Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 01-2011-107 (Gathered-Shoulder Blouse) - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 450 times 3 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 17 people   
Reviewed by:Karen6790
photo
Friend of PR
About Karen6790starstarstarstar
PA USA
Member since: 3/2/06
Reviews written: 212
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 83 people
patterns reviewed: 211
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/28/11 10:23 PM
Last Updated:1/28/11 11:54 PM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
18 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Dee2 said...
I noticed this pattern right away & am so glad to see it made up. Your shirt is really beautiful, hope the weather warms up for you to wear it!
1/28/11 10:35 PM
Izzie said...
Sweet blouse! Question about the sizing...you say you wear a 40 in wovens, but made a 44, why? Is it very close fitting? Thanks for the review.
1/28/11 11:50 PM
Karen6790 said...
Izzie, I said 44 because I apparently can't type straight tonight. I changed it to 40, thanks for catching that.
1/28/11 11:57 PM
Christas said...
Very pretty blouse! It would have been perfect for the 75 degree weather we had today. It made nice teaser for spring, but snow is on the way in a few days. Like you, I am so ready to sew for spring. Your blouse will be so perfect for the warmer weather when it gets here! :-)
1/29/11 2:12 AM
FreyaStark said...
A lovely distinctive blouse.
1/29/11 3:20 AM
dbsewer said...
This is such a cute blouse. I love the fabric. Thanks for an excellent and detailed review - the touch with the olive green inside placket and collar makes this shirt really stand out.
1/29/11 8:15 AM
MNBarb said...
I love this blouse. I've done a Burda collar like this and am sold on the method. This pattern has so many nice extras and your methods and the green contrast make this a beautiful garment.
1/29/11 8:17 AM
sewpatty said...
Ooo. Very nice. Thank you for this review. I am motivated to make this one too. Nice job.
1/29/11 9:23 AM
Rhoda K said...
Very nice and love the style. Pleated front, no FBA = a good thing ;-)
1/29/11 9:42 AM
anya01 said...
What a pretty blouse. I just bought the January burda magazine, and the blouse caught my eye - but the photo didn't really show it off very well. Thank you for the detailed description; I feel more encouraged to give it a try now.
1/29/11 11:27 AM
SewWil said...
Very pretty blouse. Thanks for the detailed review.
1/29/11 11:47 AM
michellep74 said...
Cute blouse--I liked this in the magazine, so it's great to see it made up and read your review!
1/29/11 12:32 PM
Karine said...
I immediately loved your blouse when I saw your photo. Perfect fabric, and the solid color placket/collar band is such a nice touch. I'm intrigued with the Burda collar treatment and will have to try it. Thanks for the tip on the yoke - your treatment makes for a much nicer garment.
1/29/11 1:54 PM
berescga said...
Beautiful blouse! I especially love the fabric. Thanks for the review - this is fairly high on my to sew list, and I'm glad to see it looks as great as I expected when sewn up.
1/29/11 2:47 PM
style inspired said...
Thanks for your great review. Your version is very pretty. This is my favorite pattern from this issue.
1/29/11 3:01 PM
Paris75008 said...
Pretty, pretty. I love the contrasting placket / collar band. Roll on spring!
1/29/11 5:33 PM
Kayseri said...
Lovely blouse. I can see you watching the forecast for warmer weather.
1/30/11 2:49 PM
3HoursPast said...
Thanks for the review. I agree with you- this blouse isn't eye-catching in the magazine at all. When a student of mine came in working on this pattern my jaw hit the floor cause it's such a nice little blouse pattern. She had some issues with the blouse, I wasn't sure if it was her inexperience with Burda, or a flaw in the pattern. Now that I read your review, I'm off to make this up in my own Liberty cotton!
4/22/11 5:41 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Create a Jacket Muslin
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Create a Jacket Muslin

Online Sewing Classes
Altering Jackets
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Jackets

Kwik Sew 2767 nightgown
photo
Review by MaryLynn i... on 6/27/06
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Evelyn Dress and Swing Top Digital Pattern ( Size 18 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Evelyn Dress and Swing Top Digital Pattern ( Size 18 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sis Boom Marco Shirt for Men Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Marco Shirt for Men Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5283
photo
Review by Amanda S. on 1/2/09
Read Review

Christine Jonson Double Collar Princess Jacket
Christine Jonson Double Collar Princess Jacket

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Paradiso Designs Be Green Market Bag Pattern
Paradiso Designs Be Green Market Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $9.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 1255 Pattern ( Size 12-14-16-18-20 )
Vogue 1255 Pattern ( Size 12-14-16-18-20 )

Details
Price: $32.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6944 Pattern( Size 4-6-8-10-12-14-16 )
New Look 6944 Pattern( Size 4-6-8-10-12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $4.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us