SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 01-2011-107 (Gathered-Shoulder Blouse)

3 more reviews
Viewed 450 times 
Reviewed by:Karen6790
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Karen6790starstarstarstar
PA USA
Member since: 3/2/06
Reviews written: 212
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 83 people
patterns reviewed: 211
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/28/11 10:23 PM
Last Updated:1/28/11 11:54 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 17 people   
See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
18 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
3HoursPast said...
Thanks for the review. I agree with you- this blouse isn't eye-catching in the magazine at all. When a student of mine came in working on this pattern my jaw hit the floor cause it's such a nice little blouse pattern. She had some issues with the blouse, I wasn't sure if it was her inexperience with Burda, or a flaw in the pattern. Now that I read your review, I'm off to make this up in my own Liberty cotton!
4/22/11 5:41 AM
Kayseri said...
Lovely blouse. I can see you watching the forecast for warmer weather.
1/30/11 2:49 PM
Paris75008 said...
Pretty, pretty. I love the contrasting placket / collar band. Roll on spring!
1/29/11 5:33 PM
style inspired said...
Thanks for your great review. Your version is very pretty. This is my favorite pattern from this issue.
1/29/11 3:01 PM
berescga said...
Beautiful blouse! I especially love the fabric. Thanks for the review - this is fairly high on my to sew list, and I'm glad to see it looks as great as I expected when sewn up.
1/29/11 2:47 PM
Karine said...
I immediately loved your blouse when I saw your photo. Perfect fabric, and the solid color placket/collar band is such a nice touch. I'm intrigued with the Burda collar treatment and will have to try it. Thanks for the tip on the yoke - your treatment makes for a much nicer garment.
1/29/11 1:54 PM
michellep74 said...
Cute blouse--I liked this in the magazine, so it's great to see it made up and read your review!
1/29/11 12:32 PM
SewWil said...
Very pretty blouse. Thanks for the detailed review.
1/29/11 11:47 AM
anya01 said...
What a pretty blouse. I just bought the January burda magazine, and the blouse caught my eye - but the photo didn't really show it off very well. Thank you for the detailed description; I feel more encouraged to give it a try now.
1/29/11 11:27 AM
Rhoda K said...
Very nice and love the style. Pleated front, no FBA = a good thing ;-)
1/29/11 9:42 AM
sewpatty said...
Ooo. Very nice. Thank you for this review. I am motivated to make this one too. Nice job.
1/29/11 9:23 AM
MNBarb said...
I love this blouse. I've done a Burda collar like this and am sold on the method. This pattern has so many nice extras and your methods and the green contrast make this a beautiful garment.
1/29/11 8:17 AM
dbsewer said...
This is such a cute blouse. I love the fabric. Thanks for an excellent and detailed review - the touch with the olive green inside placket and collar makes this shirt really stand out.
1/29/11 8:15 AM
FreyaStark said...
A lovely distinctive blouse.
1/29/11 3:20 AM
Christas said...
Very pretty blouse! It would have been perfect for the 75 degree weather we had today. It made nice teaser for spring, but snow is on the way in a few days. Like you, I am so ready to sew for spring. Your blouse will be so perfect for the warmer weather when it gets here! :-)
1/29/11 2:12 AM
Karen6790 said...
Izzie, I said 44 because I apparently can't type straight tonight. I changed it to 40, thanks for catching that.
1/28/11 11:57 PM
Izzie said...
Sweet blouse! Question about the sizing...you say you wear a 40 in wovens, but made a 44, why? Is it very close fitting? Thanks for the review.
1/28/11 11:50 PM
Dee2 said...
I noticed this pattern right away & am so glad to see it made up. Your shirt is really beautiful, hope the weather warms up for you to wear it!
1/28/11 10:35 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
More Knits
More Knits

Class Details

Online Class
Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Class Details

Ultrasuede Jacket DVD

Ultrasuede Jacket DVD

More Info
You Sew Girl Small Tote Pattern

You Sew Girl Small Tote Pattern

More Info