Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
McCall's: 2094 (Misses Tops 8 Great Looks) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 340 times 25 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 1 people   
Reviewed by:Hiyoko
photo
About Hiyoko
ON CANADA
Member since: 12/28/10
Reviews written: 4
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
patterns reviewed: 4
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/8/11 5:39 PM


See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
valerie sews said...
Your shirt look great. I like your choice of material.
1/8/11 5:46 PM
Kayseri said...
Good looking shirt.
1/8/11 6:05 PM
RadarRadiance said...
It does look cute even though the pattern wasn't what you wanted for fit. I wonder if some of the Junior sizes would work better for you? They are designed for a smaller higher bust? Just a thought... I like this pattern but then I have problems with the bust darts normally being too high up ;-0 I had read on one earlier review that this pattern has been around for many years so the "dated" is probable true. I've made this one twice, the second I went up a size and it is too big. My first one I liked and made a sleeveless version.
1/8/11 6:18 PM
MNBarb said...
It doesn't look dated on the photo. Whatever you did to fix the fit must have worked. I see a nice, fitted top, not schoolmarm-ish at all.
1/8/11 7:25 PM
Hiyoko said...
Thanks for the positive feedback!! Radar- I have made skirts using a junior pattern before, however they had an elastic waistband so it's hard to say for sure whether I would fit that size in another garment. I tend to wonder if in this pattern they just messed up in the placement of the darts. It's interesting how sizing varies from person to person. Finding the perfect fit is such a challenge! I used to sew a size 12, with practice I've realized that's not my size lol! I stick to the smaller sizes now and make modifications where they're needed. I have to admit, the patterns that make me work the hardest help me to develop as a sewer!
1/8/11 8:42 PM
SewWil said...
Very nice top. Good job.
1/9/11 1:57 AM
RadarRadiance said...
You do learn on each pattern. I can't believe you used a size 12!!! The 8 does a much better job and you have this one figured out because it looks very cute on you and fits nice. We do come in many shapes... haha!
1/9/11 10:31 AM
lynne1nor said...
I like your shirt very much! Nice fabric and nice spider buttons. Looks great to me!
1/9/11 12:05 PM
Diane333 said...
Like your shirt and the deep plaid color. Glad you got it to fit.
1/9/11 5:11 PM
lamstu said...
I like your blouse very much, the modifications were worth your time. I guess your pattern size is likely to be smaller than your RTW size since you seem small boned. (For me, I wear size 10-12 RTW, I measure size 14-16/42 in patterns, but I have best results sewing size 10-12/40 and doing FBA plus a little extra added to both side seams. Keep up the good work!)
1/9/11 8:15 PM
JETrinity said...
It is a great looking shirt on you and you did a beautiful job working with the pattern. Congratulations on your first review. As an older teacher I wish they would not make patterns for all the young people (short hems, spaghetti straps, etc.). Guess we'll both have to look really hard at patterns and find something that works.
1/11/11 2:28 PM
Last.Ember said...
I love your shirt. If I was a size 8, I would buy it from you if you decided you didn't like it...You did and excellent job and I think it looks great on you!!!
1/25/11 8:46 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Fit the Tee to a T
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Fit the Tee to a T

Online Sewing Classes
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Simplicity 2406 Misses Dresses
photo
Review by dianconia on 3/13/14
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Basic Bolero Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )
Peek-A Boo Basic Bolero Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Art Smock Digital Pattern ( Size 2T-7 )
Peek-A Boo Art Smock Digital Pattern ( Size 2T-7 )

Details
Price: $4.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1816
photo
Review by Linda0902 on 9/23/13
Read Review

Victory Ava Paper Pattern
Victory Ava Paper Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

ADVANCED SLEEVE - A CD Book by Kenneth King
ADVANCED SLEEVE - A CD Book by Kenneth King

Details
Price: $24.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6643 Pattern
New Look 6643 Pattern

Details
Price: $4.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 4486 Pattern ( Size SML-MED-LRG )
Butterick 4486 Pattern ( Size SML-MED-LRG )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us