SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Bernina
Bernina

Pattern Reviews> Sewing Workshop> Tosca Dress (Tosca Dress)

6 more reviews
Viewed 1015 times 
Reviewed by:Terri K
photo

 
 
About Terri Kstar
NC USA
Member since: 7/19/03
Reviews: 25 (patterns: 25)
Skill level:Advanced
Favored by: 34 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/5/11 6:50 PM
Last Updated:1/11/11 5:52 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $22.95 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $22.95 Pattern Details

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Historical Patterns
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
said... (1/11/11 9:00 PM) Reply
When I first saw the line drawing of the Tosca, I wasn't keen on it, however seeing your interpretations, and your modifications: I think it's great and I love it too. Could be a perfect autumn/winter dress.
marthamyers said... (1/11/11 10:48 AM) Reply
Another great version of this very intriguing pattern, Terri! I'm wondering if you'll wear the black one on its own or with something underneath? Great idea to use interesting fabric with it - great combination of pattern and fabric. Also would love to see it on you. Thanks for the second review of this!
Barbara V said... (1/8/11 11:15 AM) Reply
So nice to see your review of the Tosca Dress. If one wore a tank top underneath the dress with the large armholes, then I think it would look more like a dress. Your alterations made it so that you can wear it on its own as a dress. Both ways make a very wonderful dress. Very cute muslin.
FreyaStark said... (1/7/11 6:14 AM) Reply
You're quite right - keep it simple; let the fabric do the talking. I like your dress much more than the envelope version.
Karine said... (1/6/11 9:42 PM) Reply
Very cute dress and DEFINITELY wearable. Linda Lee (Sewing Workshop) said she wears a fun tank top under it because of deep armholes. I sort of like the look given that it's a funky design to start with. Your shortened length makes the dress seem flirty, youthful - love it! It's next on my "to do" pile. Thanks for the review.
lamstu said... (1/6/11 9:22 AM) Reply
mmm so interesting! I'll look forward to seeing Dorothy's and maybe a few more to decide. Yours looks great.
mm said... (1/6/11 7:43 AM) Reply
Thanks for reviewing this pattern. I have ordered it and am looking forward to giving it a go. Yours looks great.
Annette1 said... (1/6/11 0:22 AM) Reply
This is a pattern that I've not yet seen, and I really like the silhouette. Your muslin is most definitely CUTE and WEARABLE. :o) I'm looking forward to seeing Dorothy's, too.
DorothyK said... (1/5/11 9:09 PM) Reply
I'm glad to see a review of this dress. I made one too, and will review it after I take some pictures. In my opinion, this pattern is misrepresented as a dress; it's really a jumper. To wear it as a dress, it has to be modified, as you did. I like it with the Ikea fabric - I have the same fabric.:) This may be a sample dress, but you can definitely wear it - I think it's great.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Class Details

Online Class
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Class Details

Decades of Style 3009

photo
by: Sew Good

Review
Victoria Jones Collection Misses' Long & Short Caftans

Victoria Jones Collection Misses' Long & Short Caftans

Pattern Details
J Stern Designs Womens Jeans Pattern

J Stern Designs Womens Jeans Pattern

Pattern Details