SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 10-2007-119 (Seamed Stand Collar Coat)

4 more reviews
Review submitted in Fabric Stash - 2011 Contest
Viewed 383 times 
Reviewed by:nicegirl
photo

 
 
About nicegirlstarstarstarstar
DC USA
Member since: 5/10/06
Reviews written: 319
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 309 people
patterns reviewed: 319
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/1/11 2:01 PM
Pattern Size:Petite 


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 14 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns


Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
20 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
michellep74 said...
Gorgeous, gorgeous coat! I love the design changes that you made from the original pattern!
2/1/11 2:24 PM
Judy Kski said...
What a lovely coat! Thanks for writing such an extensive review.
2/1/11 2:30 PM
birdmcfarland said...
ADORABLE!! I love it! Your hard work paid off because this is fabulous!
2/1/11 4:43 PM
Dianna Cardwell said...
Very Impressive job, I love your coat, too, & I know you will be enjoy it for many years. I love, love, love the velveteen ruffles. Congratulations on a job well done.
2/1/11 4:45 PM
Nan Kay said...
Great review of a wonderful coat. It looks quite marvelous on you!
2/1/11 5:44 PM
KathleenS said...
I love the shirt you have on underneath the coat. Covet, covet :) Anyway, about the coat... It looks very cosy. I like your bold contrast lining choice. I really should be a bit more adventurous. Thanks for all the tips, particularly about how to make it warmer.
2/1/11 6:13 PM
Kayseri said...
Fabulous coat, well worth all your effort.
2/1/11 6:38 PM
Ericaeli said...
What a beautiful/fun coat. I love all the details you added. I would've never thought to use fleece to make the pockets warmer (now I need to write that down). I really enjoy your reviews because they are always so detailed, and I always learn something new when I read them. Thank you!
2/1/11 7:00 PM
AnitaJ said...
Awesome coat! I love the ruffle trim and your wind-protected sleeves. Great details!
2/1/11 7:16 PM
Mufffet said...
Lovely coat. Nice and warm for the temps you made it for! Very pretty - good to wear anywhere.
2/1/11 7:38 PM
Julia Bobbin said...
OO Oooo I love it! You have such a great range of fabric (and at good prices!) in the U.S. Speaking of which, I may be coming to D.C. in March (hopefully) can you recommend any good fabric stores to raid?
2/1/11 8:21 PM
AdaH said...
All your hard work paid off as your coat is wonderful.
2/1/11 9:54 PM
Karen6790 said...
Gorgeous. The velveteen ruffles are perfect and I'm in awe of your bound buttonholes - with velveteen? You look very cute in it, and best of all (this year) you look WARM and cute.
2/1/11 10:54 PM
Ann Smith said...
So great. Well worth taking the time and making the effort. I must say there is nothing Slapdash about this one.
2/1/11 11:20 PM
Sewingelle said...
Stunning!
2/2/11 0:09 AM
sunnysewer said...
Very pretty and I like that trick with the cuffs for added warmth, clever!
2/2/11 0:55 AM
becca a said...
Gorgeous coat! I love the ruffle.
2/2/11 9:13 AM
SusiM said...
Nice coat and a very great review!! Thanks.
2/3/11 1:28 AM
Lucy in Virginia said...
Hey, haven't I seen that pose before? It's Marlo Thomas from "That Girl!" Seriously, what a beautiful coat, love the buttons and thanks for the tutorials! I'm so glad you finished something so lovely for the stash contest! Must try those Spanish snap buttonholes.
2/3/11 12:50 PM
Annette1 said...
I LOVE everything you've done with this coat, especially those ruffles. :o)
2/4/11 3:47 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

You Sew Girl 300mm Square Snap PATTERN ONLY Pattern

You Sew Girl 300mm Square Snap PATTERN ONLY Pattern

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Nikko Jacket Pattern

Sewing Workshop Nikko Jacket Pattern

Buy Now
Contest other

photo
by: ArtAttack

Review