SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Burda> 2998 (Close Fitting Pants)

12 more reviews
Viewed 2717 times 
Reviewed by:Katharine in BXL
photo

 
 
About Katharine in BXLstar
Member since: 8/1/03
Reviews written: 73
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 19 people
patterns reviewed: 61
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/14/04 5:11 PM
Last Updated:10/17/04 0:10 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 11 people   
See other patterns in this category: Pants    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
18 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Meredith P said...
Great looking pants. Thanks for the helpful review. I've been hesitant to try fitted pants, not being a willowy teen myself, but may have to try some.
7/14/04 6:08 PM
Elemenopeo said...
Those look great. I too love Burda pants.
7/14/04 6:59 PM
Annika said...
Groovy, Baby! I agree with you Burda makes good pants patterns. You look faaaabulous!
7/14/04 8:12 PM
Levone said...
Nice looking pants and helpful review. Since you shortened the waist, did you have to do anything with the darts? I have a new look pattern that I wanted to shorten the waistline on, but I'm unsure of how to do this since it has front darts.
7/14/04 9:20 PM
Tini said...
coool! I really like those pants/trousers or what you call them ( I'm still not sure, what to say ). I hope, I have the same good results with my jeans in progress....
7/15/04 1:01 AM
Katharine in BXL said...
Meredith, you go girl. These look good! Steph, don't you love Burda pants? Annika, glad you approve of the ring-less version. They are groovy fun! Tini--jeans? I'm impressed! Levone, when I tucked under the waist on the fabric I had to slightly let out the waist so the darts didn't pull in and make a bump on the side from the reduction of width. Easier to do this in tissue by trueing the dart: fold out the length desired. Take a straightedge and line up the seamline (5/8"/1.5cm from top) and the end of the dart, then redraw the dart leg. Always sew darts straight through the seam allowance, then begin the angled seam below. This prevents dents in the waist.
7/15/04 2:40 AM
Asa Hagstrom said...
Wow Kat, you've been hard at work! I can imagine that color would be very good with your hair. Too bad the ring thing didn't work out, but maybe you can use it for something else?
7/15/04 3:12 AM
SandraB said...
Very nice Katharine. This too is my favourite pants pattern.
7/15/04 9:27 AM
Deepika said...
Very nice pants Katharine. This is my favorite pattern too! And I agree, burda makes the best pants pattern, but you should try Neue Mode too. The pant which fits me the best is Neue Mode.
7/15/04 9:35 AM
els said...
Great pants Katherine,the color is very nice on you.
7/15/04 1:22 PM
Katharine in BXL said...
Thanks everyone! Deepika, I will try NM pants, right after I do one of their skirts (which is to die for!) :)
7/15/04 5:40 PM
Tini said...
about the rings.... what about to insert the strings to attach the rings at the hem/ sideseams, so that the ring is at the hem of the leg??
7/16/04 1:01 AM
cynthia w said...
love the chocolate color. beautiful. i have made these twice and LOVE the pattern as much as everyone else.
8/4/04 8:59 PM
els said...
Katharine the update link does not work.
10/16/04 11:14 AM
Katharine in BXL said...
Els, I think it's fixed now! Thanks for letting me know. I put it up late at night. :)
10/17/04 2:32 AM
els said...
Thanks Katharine for fixing the link.Another great pant.
10/17/04 5:05 PM
Hilary said...
Very nice-I have to get my copy of this out and whip some up :o) Yours are really cute!
10/18/04 11:23 AM
JDpenelope said...
Katharine, Thanks for this in-depth review; it is particularly helpful, since our figures are similar. I'm making a muslin right now for my first pair of pants, using Easy Guide to Sewing Pants for fitting instructions. This muslin will be used in a pants fitting class with Cynthia Guffey at Expo. Thanks for the idea to put the zipper in the back or front, to help with fitting issues! Great tip. The altered muslin fits so well that I might go ahead and sew up some pants before taking the fitting class! Your review gives me courage!
11/7/06 8:07 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

BurdaStyle Magazine 08-2005-102

photo
by: yummymummy...

Review
Favorite Things A Wallet Purse Pattern

Favorite Things A Wallet Purse Pattern

Buy Now
Lolita Patterns Sugar Plum Pattern

Lolita Patterns Sugar Plum Pattern

Buy Now
Burda 7310

photo
by: e84lt

Review