SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 5766 

5 more reviews
Viewed 302 times 
Reviewed by:Handmade by Carla
photo

 
 
About Handmade by Carlastar
GA USA
Member since: 7/16/07
Reviews written: 6
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 6
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/22/11 0:33 AM
Last Updated:1/22/11 11:04 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 7 people   
See other patterns in this category: Outerwear    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Handmade by Carla said...
Thanks! Sadly, I forgot all about this coat. I'll be digging it out of my closet.
1/28/12 1:42 PM
Eve27546 said...
You did an awesone job on your coat.
8/2/11 1:59 PM
Annette1 said...
Oh darn, a new excuse to wear elbow-length gloves! :o) ABSOLUTELY, because this coat is WAY TOO PRETTY to let it linger in the closet, cold or not. It's very flattering! :o)
1/23/11 5:28 PM
Handmade by Carla said...
Thanks! Yes, my cat also sits on top of any fabric she can get her paws on, including pieces from projects that I am working on while she "supervises" my sewing. It drives me crazy that I have cat fur on things that I haven't even completed but I don't have the heart to make her get off of my sewing table (except she's not allowed on my dining room table when I'm cutting out fabric... or ever!) and I enjoy her company. My mother complains that she still finds cat fur on clothing in her closet from when I moved back home for a few months way back in 2002. I keep lint rollers in my car as well. Regarding the print, Erica B. posted a review of this coat (View B) in a beautiful black and white houndstooth print awhile ago.
1/23/11 4:59 PM
Mary Heckman said...
Very nice coat and a job well done!
1/23/11 7:50 AM
CallMeSu said...
Kyute!
1/23/11 2:09 AM
o3b said...
I like your coat a lot. I would have completely dismissed this pattern with the cover it has. I much prefer your solid colored one, although I can understand how a print would hide cat hair much better. Thank you for the info on getting coats/jackets professionally pressed. It's something I would have never done, and have never heard.
1/23/11 1:57 AM
sarah121haras said...
Your coat looks great. I can echo dfr's comments about keeping the entire cat off. If I have fabric in just one corner of my cutting table that is the corner my cat will occupy.
1/22/11 4:48 PM
GBK said...
Very nice job! The hard work has paid off!
1/22/11 4:30 PM
dfr2010 said...
Cats seem drawn to expensive fabrics like moths to a flame ...my 3 seem to approve of fleece, flannel, and wools! Of course, my problem is keeping the entire cat off the fabrics, not just the hair ;) I've invested in lint rollers. Lovely coat, and I share your puzzlement on the 3/4 sleeves.
1/22/11 3:19 PM
mhk3boys said...
Your coat looks awesome! I had a persian cat and I can remember how "hairy" my clothes would get!
1/22/11 3:07 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Class Details

Online Class
Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Class Details

Vogue Patterns 8757

photo
by: chenille

Review
Victoria Jones Collection Misses' Pareau Style Wrap Dress

Victoria Jones Collection Misses' Pareau Style Wrap Dress

More Info
Paradiso Designs Everyday Bag Pattern

Paradiso Designs Everyday Bag Pattern

More Info
Style 3759

photo
by: punkmik

Review