SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Sewing Workshop> Tosca Dress (Tosca Dress)

6 more reviews
Viewed 1005 times 
Reviewed by:Terri K
photo

 
 
About Terri Kstar
NC USA
Member since: 7/19/03
Reviews written: 25
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 34 people
patterns reviewed: 25
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/5/11 6:50 PM
Last Updated:1/11/11 5:52 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $22.95 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $22.95 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
said...
When I first saw the line drawing of the Tosca, I wasn't keen on it, however seeing your interpretations, and your modifications: I think it's great and I love it too. Could be a perfect autumn/winter dress.
1/11/11 9:00 PM
marthamyers said...
Another great version of this very intriguing pattern, Terri! I'm wondering if you'll wear the black one on its own or with something underneath? Great idea to use interesting fabric with it - great combination of pattern and fabric. Also would love to see it on you. Thanks for the second review of this!
1/11/11 10:48 AM
Barbara V said...
So nice to see your review of the Tosca Dress. If one wore a tank top underneath the dress with the large armholes, then I think it would look more like a dress. Your alterations made it so that you can wear it on its own as a dress. Both ways make a very wonderful dress. Very cute muslin.
1/8/11 11:15 AM
FreyaStark said...
You're quite right - keep it simple; let the fabric do the talking. I like your dress much more than the envelope version.
1/7/11 6:14 AM
Karine said...
Very cute dress and DEFINITELY wearable. Linda Lee (Sewing Workshop) said she wears a fun tank top under it because of deep armholes. I sort of like the look given that it's a funky design to start with. Your shortened length makes the dress seem flirty, youthful - love it! It's next on my "to do" pile. Thanks for the review.
1/6/11 9:42 PM
lamstu said...
mmm so interesting! I'll look forward to seeing Dorothy's and maybe a few more to decide. Yours looks great.
1/6/11 9:22 AM
mm said...
Thanks for reviewing this pattern. I have ordered it and am looking forward to giving it a go. Yours looks great.
1/6/11 7:43 AM
Annette1 said...
This is a pattern that I've not yet seen, and I really like the silhouette. Your muslin is most definitely CUTE and WEARABLE. :o) I'm looking forward to seeing Dorothy's, too.
1/6/11 0:22 AM
DorothyK said...
I'm glad to see a review of this dress. I made one too, and will review it after I take some pictures. In my opinion, this pattern is misrepresented as a dress; it's really a jumper. To wear it as a dress, it has to be modified, as you did. I like it with the Ikea fabric - I have the same fabric.:) This may be a sample dress, but you can definitely wear it - I think it's great.
1/5/11 9:09 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

New Look 6145

photo
by: birdmcfarl...

Review
Self Drafted Pattern 18031-1003

photo
by: mhoutz

Review
Perfect Pouches

Perfect Pouches

Buy Now
You Sew Girl 90mm Barrel Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 90mm Barrel Purse Pattern

Buy Now