SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 0610 (Jean jacket)

Viewed 340 times 
Reviewed by:cleverkitty
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About cleverkittystarstarstar
OH United States
Member since: 8/22/07
Reviews written: 101
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 45 people
patterns reviewed: 101
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/18/11 4:44 PM
Last Updated:9/24/14 10:49 AM
Project Photo:photo3

Pattern Photo:

More Info provided by cleverkitty

Pattern Rating:Easy & Great for Beginners
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 2 people   
Fabric:Corduroy  [See other projects in this fabric]

ETA 9/24/14 I made a white denim From Mood fabrics on this version, no changes from when I made it 8 years ago....I actually still wear the other one but I probably need to give it up, since it fits so well it's hard to give up but the look is not me as I progress as a senior...
Click Here


Pattern Description: Top, unlined Jacket and Pants. I made the Jacket.

Pattern Sizing: sizes 4 to 18 I made size 6

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? Yes

Were the instructions easy to follow? Very Easy

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern? It went together fast and had nice seams that shaped the jacket.

Fabric Used: Cotton Boho corduroy from the seventies from the thrift store: cost $1.50
Purple shinny buttons from my mother-in-law cost Free, Pattern from a garage sale cost .25

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made: Added the buttons instead of snaps and used a blue corduroy for the collar, cuffs and facing.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?
yes I would sew it again. I recommend it because of the fit and how easy it was to sew.

Conclusion: I made this jacket 5 years ago when I was an avid thrift store, garage sale, estate sale shopper. I reveled in finding great bargains. Not any more, although it was fun it was a lot of work.

jacket

close up pocket


Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Stuggy said...
Looks pretty good. I need to make something a bit similar for myself, at least in as much as it being a jeans jacket from other material. Started trying over the summer and need to get back to it, have thought i might take apart a beige bland jacket and use it as a pattern.
9/25/14 4:40 AM
SewWil said...
Love your white jacket! This is a great pattern. Hang on to your other jacket. It looks great.
9/24/14 8:28 PM
cleverkitty said...
Jeanette the pattern envelope says 0610 it's dated 2001 so probably this number has been used many times since. I'm sure there are even better patterns out there, I have to keep reminding myself this one works why do I need another but I'm tempted to try.
9/24/14 4:37 PM
Jeanette L. said...
This is so cute! I was trying to find the pattern you used & the simplicity number seems to be 2061 not 0610. Is that correct? I'd love to make this.
9/24/14 3:39 PM
frame said...
Ooh, it's gorgeous in white! Don't give up the corduroy one - it's so cute.
9/24/14 12:05 PM
MNBarb said...
What a fun little corduroy print and nicely fitting jacket.
2/19/11 11:59 AM
JETrinity said...
Oh, you are so right. Now you can wear that jacket with your new golden top. Boy, they look like they were made together to match.
2/19/11 11:44 AM
Heatherrique said...
You are looking totally cool and groovy-licious in this far-out jacket along with your stunning VOGUE top!
2/19/11 11:25 AM
Barbara V said...
Fun looking retro fabric and jacket. It ties the top and jeans together nicely.
2/19/11 10:52 AM
VirginiasDghter said...
Don't you just love corduroy? I like the way you mixed colors for the collar and the sleeves. Well made. Looks just as good now as it did 5 years ago and so do you! Nice work!
2/19/11 10:02 AM
Peggy L said...
Very nice! Amazing you made that for less than $2.00 Money well spent:)
2/19/11 9:44 AM
Ecrulace said...
Really cute - Well done!
2/18/11 6:14 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Class Details

Online Class
Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Class Details

Petite Plus 601 Pattern

Petite Plus 601 Pattern

More Info
You Sew Girl Zip Away Shopping Bag Pattern

You Sew Girl Zip Away Shopping Bag Pattern

More Info