Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Kwik Sew: 2694 (Wrap top) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 1778 times 106 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 3 people   
Reviewed by:Katharine in BXL
photo
About Katharine in BXLstar
Member since: 8/1/03
Reviews written: 72
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 19 people
patterns reviewed: 60
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/14/04 11:22 AM
Last Updated:7/14/04 4:28 PM


See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
minieme said...
Hi Katharine, I seem to have the same pull lines across the overlap on my Butterick wrap top too. I thought it was the misplacement of the overlap, maybe that has to be tweaked? without running into the trouble of gaping? http://sewing.patternreview.com/cgi-bin/readreview.pl?readreview=1&ID=4906
7/14/04 8:21 PM
Tini said...
I really like the colour and the style on you! I can't help you with the pull lines, because I don't sew wrap tops, because they are pretty unflattering on me!
7/15/04 1:27 AM
MaryBeth said...
Katharine: when I made this top in a knit I thought that the drag lines were produced by the fact that the wrap cuts across the center slope of the bust. I then made the same view out of a woven. Still unsatisfied I altered the crossover by making the pieces longer and replacing them. These are the tops: http://www.friendsofpr.com/marybeth/Compare.jpg. I then recreated the whole pattern using PMB and did a 4th top to my exact measurements. I have not taken a picture of it. It fits differently than the KS version because the back is much smaller and the front much wider but no drag lines. It does, however, gap and needs to be tacked. Maybe I'll get it posted sometime.
7/15/04 1:31 AM
Asa Hagstrom said...
This is a good color on you too (do any colors not look good on you? :) ). A lot of people seem to have problems with this view. Hope you find a solution!
7/15/04 3:17 AM
jlg said...
Even with the drag lines, this top looks very nice on you. You've got a great figure for these tops that you've been making.
7/15/04 5:55 AM
cindyann said...
Katharine, I morphed the Jalie 2005 pattern to look exactly like this one. Guess what? It does, right down to the drag lines. I sure hope someone can help with this problem. I think MaryBeth is on to something regarding the length.
7/15/04 7:58 AM
Teri said...
I have made this view twice and I have the same exact drag lines. One top I made out of stretch velvet with sparklies on it and the drag lines are not so apparent. The other I made out of a very nice single knit and it looked awful. After spending hours trying to figure it out, my solution is to make the other view, which turns out great.
7/15/04 8:05 AM
Debbie Cook said...
Katharine, I'm not an expert by any means but here's my thoughts. The top looks still too wide for you, especially at the neckline, shoulders & armhole. I'm thinking that if the shoulders were narrowed (or even just pulled closer to your neck on this top), the crossover would sit better and the drag lines wouldn't happen. I think the neckline needs to sit closer to your neck. I made & reviewed this top. I adjusted for full bust AND for narrow shoulders and I don't have those drag lines. (Although I think on mine the armholes are still too low.) Now, advice aside, I still think the top & color looks very nice on you.
7/15/04 4:00 PM
Katharine in BXL said...
Hi everyone! Thanks especially for the advice, Mary Beth & Debbie. I'll try the XS again, and stick with View A just like Teri does! Thanks JLG for the compliment too--I'm a fan of your work. :)
7/15/04 5:38 PM
layla said...
Beautiful color and style on you !! I love the wrap top look , but I think something like the view A would be easier to make or maybe lenghten the bodice of view B so it doesn't ride up on the sides. The seam at the empire waist is so high there is not much give in the bodice area. Because of this it needs to fit perfect. Hard to do even in RTW with this type of top. You did an excellent job . It looks very nice !!
7/20/04 9:13 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

McCall's 6744
photo
Review by nicegirl on 10/18/13
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Santa Monica Sweetheart Tankini Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Santa Monica Sweetheart Tankini Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Cake Patterns Bonny Knit Sailor Top Digital Pattern
Cake Patterns Bonny Knit Sailor Top Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 3835
photo
Review by redcleo on 7/16/10
Read Review

Sewn Square One Triple Play Top Pattern
Sewn Square One Triple Play Top Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Petite Plus V202 VHS
Petite Plus V202 VHS

Details
Price: $40.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 5989 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )
McCalls 5989 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6804 Pattern ( Size )
McCalls 6804 Pattern ( Size  )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us