SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Kwik Sew> 2694 (Wrap top)

106 more reviews
Viewed 1778 times 
Reviewed by:Katharine in BXL
photo

 
 
About Katharine in BXLstar
Member since: 8/1/03
Reviews written: 73
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 19 people
patterns reviewed: 61
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/14/04 11:22 AM
Last Updated:7/14/04 4:28 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
minieme said...
Hi Katharine, I seem to have the same pull lines across the overlap on my Butterick wrap top too. I thought it was the misplacement of the overlap, maybe that has to be tweaked? without running into the trouble of gaping? http://sewing.patternreview.com/cgi-bin/readreview.pl?readreview=1&ID=4906
7/14/04 8:21 PM
Tini said...
I really like the colour and the style on you! I can't help you with the pull lines, because I don't sew wrap tops, because they are pretty unflattering on me!
7/15/04 1:27 AM
MaryBeth said...
Katharine: when I made this top in a knit I thought that the drag lines were produced by the fact that the wrap cuts across the center slope of the bust. I then made the same view out of a woven. Still unsatisfied I altered the crossover by making the pieces longer and replacing them. These are the tops: http://www.friendsofpr.com/marybeth/Compare.jpg. I then recreated the whole pattern using PMB and did a 4th top to my exact measurements. I have not taken a picture of it. It fits differently than the KS version because the back is much smaller and the front much wider but no drag lines. It does, however, gap and needs to be tacked. Maybe I'll get it posted sometime.
7/15/04 1:31 AM
Asa Hagstrom said...
This is a good color on you too (do any colors not look good on you? :) ). A lot of people seem to have problems with this view. Hope you find a solution!
7/15/04 3:17 AM
jlg said...
Even with the drag lines, this top looks very nice on you. You've got a great figure for these tops that you've been making.
7/15/04 5:55 AM
cindyann said...
Katharine, I morphed the Jalie 2005 pattern to look exactly like this one. Guess what? It does, right down to the drag lines. I sure hope someone can help with this problem. I think MaryBeth is on to something regarding the length.
7/15/04 7:58 AM
Teri said...
I have made this view twice and I have the same exact drag lines. One top I made out of stretch velvet with sparklies on it and the drag lines are not so apparent. The other I made out of a very nice single knit and it looked awful. After spending hours trying to figure it out, my solution is to make the other view, which turns out great.
7/15/04 8:05 AM
Debbie Cook said...
Katharine, I'm not an expert by any means but here's my thoughts. The top looks still too wide for you, especially at the neckline, shoulders & armhole. I'm thinking that if the shoulders were narrowed (or even just pulled closer to your neck on this top), the crossover would sit better and the drag lines wouldn't happen. I think the neckline needs to sit closer to your neck. I made & reviewed this top. I adjusted for full bust AND for narrow shoulders and I don't have those drag lines. (Although I think on mine the armholes are still too low.) Now, advice aside, I still think the top & color looks very nice on you.
7/15/04 4:00 PM
Katharine in BXL said...
Hi everyone! Thanks especially for the advice, Mary Beth & Debbie. I'll try the XS again, and stick with View A just like Teri does! Thanks JLG for the compliment too--I'm a fan of your work. :)
7/15/04 5:38 PM
layla said...
Beautiful color and style on you !! I love the wrap top look , but I think something like the view A would be easier to make or maybe lenghten the bodice of view B so it doesn't ride up on the sides. The seam at the empire waist is so high there is not much give in the bodice area. Because of this it needs to fit perfect. Hard to do even in RTW with this type of top. You did an excellent job . It looks very nice !!
7/20/04 9:13 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Kwik Sew 3452

photo
by: norsk

Review
Other Pristine Swing Dress

photo
by: KAHooke

Review
Lolita Patterns Gunmetal

Lolita Patterns Gunmetal

Buy Now
Victory Anouk Paper Pattern

Victory Anouk Paper Pattern

Buy Now