Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Burda: 2998 (Close Fitting Pants) thumbsup - Type:Pants    printable version
Viewed 2714 times 12 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 11 people   
Reviewed by:Katharine in BXL
photo
About Katharine in BXLstar
Member since: 8/1/03
Reviews written: 72
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 19 people
patterns reviewed: 60
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/14/04 5:11 PM
Last Updated:10/17/04 0:10 AM


See other patterns in this category: Pants    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
18 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Meredith P said...
Great looking pants. Thanks for the helpful review. I've been hesitant to try fitted pants, not being a willowy teen myself, but may have to try some.
7/14/04 6:08 PM
Elemenopeo said...
Those look great. I too love Burda pants.
7/14/04 6:59 PM
Annika said...
Groovy, Baby! I agree with you Burda makes good pants patterns. You look faaaabulous!
7/14/04 8:12 PM
Levone said...
Nice looking pants and helpful review. Since you shortened the waist, did you have to do anything with the darts? I have a new look pattern that I wanted to shorten the waistline on, but I'm unsure of how to do this since it has front darts.
7/14/04 9:20 PM
Tini said...
coool! I really like those pants/trousers or what you call them ( I'm still not sure, what to say ). I hope, I have the same good results with my jeans in progress....
7/15/04 1:01 AM
Katharine in BXL said...
Meredith, you go girl. These look good! Steph, don't you love Burda pants? Annika, glad you approve of the ring-less version. They are groovy fun! Tini--jeans? I'm impressed! Levone, when I tucked under the waist on the fabric I had to slightly let out the waist so the darts didn't pull in and make a bump on the side from the reduction of width. Easier to do this in tissue by trueing the dart: fold out the length desired. Take a straightedge and line up the seamline (5/8"/1.5cm from top) and the end of the dart, then redraw the dart leg. Always sew darts straight through the seam allowance, then begin the angled seam below. This prevents dents in the waist.
7/15/04 2:40 AM
Asa Hagstrom said...
Wow Kat, you've been hard at work! I can imagine that color would be very good with your hair. Too bad the ring thing didn't work out, but maybe you can use it for something else?
7/15/04 3:12 AM
SandraB said...
Very nice Katharine. This too is my favourite pants pattern.
7/15/04 9:27 AM
Deepika said...
Very nice pants Katharine. This is my favorite pattern too! And I agree, burda makes the best pants pattern, but you should try Neue Mode too. The pant which fits me the best is Neue Mode.
7/15/04 9:35 AM
els said...
Great pants Katherine,the color is very nice on you.
7/15/04 1:22 PM
Katharine in BXL said...
Thanks everyone! Deepika, I will try NM pants, right after I do one of their skirts (which is to die for!) :)
7/15/04 5:40 PM
Tini said...
about the rings.... what about to insert the strings to attach the rings at the hem/ sideseams, so that the ring is at the hem of the leg??
7/16/04 1:01 AM
cynthia w said...
love the chocolate color. beautiful. i have made these twice and LOVE the pattern as much as everyone else.
8/4/04 8:59 PM
els said...
Katharine the update link does not work.
10/16/04 11:14 AM
Katharine in BXL said...
Els, I think it's fixed now! Thanks for letting me know. I put it up late at night. :)
10/17/04 2:32 AM
els said...
Thanks Katharine for fixing the link.Another great pant.
10/17/04 5:05 PM
Hilary said...
Very nice-I have to get my copy of this out and whip some up :o) Yours are really cute!
10/18/04 11:23 AM
JDpenelope said...
Katharine, Thanks for this in-depth review; it is particularly helpful, since our figures are similar. I'm making a muslin right now for my first pair of pants, using Easy Guide to Sewing Pants for fitting instructions. This muslin will be used in a pants fitting class with Cynthia Guffey at Expo. Thanks for the idea to put the zipper in the back or front, to help with fitting issues! Great tip. The altered muslin fits so well that I might go ahead and sew up some pants before taking the fitting class! Your review gives me courage!
11/7/06 8:07 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Online Sewing Classes
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

No Pattern Used 00001 JR
photo
Review by jacqui roc... on 1/30/12
Read Review

Blank Slate Super Skinny Pants Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Super Skinny Pants Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sis Boom Betsey Apron Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Betsey Apron Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 4076
photo
Review by Annika on 6/6/07
Read Review

You Sew Girl Baguette Pattern
You Sew Girl Baguette Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jamie Christina Mission Maxi Pattern (JC312MM)
Jamie Christina Mission Maxi Pattern (JC312MM)

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2246 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
Simplicity 2246 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1445 Pattern ( Size 18-20-22-24-26 )
Simplicity 1445 Pattern ( Size 18-20-22-24-26 )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us