SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 4047 (1950's Wardrobe)

25 more reviews
Viewed 485 times 
Reviewed by:Kellie R.
photo

 
 
About Kellie R.starstar
Member since: 7/4/07
Reviews written: 57
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 47 people
patterns reviewed: 54
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/7/11 12:59 PM
Last Updated:1/7/11 11:13 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 11 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    Coat/Jacket    Pants    Skirts    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Baba Yaga said...
What a nice job you did - a beautiful pairing of pattern and fabric. Well done!
1/7/11 1:22 PM
Elemenopeo said...
Just lovely.
1/7/11 6:20 PM
Christas said...
That style looks so nice on you! The wool is such a pretty one and makes such a pretty jacket! Thank you so much for the organza tip and the information on the sizing. I have had this pattern in my stash for such a long time - it's much closer to the top after seeing your version!
1/7/11 7:01 PM
Leslie Bonner said...
Lovely jacket - thank you for all the pics.
1/7/11 8:15 PM
Annette1 said...
Ooooooooo, how PRETTY you look in this jacket and the entire outfit. That fabric really IS gorgeous, made even more so with that sleek lining. As usual, your construction is PERFECT. Great BOOTS, too!
1/7/11 11:25 PM
LJane said...
I love the shape of this. And that fabric is perfect- the colors are beautiful.
1/7/11 11:44 PM
SewWil said...
Beautiful jacket. Great review. Thanks for all of the pictures.
1/7/11 11:50 PM
Kayseri said...
What a great jacket, and beautifully made.
1/8/11 3:50 AM
squirrellypoo said...
Gorgeous and so chic!! Great use of that fabric, too. Thanks for the comprehensive review!
1/8/11 5:29 AM
Rhoda K said...
A great looking jacket - very stylish. Love the fabric, too.
1/8/11 10:22 AM
valerie sews said...
I've had this pattern for a long time too. Your jacket is stunning.
1/8/11 6:06 PM
Danvillegirl said...
What a lovely jacket. Love how you used the fabric.
1/8/11 6:53 PM
Kellie R. said...
Thank you for all of your very nice comments! The wool was a great quality piece of fabric and a real joy to work with. I have some leftover and plan to make a skirt from it. :)
1/8/11 7:35 PM
lamstu said...
Beautiful jacket! Looks really well-made, and an excellent review, with styling tips too. Some of the vintage styles are still so wearable, as you show so beautifully in your outfit.
1/9/11 1:15 AM
Laurie Lou said...
Darling jacket and love the wool choice and bias cut bottom. I do have this wonderful pattern and now will have to pull it and make it for NEXT fall! And thanks so much for taking the time to post all the great photos of the construction...very helpful! Laurie
3/9/11 12:37 PM
Vonnevo said...
A beautiful jacket !! Thank you for your VH review and posting all the photos and tips :) I was originally planning on making a cape, but wanted my arms free for carrying bags etc. Now revisiting this pattern and sewing up my stash.
5/6/13 2:48 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

Butterick 3523 OOP

photo
by: FreyaStark

Review
Christine Jonson Pleat Front Dress

Christine Jonson Pleat Front Dress

Buy Now
J Stern Designs Misses Jeans Pattern

J Stern Designs Misses Jeans Pattern

Buy Now