Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Burda: 8497 (Blouse) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 644 times 8 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 6 people   
Reviewed by:MNBarb
photo
Friend of PR
About MNBarbstarstarstarstar
MN USA
Member since: 4/3/10
Reviews written: 136
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 69 people
patterns reviewed: 127
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/6/11 4:52 PM
Last Updated:2/12/11 7:51 PM


See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
19 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Mushywear said...
What a gorgeous color and fabric you have used. I'm so bummed that it gapes on you. I'm looking at your picture and comparing it to mine and it looks like my tie is higher, therefore the neckline is higher. I do wonder if you raised the tie higher if that would help. When I wear my blouse I definitely have to tie it snug. This creates more wrinkles, but I do love it. Curious what size you used?
2/6/11 6:15 PM
zazzie said...
Could you sew some tiny snaps (two or three, along the neck and front line) to secure it? I do that all the time - even with RTW - using the small clear plastic ones. Would should try, really, because that shirt is just lovely on you.
2/6/11 6:28 PM
FreyaStark said...
Yes, try the snaps. It would be a pity to waste the top as it looks good on you.
2/6/11 6:38 PM
MNBarb said...
I used the size 10 but added to the length above the waist which should have been correct according to my slightly long torso measurement. I don't give up very easily and am going to see if I have enough fabric left to try again. I don't go down without a fight. I did try a tank and it's not comfortable. I will also try the snaps.
2/6/11 6:46 PM
21wale said...
Celery ! (: Too bad about the gaping, since it really is such a great look. I like the snap idea mentioned. I'd probably unceremoniously stitch it shut. I've seen my mom sew fake camisoles (fabric triangles) into some of her low v-necks.
2/6/11 7:44 PM
zazzie said...
Barb, if you make it again, I don't think you should add lenght above the waist. It's okay if the ties are slightly above your natural waist. It might also help the fit in the lower back (which is already fine, mind you).
2/6/11 9:30 PM
MNBarb said...
Thanks Zazzie, I did make that change and already have it cut out and ready to sew. I may still need a snap but it should fit better overall.
2/6/11 9:46 PM
Annette1 said...
I got the giggles when I read that you were "open for suggestions," after reading that the blouse was gapping. :o) All that aside, I know just what you mean when you say you're getting downright discouraged with tops. To me, it's a design flaw when you've done everything perfectly and it's unwearable due to gapping, a neckline that goes clear to your belly button, or WHATEVER. I hope you'll try the snaps, because the top looks so pretty on you. I wish I was a CELERY! :o))
2/7/11 1:25 AM
Christas said...
I want to be a celery!!! Your sewing is always so precise and nice. I just hate that this didn't look like you hoped. Maybe some of the suggestions will work ..... hope so!
2/7/11 1:55 PM
cleverkitty said...
I love wrap tops but mine gap too, if you look at the ones I made (too many wraps) they do have snaps several if needed, I have hardly a bust. I went back and added elastic to the neckline in some, I'm like you I won't be defeated but I have to force myself to wear them. also I'm not a ruffle person but I needed a another look besides my usual more tailored look. I think it looks beautiful on you. Good review...
2/9/11 8:54 AM
Christas said...
Barb, you are so good to stay with a pattern even after you get frustrated with it! The second version is nice and definitely one you should enjoy wearing. As for your question about tweaking the fit, I wonder if possibly the shoulder should be a little shorter? I am not positive, but it appears in the back the shoulder is too long. I wonder if you need to shorten the seam where it meets the sleeve? Of course, there are things in RTW that would not fit as nicely as your pretty top. Then again, I know there are others with much better fitting expertise that hopefully will chime in. You can tell that you have sewn the top so nicely. I do think being a part of PR makes one notice the fit of things better. I don't think I really noticed fitting wrinkles in my own sewn clothing as much as I do now (not that I always know what to do with them!).
2/12/11 8:11 PM
marjoriekh said...
I don't have any suggestions for your back fit issues, alas, but I'm working on a wrap style now that I had a gaping problem with, and I used nicegirl's simple SBA for wraps to deal with it. I took several small tucks in the tissue rather than one large one. Worked beautifully for me (I'm still in the muslin stage, so no review) and I'm thinking it will for you, too. Go to theslapdashsewist.blogspot.com and look in the righthand column for the bookmarked post on SBAs. (If you've tried this already and it still gapes, then arghhh.)
2/12/11 8:22 PM
redrockcity said...
That is a gorgeous blouse! The color is perfect for you and the style is very flattering!
2/12/11 8:56 PM
JillyBe said...
I don't have fit advice to offer, but I did have to giggle at the comment about how well things fit when we sewed at 20 - I have the same questions lol. The color of your blouse is such a perfect shade for you! Congrats on sticking with it & finding a much better fit :)
2/12/11 9:31 PM
Peggy L said...
The color and style look so nice on you but I do know it is frustrating when things don't fit the way we think they should. Like others, I didn't have all these fitting issues at 20 either. I really miss those days.
2/12/11 10:53 PM
bananaoil said...
If you have one blouse that you like the fit of, compare the length of the shoulder seam. This pattern may be too wide through the shoulders for you. Your actual shoulder length might be 4.5 inches as Kenneth King says many women are. Compare the width of your back and chest, from arm crease to arm crease, with the pattern at the same point. Try to rearrange the armscye seams to match your arm/ body join. I think if you tweak the pattern in this area, you make it again it'll fit better.
2/14/11 10:20 PM
JETrinity said...
Very pretty top on you. You go get this battle won.
2/28/11 7:57 PM
twelvedresses said...
You know far more about sewing than I ever could, and anyway it looks like you have a legion of commenters to help you so I'll just say this: Looks MAHvelous, love the color! I know you'll get it to where you want it!
3/16/11 11:23 AM
PJ15 said...
I think the blouse looks lovely! I have this pattern, my first Burda and I'm struggling. I'm a UK 10 so after measuring up I did a US 8 which I expected to be roomy, but was too small. I'm a bit celery myself, but now am looking at doing a much bigger size as I don't want to give up on such a sweet and stylish shirt. Any tips from regular Burda users!
1/6/12 7:46 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Fit the Tee to a T
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Fit the Tee to a T

Online Sewing Classes
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Butterick 5214
photo
Review by Mahogany S... on 7/28/08
Read Review

Simplicity 1406 Pattern ( Size 20W-28W )
Simplicity 1406 Pattern ( Size 20W-28W )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8358 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10 )
Vogue 8358 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10 )

Details
Price: $20.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCall's M4550 Men's Costumes
photo
Review by canadianri... on 4/27/11
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Classic Footed Pajamas Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Classic Footed Pajamas Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Sweet Pea Booties Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )
Peek-A Boo Sweet Pea Booties Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sew Liberated Mei Tai Baby Carrier
Sew Liberated Mei Tai Baby Carrier

Details
Price: $11.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sew Liberated Sunday Picnic Blouse and Dress
Sew Liberated Sunday Picnic Blouse and Dress

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us