SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8469 (MISSES' DRESS)

33 more reviews
Viewed 593 times 
Reviewed by:rivergum
photo

 
 
About rivergumstarstarstarstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 12/17/06
Reviews written: 128
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 51 people
patterns reviewed: 123
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/10/11 8:20 PM
Last Updated:1/12/11 4:10 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 2 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
17 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
jmosew said...
I've never ever commented before, but had to tell you that the fabric and the dress look lovely. I like the calf-length pinned picture, it looks more proportional to the fullness of the skirt to me than the shorter one does.
1/10/11 9:02 PM
FreyaStark said...
I think it looks fabulous as is - maxi length with no sash or belt. Even if you think you don't need a maxi dress, if you keep it, you'll find occasions to wear it. If you must shorten it, I agree with jmosew that mid-calf length looks better than the shorter version and fine without a belt.
1/10/11 9:09 PM
brrmm said...
I REALLY like the shorter knee length myself as it looks like a pretty summer dress that way. Great work.
1/10/11 9:25 PM
Schnauzer said...
What a lovely dress. Another vote for calf length, here.
1/10/11 11:38 PM
Annette1 said...
This is SO pretty in this lovely floral, WITH the silk lining, no less. I would absolutely leave it maxi for a while at least. Then, like you said, if you decide to cut it, go for the mid-calf length. You can always go shorter later! I like it just the way it is. :o)
1/10/11 11:40 PM
Natasha B said...
Such pretty fabric, the dress looks lovely. I would leave it maxi and enjoy the "specialness".
1/11/11 0:23 AM
Vonnevo said...
Love your beautiful dress either length. The longer length works nicely for cafe dining with strappy sandals on warm days. Maybe see what the *magic closet* tells you next summer :)
1/11/11 3:03 AM
BillieJean said...
I love the maxi but I like the calf length too and I think at the calf length you could do without the belt, which I like best. Beautiful dress.
1/11/11 7:18 AM
BHarmony said...
Please let it as a maxi--it would make a fabulous hostess gown, and the fabric is so lovely!
1/11/11 11:47 AM
Izzie said...
I vote Maxi too! It is a beautiful dress!
1/11/11 1:34 PM
waltzqueen said...
I vote for calf length which has the best proportions. Lovely lovely dress.
1/11/11 6:16 PM
kkkkaty said...
I vote for the maxi, as well. The shortest version is least flattering. Very pretty fabric!
1/12/11 5:59 PM
Karen8320 said...
Lovely work, Frantic! I say 'go the maxi'. I love the long and floaty look and I think you look particularly elegant in the maxi look.
1/12/11 8:51 PM
LorrieAnn said...
The dress is beautiful - fabric is lovely, and it fits you nicely. If you already have lots of work dresses, save this just the way it is for summer. I think you will wear it quite often - very pretty.
1/12/11 10:21 PM
SewWil said...
Very pretty dress. The fabric is beautiful and perfect for this style. I like the maxi. It looks great on you.
1/13/11 0:28 AM
KathleenS said...
Tricky. I know I would be agonising over this decision. Of the shorter ones, I prefer the calf length. Maybe keep track of how much/if you wear the maxi for the rest of the summer and if you don't, then shorten it for next summer? Lovely fabric.
1/14/11 6:01 PM
Belladogna said...
I love it as a maxi and I love how it looks on you!
5/27/12 3:14 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Jennifer Stern The Perfectly Fitted Shirt by the Cup-Full Pattern ( Size 16-24(Cup B-DD) )

Jennifer Stern The Perfectly Fitted Shirt by the Cup-Full Pattern ( Size 16-24(Cup B-DD) )

Buy Now
Maggie

Maggie

Buy Now