Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Jalie: 2908 (Women's Stretch Jeans) thumbsup - Type:Pants    printable version
Viewed 688 times 158 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 12 people   
Reviewed by:ryan's mom
photo
About ryan's momstarstarstar
PA USA
Member since: 11/30/04
Reviews written: 128
Favored by: 42 people
patterns reviewed: 113
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2009
Posted on:1/25/11 9:34 PM


See other patterns in this category: Pants    
Available for sale on PR: $12.75 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $12.75     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
20 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
no7262 said...
They look great! Nice job! Nora :)
1/25/11 9:42 PM
Christas said...
These look FANTASTIC!!! I love this pattern, but still have only made it for my daughters. I want a pair for me, me, me! Your topstitching looks so nice on both pairs .... excellent sewing!
1/25/11 9:56 PM
sewing for fun said...
Great, detailed review! Your jeans look terrific!
1/25/11 9:59 PM
aliann1 said...
These look great. Clicked through to your profile and see you have a Janome Memory Craft 3000. Is this the machine you did the topstitching on?
1/25/11 10:35 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Of course PR needs another Jalie Jeans review. :) I found all the details on your blog most helpful. Great job.
1/25/11 10:35 PM
Rhoda K said...
Great jeans and very good fit.
1/25/11 10:59 PM
Mufffet said...
Oh boy - how great this looks on you! :) Good work for sure!
1/25/11 11:39 PM
FreyaStark said...
They look fabulous on you. The topstitching is especially impressive.
1/26/11 0:58 AM
MNBarb said...
Isn't this just the BEST pattern? Your jeans look great with a perfect fit and nice construction details. I'll just warn you that this pattern is addictive and you will find yourself making many variations; corduroy, different colors of topstitching, different pockets....it just keeps going.
1/26/11 7:31 AM
ryan's mom said...
Thank you for the kind words! For the topstitching, I used a yellow/gold upholstery thread on all double layers with regular weight Guterman thread in the bobbin with a stitch length of 3.5 mm. Once I got to multiple layers of 3+, my machine started balking with skipped stitches so I switched to the gold Guterman for my needle thread with the triple stitch setting on my machine with a 3.5 mm stitch length. This gave me that thick top stitching look of the upholstery weight thread without the machine getting cranky.
1/26/11 8:39 AM
JEF said...
Beautiful jeans!
1/26/11 9:10 AM
cleverkitty said...
Great looking Jeans, you can also thread two strands of thread through a jeans needle and get the thick thread look. Upholstery thread can mess up the timing of a home machine and colors are limited. I want to try this pattern, thank-you for the review!
1/26/11 10:02 AM
Dei said...
Fantastic job!
1/26/11 11:28 AM
Dale C said...
I'll have to drag my pattern back out again. Yours looks great and your blog was helpful. Thanks for reviewing it again. Whenever I see one of these reviews, I look for more stretch denim... LOL
1/26/11 2:58 PM
woggy said...
Terrific looking jeans. Your blog has great information on how you did your jeans. One question for you: when you duct taped your jeans, did you do this process after you had worn your jeans or right after you washed them? My fave jeans stretch out after washing. They are made from 100 percent denim and snug when I first wear them. But I like how they fit and feel after a day or two. Thanks for your response.
1/26/11 4:47 PM
ryan's mom said...
Woggy, I think I washed them first and taped them before wearing. The jeans that I duct taped are a stretch denim, but they are not as stretchy as the fabric I used so I took that into account. I don't know how much the thigh area stretches, as opposed to the crotch curve, and that (the thigh area) was most important to me. You might want to go with the fit you like after wearing and tape it at that point and use 1" side seam allowances. The duct tape/pattern comparison was just a basic reference so if I saw a glaring discrepancy in the widths, I could decide how to handle it before cutting into the fabric.
1/26/11 5:04 PM
Sewphisticated Artisan said...
Wow! I am preshrinking some denim as I type to sew these up next week. I hope I get as good a fit as you. Great job!
1/26/11 10:39 PM
cleverclogs said...
Fabulous jeans and your blog record of making duct-tape models of a garment is a great resource. Thankyou very much!
1/27/11 6:21 AM
persevering said...
You look fabulous in your great looking/fitting jeans. Your diligence and sharing is greatly appreciated. Except for being shorter in height by 3", I believe I can learn so much from you because my body shape and measurements are close to yours and I need all the help I can glean from everything I read. Your blog postings are appreciated too.
1/27/11 1:32 PM
Mahogany Stylist said...
Outstanding! Great looking well fitting jeans.
3/30/11 12:53 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Online Sewing Classes
Create a Jacket Muslin
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Create a Jacket Muslin

Butterick 5520
photo
Review by Mahogany S... on 9/29/10
Read Review

Oliver + S Apple-Picking Dress Digital Pattern (Size 6M-4)
Oliver + S Apple-Picking Dress Digital Pattern (Size 6M-4)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Megan Nielsen Ruched Maternity Skirt Digital Pattern
Megan Nielsen Ruched Maternity Skirt Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2346 Men's Vests
photo
Review by HeidiBacca... on 5/26/13
Read Review

Christine Jonson Bell Sleeve Wrap & A-Line Skirt
Christine Jonson Bell Sleeve Wrap & A-Line Skirt

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Islander Sewing Systems Irish Coat Pattern Pattern
Islander Sewing Systems Irish Coat Pattern Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3514 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3514 Pattern

Details
Price: $14.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 7008 Pattern
Burda 7008 Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us