happened was the neckline waved and stretched out of shape. Amazing that the fiddling (pressing it down in place) and steaming actually worked--and it seems to be holding after several days of additional handling.
6/30/04 8:28 AM
SouthernStitch said...
Thanks for such detail about your neckline finish! Your top will be well appreciated!
6/30/04 7:56 AM
Debbie Cook said...
Brava Penolope!! The shirt looks great, and you should feel proud for contributing such a thoughtful and beautiful to a woman who will surely feel blessed.
6/30/04 2:00 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

StyleArc Debra Zebra Top

photo
by: FreyaStark

Review
MariaDenmark 101

photo
by: westmoon

Review
Sewing Workshop Village Bag Pattern

Sewing Workshop Village Bag Pattern

Buy Now
You Sew Girl Draped T-Dress Pattern

You Sew Girl Draped T-Dress Pattern

Buy Now